We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No brainer. You got to stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Senatus Hotel

Save Saved
You added Senatus Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Senatus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akbiyik Caddesi No 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 912 hotels in Istanbul
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“No brainer. You got to stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We picked this place for our Istanbul stop during our week long visit to Turkey, solely on its reviews on TA and its location. Being world travelers, but never having been to Istanbul before, we could not have been happier with our selection.

We received a free upgrade when we checked in, as the hotel was not full, which is always a pleasant surprise. (Did that give us a positive bias, maybe! Haha). the rooms were large, comfortable, and well decorated. You will not have the service of, say the luxurios Four Seasons up the street, as there is usually only a single receptionist on duty. However, the receptionist is always friendly and knowledgeable (especially restaurant and bar suggestions), and we were happy with our choice.

You cannot beat the location, as you can walk to every major site, which is a huge plus. Even if you don't stay at this hotel, you should definitely stay in the area. You will see much more, and really be able appreciate the local culture. For example, we were here during Ramadan, and we walked every night to the park in front of the mosque where crowds would gather at dusk to celebrate. What a great experiences! The hotel is also located on a row with many dining options, clubs, and bars. On one hand, this can get noisy if your room faces the street. Ours did, and we were ok, but just pointing that out. However, we also liked the fact that we were able to just walk out the door and partake in the city's nightlife.

For the price and location, this hotel is hard to beat.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    282
    97
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
52
227
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Deep South Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Having never been to Istanbul I had to rely upon reviews to sort through the hundreds of hotels and this turned out to be a good pick. With only two days and nights in town, I wanted a safe, clean place near the main tourist sites and near lively (but not wild) bars and restaurants.

The Senatus was in a great location -- as others say it was less than a 10 minute walk from the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, the palace, the Grand Bazaar, etc. Want to see the main sites in Istanbul in a day? -- you can do it from here.

The room was a decent size, clean, well decorated and as good as I expected it to be. The hotel is on a street lined with cafes -- one of few streets like this that I saw in this particular neighborhood -- and had a decent streetside cafe with outdoor seating and a nice place for a drink in the evenings. The staff at both the front desk and restaurant were great for telling us things to do and see. When we wanted to go to a rooftop bar to watch the sunset, they told us which one to go to across the street (sorry, I don't recall the name) and it had a great view of both the water and a stunning nighttime view of the Blue Mosque.

My room faced the rear of the hotel -- no view -- and ther was some noise outside -- but nothing more than you would expect from any city hotel.

The taxi from the airport was 20 minutes or so and not too expensive. We didn't want super budget so chose this for what appeared to be one of the nicer but not pricier independent hotels -- and this fit the bill.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Senatus after a cruise from Athens. The hotel is in a great location on a street in the old town lined with restaurants and hotels. The ground floor is taken up mainly by a restaurant, and there is just a tiny and somewhat worn lobby. There is a desk attendand, but no bellboy, etc. although the desk attendand does help with bookings, cabs, etc. Our room faced the street and it was noisy at night - until about 2 in the morning. As mentioned, this is a street lined with restaurants and hotels, so a lot happening.
It is a short walk to the Blue Mosque and other sights, include the Four Season's Hotel, which has a wonderful restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Me and my husband spent 4 nights at Senatus Hotel in October 2012. The hotel is a walk away from all the must sees of Istanbul. The rooms are very clean and the service is splendid. The hotel managers are extremely friendly and more than willing to help. We had initially booked an economy room but due a small leak in the bathroom (which got repaired in few hours) , they upgraded us to their best room. And what a room it was..Huge and super cozy !!! We did a trip to Cappadocia for 2 days and they allowed us to leave our bigger bags in the hotel.The breakfast at the restaurant could be a little better. Would definitely stay there if i go to Istanbul again..Thanks for a wonderful experience!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We spent 4 nights here in mid November 2012 on a short break from the UK. The hotel was quiet with it being the low season, but the staff could not have been more helpful and attentive. The rooms were of a good size and well appointed. The food in the restaurant was also of a good standard - breakfast was part of the package, but we also had dinner in the hotel on one of the evenings. The location of the hotel was excellent, being only a short walk from the major attractions in Sultanahamet. Lots of restaurants and bars nearby and we were spoilt for choice. All in all, very happy to recommend the hotel to other travellers.

It is around 25 mins from the airport, depending on traffic, and a taxi should cost around 40 turkish lira, but beware of taxi drivers who do not use the meter and try and charge more. You can also get there relatively easily by metro and tram fromthe airport, although it is probably a 400 metre walk from the nearest tram stop (some cobbles if wheeling a suitcase!).

Room Tip: We were not disturbed by any noise, but you may want to consider a room at the rear during the high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Senatus Hotel for 4 days when participating in the Istanbul marathon. Very nice and clean rooms, perfect location and extremely friendly staff. Try to avoid the budget economy room as it is quite noisy. But our friends immediately got another room when they asked for it. Definitely one to recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights with my wife and 2 year old son in Oct 2012. Wasn't expecting the hotel to be so close to all the major attractions in Sultanahmet (5 min walk to the Blue Mosque & Hagia Sophia) and there are plenty of places to eat nearby. Hotel staff, especially the guys on reception were very friendly and helpful and were always more than happy to answer any questions we had.
The room was clean and of a decent size but if travelling with a kid, I would suggest you book a larger room than their standard double (also, rooms towards the back of the hotel faces a residential building with people on the balcony so ask for a room facing the front street if you want any sort of a view). A/C worked fine and the shower was amazing. Breakfast provided was Turkish breakfast, which was OK, but a bit more choice on continental items would have been preferred if you (like me) aren't a big fan of cold meats and cheese first thing in the morning.

Access to the hotel with a pram/push chair wasn't the easiest thing as there are a few sets of steps both at the entrance of the hotel as well as from the hotel reception to the lifts, but as we found out, not many places in Istanbul are very child friendly but people are usually happy to assist.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front if you want any sort of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Senatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senatus Hotel

Address: Akbiyik Caddesi No 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 912 hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Senatus Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 22 guest rooms in our small and boutique hotel have been designed with your comfort in mind. Our finely detailed spacious rooms offer superbly comfortable beds and efficiently modern bathrooms. We take pride in our fine furnishings and we are happy to offer our guests internet access and writing facilities in the rooms. We have created an ambiance of calm and tranquility in our rooms where you would be happy to relax and plan your excursions, use your laptop or simply contact your friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Senatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senatus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.