We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Senatus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Senatus Hotel to your Saves list
Senatus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akbiyik Caddesi No 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 987 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

First stay in Istanbul. Senatus Hotel is well placed in the old area of the city, within easy walking distance from main attractions. We found the hotel very friendly and clean, the staff attentive, relaxed and very helpful. The restaurant is excellent (we ate there each of our three nights). The room we had was excellent, only odd issue being a clear glass door for the bathroom!! Would most definitely recommend a visit and would stay again.

Room Tip: The larger rooms are well worth having!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    130
    17
    0
    1
See reviews for
66
296
36
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

The Senatus is very clean, comfortable, and centrally located. All the major sites are within a 10 minute walk.

I saw some reviewers complain about the size of the rooms but I was quite pleased with the size which was downright spacious compared to other hotels in the area.

Best part of The Senatus is the staff, especially Gorkam, who are very friendly, helpful and warm.

I don't think you can so any better in this area and within this price range. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Second time at the Senatus and just as good as the last only the weather was better. Staff nice and welcoming and remembered me from last time.
Will definitely use this hotel from now on. As a single female traveller I feel very safe and well looked after.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Senatus is in a great down town location in Sultanahmet, which is the old part of Istanbul very close to the Blue Mosque and the Aya Sofya. It is set amongst many local taverns and other hotels, in a very lively location. The hotel facilities are basic, but very clean and the shower was hot and bathroom supplied with a hospitality pack of toiletries.
Our package included breakfast which was buffet style and a reasonable selection of fruit, local cooked food (eggs, etc,), cereals and breads. The staff were always very helpful if a little vacant at times. All in all, wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, and hope to in the future.
Tip : Take GBP and exchange locally, the rate was much better and the some traders in the Grand Bazaar gave better prices for GBP.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room at the back of the hotel, you then wont have the noise from the busy street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommended! The staff (front desk and dining) are friendly, helpful and always there to assist. Rooms a well equipped, spotlessly clean and well serviced. Breakfast offering covered both middle eastern as well as international options and what I liked most, was that at any time residents can sit at the street-side cafe / dining area and have coffee or tea as part of the perks included in the room rate.

The location is perfect, situated on a street with lots of restaurants and within walking distance of all of the sights of Sultanahmet. Highly recommended - thi sis my second stay at the hotel, and it will not be the last!

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a nice little hotel ideally placed for easy access to the major sites. It has a boutique feel: our room, which was one of the smallest, had a good standard of decorations and furnishings and an excellent though smallish bathroom. Breakfast is ok and the restaurant is fine (though you will be spoiled for choice in the area). Everything was spotlessly clean. The staff were delightful and the service excellent. Downside? The street is lined with hotels, bars, restaurants and hostels, and the partying gap year students can get a little tiresome.

Room Tip: Face back if you can, away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I spent only 1 night at the Senatus. I am here on a business trip and needed to go to a hotel close to our office on the Asian side of Istanbul for my second night. The location is super, perhaps 10 minutes walk to the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque and 15 minutes to the Topkapi Palace. The management is attentive and friendly. The restaurant very good, too. I will definitely return. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Senatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senatus Hotel

Address: Akbiyik Caddesi No 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 987 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Senatus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 22 guest rooms in our small and boutique hotel have been designed with your comfort in mind. Our finely detailed spacious rooms offer superbly comfortable beds and efficiently modern bathrooms. We take pride in our fine furnishings and we are happy to offer our guests internet access and writing facilities in the rooms. We have created an ambiance of calm and tranquility in our rooms where you would be happy to relax and plan your excursions, use your laptop or simply contact your friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Senatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senatus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.