We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Senatus Hotel

Save Saved
You added Senatus Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Senatus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akbiyik Caddesi No 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 883 hotels in Istanbul
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Cosy, clean and chic hotel in the heart of Istanbul (old city). We could walk to all the key attractions in the city. Very friendly, attentive staff - we changed our itinerary last minute to fly to Cappadocia in the middle of our stay, and they accommodated us by holding our luggage safely and making sure we had a room when we got back. Only potential issue is that some of the rooms can be small, but I would attribute that to the area. The decor and cleanliness clearly compensates for it! Would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants to stay in the old city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    259
    88
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
47
208
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warrinton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Brilliant location and walking distance of all local attractions and huge choice of local restaurants in the quirky old town of Istanbul. We stayed on the fourth floor at the front of the hotel which we recommended by other travellers. No real noise issues apart from a wedding party that travelled through the street honking horns at midnight. Didn't really bother us. Nice decoration and clean. Restaurant staff were very friendly in the evening and provided good service. The breakfast was disappointing with a small selection of continental meats. cheeses, egg and fruit. Poor quality fruit juice. Much better breakfasts at other restaurants in the area. Overall a good stay. Need more fresh, quality choices for breakfast to improve review.,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Totally agree with the comments on location - could not be better. Room was clean, nice furnishings, spacious for a city-centre hotel. But breakfast was, frankly, rubbish - hardly any fruit, some omelette that had sat there for ages, and all tasted a bit odd. And for our evening meal (we only ate there once) we ordered a beef stew and rice, and the rice was SO salty it was inedible - and this wasn't down to my tastebuds as this wasn't the case at other places we ate at. The staff, as mentioned here, were (mainly) great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had a short but great stay at the Senatus. We only stayed one night before starting a cruise and we were already familiar with Sultanahmet. We enjoyed the room, the location, the breakfast, and the courtesy and friendliness of the staff. They even allowed us late checkout. The location was perfect for our needs; Aya Sofia, the Blue Mosque and the Hippodrome are very close and an easy walk up to see them one last time. We walked up to the Grand Bazaar in the morning to take care of our souvenir needs. The street the hotel is on is a well established cafe/restaurant/hotel street with a mixture that even includes youth hostels and bars with nargilehs, too much fun!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

First stay in Istanbul. Senatus Hotel is well placed in the old area of the city, within easy walking distance from main attractions. We found the hotel very friendly and clean, the staff attentive, relaxed and very helpful. The restaurant is excellent (we ate there each of our three nights). The room we had was excellent, only odd issue being a clear glass door for the bathroom!! Would most definitely recommend a visit and would stay again.

Room Tip: The larger rooms are well worth having!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

The Senatus is very clean, comfortable, and centrally located. All the major sites are within a 10 minute walk.

I saw some reviewers complain about the size of the rooms but I was quite pleased with the size which was downright spacious compared to other hotels in the area.

Best part of The Senatus is the staff, especially Gorkam, who are very friendly, helpful and warm.

I don't think you can so any better in this area and within this price range. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Second time at the Senatus and just as good as the last only the weather was better. Staff nice and welcoming and remembered me from last time.
Will definitely use this hotel from now on. As a single female traveller I feel very safe and well looked after.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Senatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senatus Hotel

Address: Akbiyik Caddesi No 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 883 hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Senatus Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 22 guest rooms in our small and boutique hotel have been designed with your comfort in mind. Our finely detailed spacious rooms offer superbly comfortable beds and efficiently modern bathrooms. We take pride in our fine furnishings and we are happy to offer our guests internet access and writing facilities in the rooms. We have created an ambiance of calm and tranquility in our rooms where you would be happy to relax and plan your excursions, use your laptop or simply contact your friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Fastbooking, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Senatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senatus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.