We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel charming service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Senatus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Senatus Hotel to your Saves list
Senatus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akbiyik Caddesi No 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel charming service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a nice little hotel ideally placed for easy access to the major sites. It has a boutique feel: our room, which was one of the smallest, had a good standard of decorations and furnishings and an excellent though smallish bathroom. Breakfast is ok and the restaurant is fine (though you will be spoiled for choice in the area). Everything was spotlessly clean. The staff were delightful and the service excellent. Downside? The street is lined with hotels, bars, restaurants and hostels, and the partying gap year students can get a little tiresome.

Room Tip: Face back if you can, away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    113
    16
    0
    1
See reviews for
59
257
33
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I spent only 1 night at the Senatus. I am here on a business trip and needed to go to a hotel close to our office on the Asian side of Istanbul for my second night. The location is super, perhaps 10 minutes walk to the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque and 15 minutes to the Topkapi Palace. The management is attentive and friendly. The restaurant very good, too. I will definitely return. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We ended up staying here unexpectedly and booked based on other reviews. We were not disappointed! We had a small room on the ground floor at the back, it was very quiet! There were also nice touches like slippers and robes. The included breakfast was great, lots of variety. The staff at the restaurant were friendly too. I found some of the reception staff a bit brusque but overall everyone was relatively helpful. The location is perfect, in the touristy area of Istanbul, very close to main tourist attractions.
My only quibble is that the bathroom door in our room offered next to no privacy (you can hear everything), my boyfriend and I coped ok but if you're sensitive about that kind of thing this might not be the place for you. Also, the bed was pretty uncomfortable, very firm.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back for quiet, at the front if you want a view and sun and don't mind str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked this hotel based on other Trip Advisor comments and were very pleased with all aspects of our stay. The budget double room although a little cosy in size was modern and very clean and the bed comfortable. A large TV with BBC World / CNN etc. The breakfast is fine for vegetarians and is a buffet - lots of different cheeses, fruit, eggs, yoghurt, bread, cake etc. All the staff were friendly and extremely helpful and checked in our return flight for us and without prompting made us a takeaway sandwich as we left before breakfast on the last day. The location is great for all the big sites.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if some rooms would be noisier than others? Ours was at the back and pretty quiet w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Used this hotel as base for when working in Bursa. Great central location within 10 minutes of ferry stations. Airport pick ups and welcome was great.

During time not working, the location was fantastic as great historic sites within a few minutes.

All good!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Windsheim, Germany
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Very friendly staff! Very clean! Nice rooms, superb breakfast and excellent location! The sleep quality is good, could be better, if the walls to your neighbours would be thicker... or our neighbours would have been more respectfull!
The location is so cool, you are in the thick of the historical area and sourrounded by a good choice of restaurants, bars and little shops. Ok, very touristy, but very comfortabel, too. But take a room to the back! The front rooms can be noisy!
We arrived from the airport by metro and tram and the short walk from the Sultanahmet tram stop to the hotel gives you a wonderful first feeling for the historical area. Btw: the walk is about 7 minutes.

Room Tip: Take a room to the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

nice and quiet rooms, very clean. excellent position in the old city also for tramstops.
very kind staff that will do anything to help and inform you. lovely turkish breakfast, but
a good choice of continental too. good value also for the restaurant. Istanbul was a nice surprise, also thanks to the kindness of the people : I hope to be back and this is the hotel
for adding quality to your trip !

Room Tip: I love the rooms in the basement : there is maybe a little less light, but so quiet and next to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Senatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senatus Hotel

Address: Akbiyik Caddesi No 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Senatus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 22 guest rooms in our small and boutique hotel have been designed with your comfort in mind. Our finely detailed spacious rooms offer superbly comfortable beds and efficiently modern bathrooms. We take pride in our fine furnishings and we are happy to offer our guests internet access and writing facilities in the rooms. We have created an ambiance of calm and tranquility in our rooms where you would be happy to relax and plan your excursions, use your laptop or simply contact your friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Senatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senatus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.