We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomodating, Roomy, Great Location, Noisy at Night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Senatus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Senatus Hotel to your Saves list
Senatus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akbiyik Caddesi No 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 974 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Accomodating, Roomy, Great Location, Noisy at Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Senatus after a cruise from Athens. The hotel is in a great location on a street in the old town lined with restaurants and hotels. The ground floor is taken up mainly by a restaurant, and there is just a tiny and somewhat worn lobby. There is a desk attendand, but no bellboy, etc. although the desk attendand does help with bookings, cabs, etc. Our room faced the street and it was noisy at night - until about 2 in the morning. As mentioned, this is a street lined with restaurants and hotels, so a lot happening.
It is a short walk to the Blue Mosque and other sights, include the Four Season's Hotel, which has a wonderful restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    120
    17
    0
    1
See reviews for
60
270
35
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Me and my husband spent 4 nights at Senatus Hotel in October 2012. The hotel is a walk away from all the must sees of Istanbul. The rooms are very clean and the service is splendid. The hotel managers are extremely friendly and more than willing to help. We had initially booked an economy room but due a small leak in the bathroom (which got repaired in few hours) , they upgraded us to their best room. And what a room it was..Huge and super cozy !!! We did a trip to Cappadocia for 2 days and they allowed us to leave our bigger bags in the hotel.The breakfast at the restaurant could be a little better. Would definitely stay there if i go to Istanbul again..Thanks for a wonderful experience!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We spent 4 nights here in mid November 2012 on a short break from the UK. The hotel was quiet with it being the low season, but the staff could not have been more helpful and attentive. The rooms were of a good size and well appointed. The food in the restaurant was also of a good standard - breakfast was part of the package, but we also had dinner in the hotel on one of the evenings. The location of the hotel was excellent, being only a short walk from the major attractions in Sultanahamet. Lots of restaurants and bars nearby and we were spoilt for choice. All in all, very happy to recommend the hotel to other travellers.

It is around 25 mins from the airport, depending on traffic, and a taxi should cost around 40 turkish lira, but beware of taxi drivers who do not use the meter and try and charge more. You can also get there relatively easily by metro and tram fromthe airport, although it is probably a 400 metre walk from the nearest tram stop (some cobbles if wheeling a suitcase!).

Room Tip: We were not disturbed by any noise, but you may want to consider a room at the rear during the high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at Senatus Hotel for 4 days when participating in the Istanbul marathon. Very nice and clean rooms, perfect location and extremely friendly staff. Try to avoid the budget economy room as it is quite noisy. But our friends immediately got another room when they asked for it. Definitely one to recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights with my wife and 2 year old son in Oct 2012. Wasn't expecting the hotel to be so close to all the major attractions in Sultanahmet (5 min walk to the Blue Mosque & Hagia Sophia) and there are plenty of places to eat nearby. Hotel staff, especially the guys on reception were very friendly and helpful and were always more than happy to answer any questions we had.
The room was clean and of a decent size but if travelling with a kid, I would suggest you book a larger room than their standard double (also, rooms towards the back of the hotel faces a residential building with people on the balcony so ask for a room facing the front street if you want any sort of a view). A/C worked fine and the shower was amazing. Breakfast provided was Turkish breakfast, which was OK, but a bit more choice on continental items would have been preferred if you (like me) aren't a big fan of cold meats and cheese first thing in the morning.

Access to the hotel with a pram/push chair wasn't the easiest thing as there are a few sets of steps both at the entrance of the hotel as well as from the hotel reception to the lifts, but as we found out, not many places in Istanbul are very child friendly but people are usually happy to assist.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front if you want any sort of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I spent three nights in Istanbul at the Senatus Hotel in April 2011. It’s a small but very warm hotel. My room was the 406, a delicious place. I felt like a princess.
The hotel is very well located, close to the major monuments of this fantastic city. It’s a perfect place to stay when visiting Istanbul.

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. It was a lovely, clean hotel. We had no view outside our window (just a brick wall), but the location is great (albeit very touristy), and you're close to the blue mosque, hagia sofia, topkapi palace etc. They had all the amenities you need, but the bathroom door was just a glass door, offering little privacy to the user. The other issue I had with the hotel is the staff. Two guys that either act too cool, or are just dopey.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Senatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senatus Hotel

Address: Akbiyik Caddesi No 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 974 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Senatus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 22 guest rooms in our small and boutique hotel have been designed with your comfort in mind. Our finely detailed spacious rooms offer superbly comfortable beds and efficiently modern bathrooms. We take pride in our fine furnishings and we are happy to offer our guests internet access and writing facilities in the rooms. We have created an ambiance of calm and tranquility in our rooms where you would be happy to relax and plan your excursions, use your laptop or simply contact your friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Senatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senatus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.