We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay and great value ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Senatus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Senatus Hotel to your Saves list
Senatus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akbiyik Caddesi No 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Sultanahmet)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 1,011 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay and great value ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and it was our third visit to Istanbul. The hotel is in a great location and the staff are very welcoming. This hotel was by far the best we have stayed at in Istanbul.
The rooms are comfortable and well designed (the shower was especially lovely!)
The television also had a very good range of channels. The staff were always quick to help with any enquiries and give advice with regards to your stay in Istanbul.

We were not that impressed with the breakfast but that is down to personal taste, and there are many places in the area to eat (which are also affordable).
Overall, it was excellent value and we would happily stay at Senatus again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    140
    18
    0
    2
See reviews for
71
313
40
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Hotel is in a good location close to the Blue mosque and tram stop.
Rooms were very clean and modern with nice shower facilities.
Reception had English speaking friendly staff.
We choose bed and breakfast but the breakfast buffet had little choice, a few fruits, cheese bread and egg.
Not sure how the cleaners used to clean, we had a mark on our duvet and the cleaners just turned it over.
Overall a great hotel would stay again if cheaper.

Room Tip: Rooms on level 1 are pretty quiet to outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I went to Turkey with my girl friend on May 2014 for Istanbul trip. We find this hotel on tripadvisor.com first I read the reviews then decide that to go this hotel. Actually I love thus hotel and employees.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I have to say that me and my family had a great time at this hotel. The staff especially Canberk was of tremendous assistance. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone considering a stay. That was the greatest Istanbul trip for me and my family.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in Senatus hotel last week. The staff helped us with the map, which boat to take, etcetera. Very friendly! For the first night we had dinner in het hotel, which was very good (also because you get a drink for free ;) ). The room was very clean, and perfect. No balcony though but thats ok. The best thing I liked was walking to the hotel, passing by the Blue Mosque every night and relax every morning outside in the restaurant with a nice breakfast planning the day ahead.
Have a great trip! Berber

Room Tip: Senator room is perfect, in the back no nice view though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I highly recommend this cosy hotel in the heart of Sultanahmet area. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I booked the standard double (senator), which was not big but very clean, modern and comfortable. The hotel is located on a busy street with lots of restaurants and bars a few steps away from both Aya sophia and the Blue Mosque. The room was in the back of the building, away from the street, so noise wasn't any problem. Breakfast was quite good and served in the adjacent restaurant. This restaurant is also very good for dinner. Hotel guests get a free drink here every evening between 6 and 8 pm.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We had perfect time and very friendly people
Room was nice and clean
I really go back there to stay
Also palato restuarant nice too.
I will highly recommend
Staff very helpfully
Good value for hotel and restuarant
You're close to all the historical place's

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Ares Hotel Istanbul
Ares Hotel Istanbul
#98 of 1,011 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Sultanahmet
Divalis Hotel
Divalis Hotel
#67 of 1,011 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Sultan Tughra Hotel
#31 of 1,011 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Garden House Istanbul
Garden House Istanbul
#54 of 1,011 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 1,350 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#30 of 1,011 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 623 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#91 of 1,011 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senatus Hotel

Address: Akbiyik Caddesi No 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 1,011 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Senatus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 22 guest rooms in our small and boutique hotel have been designed with your comfort in mind. Our finely detailed spacious rooms offer superbly comfortable beds and efficiently modern bathrooms. We take pride in our fine furnishings and we are happy to offer our guests internet access and writing facilities in the rooms. We have created an ambiance of calm and tranquility in our rooms where you would be happy to relax and plan your excursions, use your laptop or simply contact your friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Senatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senatus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.