We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely worthwhile !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Senatus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Senatus Hotel to your Saves list
Senatus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akbiyik Caddesi No 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 986 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Verona, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“absolutely worthwhile !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

nice and quiet rooms, very clean. excellent position in the old city also for tramstops.
very kind staff that will do anything to help and inform you. lovely turkish breakfast, but
a good choice of continental too. good value also for the restaurant. Istanbul was a nice surprise, also thanks to the kindness of the people : I hope to be back and this is the hotel
for adding quality to your trip !

Room Tip: I love the rooms in the basement : there is maybe a little less light, but so quiet and next to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    130
    17
    0
    1
See reviews for
66
296
36
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monistrol sur loire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Istanbul is a wonderful city. People there are full of respect and consideration for each other You will feel most welcome everywhere and it's just like if everyone's purpose was to see you happy; in fact, Turkish are happy when they can help you and give you satisfaction.
This is especially true in Senatus Hotel where each one will do his best in a very friendly way to help you and make your stay the best ever.
We recommend the Imperator room which is of a maximum comfort with all its amenities described on the hotel site.
We recommend the restaurant as well: the food and the wines are great and typical.
The situation of the hotel in the historical center is just perfect. There are so many things to do and to see that we could have stayed in a walk range during our five days stay, enjoying the proximity of the hotel for a rest, a sauna or simply to spend so little time in transportation.
We left the hotel and Istanbul with regrets, but with our senses full of sweet memories and nice dreams... We shall be back...

Room Tip: We recommend the Imperator room which is of a maximum comfort with all its amenities described on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed in Senatus hotel for 3 nights for a leisure trip to Istanbul. As it was already mentioned location is very central, close to all possible old city attractions and sight seeings. Staff is very helpful and nice. I have ordered transfer service from IST airport to the hotel, but they due to some reasons didn't get there, so hotel asked me to take a cab and they paid for it upon arrival to the hotel.
Again all the facts about amenities in the rooms are true, everything is clean and well prepared, bottle of water, tea and coffee in the room are complimentary. Breakfast is a bit unusual for European taste, but your are in Turkey after all so have fun and enjoy (and they provide not just local dishes, so not a problem at all). Bed is very soft and comfortable.
In case you are interested in having excursions or boat/bus tours staff will help you with the options and arrangements.
There are only 3 things i could consider as minuses for this otherwise perfect hotel:
1. Booking.com says that hotel has WiFi coverage in all hotel areas - that is not completely true. Good WiFi is only in the lobby, restaurant and i believe on the 1st/2nd floors. My room was on the 4th floor and I been constantly searching for a right location to get signal and anyway it was very poor.
2. Noise - if your room has windows on the front side it might be very noisy in the evening;
3. Door to the bathroom is actually transparent, so if you are not alone or staying with someone with whom you are not completely happy to share your naked appearance it might be a challenge ;)

But in principle i am very happy with a hotel and definitely would recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed at the Senatus in January for a business trip. The hotel is very pleasant. The room I had was spacious and very clean and especially warm as it was very cold weather when I arrived. There was tea and coffee facilities which were replenished daily and a well stocked fridge. Plenty of fresh towels, nice robes and slippers save you having to pack these items. Nice well functioning bathroom and shower.
My transfer car did not turn up at the airport due to the snow and the staff were very helpful when I telephoned.
The hotel was quiet due to the time of year but I did not feel uncomfortable as a woman travelling on my own and staying here.
Breakfast was good, although there was always too much and I felt awful for wasting food.
I had dinner on 2 evenings in the hotel restaurant and was very well looked after with nice food and good presentation.
Ideally suited for tourists but also useful for business travellers as you are very close to the tramway to get all over town, Emınönü, for the ferry boats and the Grand Bazaar.
I will definitely be using this hotel from now on and have already booked a return trip in April.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wil, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and spent 5 nights in the hotel. Great location. Spent 5 nights at the senatus, our room was lovely, although the bed was very comfortable.The street at night can be a bit noisy, Apart from that I couldn't fault the hotel, the staff in particular were excellent, they were very friendly & couldn't do enough for us. A lovely stay & would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a central location, good food, reasonably price & efficient, friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Spent 4 nights at the senatus, our room was lovely, although the bed could have been a bit more comfortable. Apart from that I couldn't fault the hotel, the staff in particular were excellent, they were very friendly & couldn't do enough for us. A lovely stay & would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a central location, good food, reasonably price & efficient, friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We picked this place for our Istanbul stop during our week long visit to Turkey, solely on its reviews on TA and its location. Being world travelers, but never having been to Istanbul before, we could not have been happier with our selection.

We received a free upgrade when we checked in, as the hotel was not full, which is always a pleasant surprise. (Did that give us a positive bias, maybe! Haha). the rooms were large, comfortable, and well decorated. You will not have the service of, say the luxurios Four Seasons up the street, as there is usually only a single receptionist on duty. However, the receptionist is always friendly and knowledgeable (especially restaurant and bar suggestions), and we were happy with our choice.

You cannot beat the location, as you can walk to every major site, which is a huge plus. Even if you don't stay at this hotel, you should definitely stay in the area. You will see much more, and really be able appreciate the local culture. For example, we were here during Ramadan, and we walked every night to the park in front of the mosque where crowds would gather at dusk to celebrate. What a great experiences! The hotel is also located on a row with many dining options, clubs, and bars. On one hand, this can get noisy if your room faces the street. Ours did, and we were ok, but just pointing that out. However, we also liked the fact that we were able to just walk out the door and partake in the city's nightlife.

For the price and location, this hotel is hard to beat.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Senatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senatus Hotel

Address: Akbiyik Caddesi No 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 986 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Senatus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 22 guest rooms in our small and boutique hotel have been designed with your comfort in mind. Our finely detailed spacious rooms offer superbly comfortable beds and efficiently modern bathrooms. We take pride in our fine furnishings and we are happy to offer our guests internet access and writing facilities in the rooms. We have created an ambiance of calm and tranquility in our rooms where you would be happy to relax and plan your excursions, use your laptop or simply contact your friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Senatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senatus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.