We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and Location but Poor bedding” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Senatus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Senatus Hotel to your Saves list
Senatus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akbiyik Caddesi No 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
Perth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value and Location but Poor bedding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The location of this hotel was terrific- in the middle of Sultanahmet and very close to the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. The rooms were clean and a good size- good value for money. We found the staff (front desk and waitstaff) to be very pleasant and helpful. The free wi-fi worked well. However the mattress was literally as hard as a rock- my hips became very sore if I slept on my side. The quality of the bedding would stop me returning to this hotel. If the bedding was improved, I would give it a five star rating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    113
    16
    0
    1
See reviews for
59
257
33
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel is not big if that's what u r expecting, it is more like a stylish, modern and a bit of Turkish designed, clean, friendly type.

Plus:
1. Very clean. I guess it is still kinda newly renovated.
2. Modern. Uses touch panel in the lift, and extra big shower head which I liked very much.
3. Located right at the restaurant street, atmosphere is perfect but not noisy. Also, the blue mosque and Sophia hagia is only 5 min away.
4. Breakfast is included.
5. 5 min walk to street car station if u wanna go to the new town side.

Minus:
1. I drink bottled water, and it only provided 1 bottle on the first day, so if u r like me, buy ur own.
2. Breakfast is weak, except the bread and coffee r good. Dun expect a brunch.
3. The time on the clock is away wrong, it gets reset every time u pull the card.

P.s. Selcuk was very friendly, told us what and where everything is on the first day, and if he asks u what kinda drink u like, ask for something expensive, hehehe.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were extremely impressed with Senatus Hotel - everything was clean and comfortable at a reasonable price. The staff was welcoming and helpful in answering all our questions at any time. The location is incredible and made our trip much easier. We actually left for a more expensive hotel, which we had planned to do before arriving in Istanbul, and returned to the Senatus because we preferred it. Would highly recommend!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

That sounds like a bit of an overstatement, but I really couldn't mean it more. I recently returned from Istanbul where I spent 6 nights at the Senatus Hotel. I had booked it based on all of the good reviews on tripadvisor and I was not disappointed. On arrival we were greeted by Selçuk, the reservations exec who gave us a map of the city and marked out all of the tourist sites, the tram lines, post office and even gave us recommendations for jazz clubs after telling him that was something we were keen to visit. His fantastic dead pan humour was great and we instantly felt like we had made the right decision booking the hotel.

We had booked to stay in a consul (economy) room and I had emailed ahead asking to be away from the street at the back of the hotel as I had seen that some people has said that the street side can be noisy. This was all sorted for us with no problem what so ever. Initially I was worried about the size of the room based on the website photos, but these fears were unfounded. The room was just the right size for two people, immaculately clean and came with complementary slippers, robes, loofahs and tea/coffee/water. The rooms are cleaned everyday and fresh towels are always available.

At the back of the hotel we had no problem sleeping at all and all we could hear was the sound of the air conditioning (which was also pretty quiet).

The staff at the hotel are all fabulous and we had a great time sitting out in the bar/restaurant downstairs having an effes each night and getting to know everyone. You receive two complementary drinks on arrival (including cocktails) which was a fantastic and very welcomed surprise after the flight.

The Senatus is located 5 mins from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia and is about a 7 min walk from Sultanhamet tram line which takes you to Taxim Sqaure (change at Kabataş), the Grand Bazaar and all of the major sites. The road the hotel is situated on is full of bars and restaurants. It is a little touristy but not overly expensive and we had a great time in some of the places nearby.

I really cannot gush enough about this fantastic hotel. I have never been so sad to leave somewhere in my life! We would have had a great trip in this fantastic city anyway, but staying at the Senatus made it just that little bit even more special.

Thanks to everyone there for such a great time! If you are in Istanbul the definitely stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are worried about noise from the bustling road outside then ask ahead for a room at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in here everthing was really nice rooms are very good and superclean beds are comfortable.Staff are heplfull and very friendly. We love this place We would absolutely recommend the Senatus and understand why it has such a great Tripadvisor review

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We thought this was a great hotel for a great price. We spent 1 night in instanbul the week before and stayed in another boutique hotel in the same area for over double the price. I thought we would splurge for the 1night knowing we would be jetlagged. We should have booked the Senatus for that stay as well. Value there was no comparison, Senatus was so far ahead. If you are expecting an American style hotel then you should go and stay in one of those. This is a small boutique hotel like many in Istanbul, we received great service, good breakfast, a claen, good sized room - we only booked the basic room type but even so it was most confortable. We would absolutely recommend the Senatus and understand why it has such a great TA review.

Room Tip: Great value, small fun hotel in great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver wa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

As the many other reviews will attest, this is a great place to stay for numerous reasons in Istanbul. We would like to stress that the staff was the best thing about it. We had a couple of moderately serious problems of our own making that were handled by both Cagdas Turkoglu and Selcuk Vardar at the front desk, going way beyond what we could have expected and saved us a large amount of time, money and grief.

In addition, the same applies to the restaurant staff. In addition to great food and wine, they went out of their way to accommodate our very early departure and were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Senatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senatus Hotel

Address: Akbiyik Caddesi No 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Senatus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 22 guest rooms in our small and boutique hotel have been designed with your comfort in mind. Our finely detailed spacious rooms offer superbly comfortable beds and efficiently modern bathrooms. We take pride in our fine furnishings and we are happy to offer our guests internet access and writing facilities in the rooms. We have created an ambiance of calm and tranquility in our rooms where you would be happy to relax and plan your excursions, use your laptop or simply contact your friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Senatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senatus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.