We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr hussain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Senatus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Senatus Hotel to your Saves list
Senatus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akbiyik Caddesi No 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 924 Hotels in Istanbul
1 review
“Mr hussain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We had perfect time and very friendly people
Room was nice and clean
I really go back there to stay
Also palato restuarant nice too.
I will highly recommend
Staff very helpfully
Good value for hotel and restuarant
You're close to all the historical place's

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    101
    14
    0
    1
See reviews for
56
242
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Our final leg of our trip to Turkey brought us full circle back to Istanbul. Opting to stay at a different hotel in Old Town than the one we stayed at during our initial leg in Istanbul, we booked a room at Senatus Hotel on Akbiyik Caddesi St., a narrow street of restaurants, hookah bars and hotels that pedestrians share with vehicles.

Arriving at 9:30am, we were able to check into our lower level rooms, which we opted from advice since they are away from the street level noise. Also, upon check-in we were given a slightly lower rate since the room rate had dropped from the time we booked. Nice gesture on the hotel's part.

Also, we were invited to have breakfast too since it did not end until 10:30am. The complimentary breakfast is served at the adjoining Palato Restaurant. The breakfast was nice but over the course of the two days we were there, they do not replenish the food items. So be wary late comers.

The room was on the smaller side, but it was clean and modern with a nice bathroom. The hotel has complementary Wi-Fi with a strong connection.

Overall, a nice modern hotel with a friendly staff.

Room Tip: Since the hotel is located on a busy street with the restaurants and bars, a lower level room offers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We visited Istanbul for a long weekend. As a couple in our late 20's, the Senatus Hotel offered everything we were looking for:

An excellent location that let us hop out of bed and walk 5 minutes to all the most famous sights (after enjoying the included breakfast).

Although compact, a modern room with all the services we needed + more (although my girlfriend noticed a smell during our stay which on the last day we discovered was mould growing in a less cleaned corner of the room).

Super friendly, knowledgable & fun staff who provided concierge services behind reception and were also a blast behind the bar (A special mention for the hilarious Aziz who should himself appear in the tourist guides)!

The price was very reasonable.

In short, Senatus gets the highest accolade of all, next time we go back - we'd stay again!

Thank you Senatus Team!

Room Tip: Our room was located on the side furthest from the busy tourist street / one level below. While this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Wanted a hotel for a few days of rest in Istanbul. This offered really competitive rates on the web. Room was small but perfect for someone who wasn't doing much but sleep there. They do have bigger ones that I noticed. Bathroom also small but fine. The place was very clean with friendly staff. My room didn't have a view, but more expensive ones look over the street. Room comes with a reasonable breakfast and the location is perfect. Very good value. Walls are thin and there was some noise from other guest and cleaners in the mornings.

Room Tip: Various sizes. Back rooms no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights before we left for Athens. We wish we never left and spent the whole trip at Senatus! Decent price, pretty good free breakfast, free wifi. The rooms are nice and the location is perfect! Staff is amazing and funny! Watch out for the see-through bathroom door! Some might find it odd, we thought it was funny and quirky. The staff really make it a fun stay!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Weirdest part: our bathroom had a see-through door. Not to sound modest or prude, but this made times in our room a bit unnecessarily complicated at times. We ended up using the bathroom in their restaurant as much as possible. I still have not figured out why this room was designed with a see-through door.

Otherwise, the guys who work at the desk were super helpful and amusing; their dry humor and knowledge were a great combination for exploring this fascinating city.

The location cannot be beat. Also, be sure to check out the daily happy hour if you're around, which is a great deal and a nice break from vigorous sight-seeing.

I'm not sure if all bathrooms have the same set-up, so if you make your reservation, be sure to find out if you can get a room with a solid door.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a bathroom with an opaque door
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Staff at the Senatus went out of their way to make sure we had a good stay. We partic appreciated being allowed to check in 5 hours early after a loooong journey. Rooms are nicely decorated and spotlessly cleaned every day. We had several good meals in the restaurant too (try the sea bass and king prawns) and loved the breakfast. Hotel is right in the middle of Sultanahmet so 5 mins walk from the Blue Mosque and Aya Sophia. Street has a touristy but not a tacky vibe. We weren't disturbed by noise but were at the back of the hotel. We'd definitely stay again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Senatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senatus Hotel

Address: Akbiyik Caddesi No 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 924 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Senatus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 22 guest rooms in our small and boutique hotel have been designed with your comfort in mind. Our finely detailed spacious rooms offer superbly comfortable beds and efficiently modern bathrooms. We take pride in our fine furnishings and we are happy to offer our guests internet access and writing facilities in the rooms. We have created an ambiance of calm and tranquility in our rooms where you would be happy to relax and plan your excursions, use your laptop or simply contact your friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Senatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senatus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.