We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelming” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Regency Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Regency Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Regency Hotel
Istanbul Cad. No:71 Bakirkoy Merkez, Istanbul 34142, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #277 of 828 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed at the Blue Regency for a week for an in-house conference. Our group used the hotel's meeting rooms on the underground pool level. Stuff basically works OK but the place feels a bit like noone really cares much. The rooms are acceptable, but expensive. The meeting rooms likewise, but having them on the pool level was not a good planning decision. The entry reeks of chlorine. The bar is typically unmanned, even after work hours, which was frustrating. Breakfast was a highlight, but the lack of good coffee is really disappointing.
All in all, there must be better, and better value in Istanbul.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    23
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
8
7
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week. Rooms clean and reasonably priced. I stayed in a double room with bath for 60 euro per night including breakfast but my colleague stayed in a tiny room for 55 euro which seemed very over priced. Pool and facilities good, particularly the Turkish bath which will leave you squeaky clean! Would stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Romania, Romania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Blue Regency Hotel is located in a friendly and safe area, with nice shopping-malls, small restaurants and very nice people. I was staying at the Blue Regency one week per month during three years. In general it was a pleasure to stay and overnight in Blue Regency. Friendly staff, solving problems, laundry-service, anything. And of course a good breakfast. Free parking and safe as well. I had no problems whatsoever. The swimming-pool and the other facilities are clean and safe. The rooms are absolutely clean, and I never missed a Turkish Lira in my room (I always leave some money on the table). Taxi's can be arranged by the Hotel and in this way you don't pay too much. English speaking staff at the front-desk: lovely!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia, Italy
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

If you are looking for the crowdy Istanbul, lots of shops, typical turkish way of living, this choice is appropriate. The location is strategic and lots of place are reachable by walking distance. Shopping malls (2) close to the hotel and many, many other local shops. Rooms are clean, absolutely functional and reception staff is very polite and kind.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

i stayed for 2 nights on a buisnes trip ... staff were very welcoming english speakers i needed to print some paper for my work they helped and done it quickly... excellent room service ... very clean ... wifi was good ... bathroom is very small its very close to the toilet ... breakfast wasnot good even coffee wasnot good ... place of the hotel close to a shopping area were u can buy clothes, shoes & others ... also close to the seabus stop ... got a problem in having payment receipt they sent it to me after one month from my stay after several phone calls

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel (even for what is technically an airport hotel) is located in a creep-ish kinda area.

The room is extremely big and clean, the breakfast is horribly poor and bad tasting (at least the few things I dared to try) and the decoration (least of my worries) is horrible.

Funny thing is that they have a sign in the elevator that bans you from bringing outside food in the hotel. This is the first time I see minibar ripping getting to the level that in order to make sure you get ripped off they don't allow you to bring food in the room from outside the hotel. So service-wise it also gets thumbs down.

It is definitely not worth 90 euros per night. I would not recommend it to anybody nor will I stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We were in this hotel for 3 nights. We chose it because the staff seems to be very friendly and it was a 4 stars hotel (At the moment we thought that it must be a good place...). 2 men of the staff help us to park our car. (For your information: You must put your car in a narrow elevator , to access to the parking in underground). Even if the staff is pleasant, the parking is the worst point of this hotel.
Then we book our room. The girl at the reception wanted to keep the key of our car. My friend hesitated... (at the begining he wanted to keep it. He's quite suspicious) but at least he decided to rely on them. At the end of your stay, some cigaret cartons has disappeared of our car. And unfortunately we noticed it too late. The security in this parking is missing. And we feel lucky that something else was not removed!
Except this inconveniance, the room is clean, spacious and quite beautiful. At first sight it's not easy to regulate the air conditioning of the room...There are several channels on TV (almost 50 channels, majority turkish) but only 3 of them are english spoken, and just 1 channel in french. What a pity! The food for breakfast is varied. You have many choices: fruits, cakes, tomatoes, bread etc...But one day, some midges fly above apple pies and the cherries. Quite disgusting!
In the course of time, it's a beautiful hotel which adorned top of the range...but the services don't deserve a label "4 stars". To cut a long story short, this hotel is a bad memory and I advise it to nobody.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Regency Hotel

Address: Istanbul Cad. No:71 Bakirkoy Merkez, Istanbul 34142, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #277 of 828 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Regency Hotel is a modern city hotel in walking distance to Bakirkoy Square. The hotel provides easement of access to museums, congress, trade fair, convention and shopping center through its location. The Ataturk Airport and CNR International Trade Fair Centre are five miles away. Carousel and Capasity Shoping Malls are a few steps from the hotel. Public transport to various places is a few steps from the hotel. Through the metro station in five minutes walking distance from the hotel, one can reach in 10 minutes to the Historical Peninsula, Sultanahmet and Eminonu districts, where Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Spice Market and various monuments from Ottoman and Byzantian era are located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Regency Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.