We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent services with Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sky Kamer Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sky Kamer Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Sky Kamer Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Mimar Kemalettin Mah. Ordu Cad. No:31 Beyazit, Fatih, Istanbul 34130, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 828 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Dhaka
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excelent services with Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

we had a family trip to Istanbul in April 2012. we stayed 7 nights in Sky Kamer Boutique Hotel. The location of the hotel is very good it, it is few blocks opposite to Grand Bazaar and very close to Beyzit Tram Station. Through tram you can easily travel to Sultanahmet square, TAKSIM, EMINIU where you can get a cheap travel to Bosphorus. I stayed with my family includes my wife and 4 yrs child. Hotel service in respect to cleanliness, booking of travel, changing suitable room and attendance was outstanding. Anyone can have a good shopping experience in the locality as required shopping items are available in the market near to the hotel. One thing i must mention that although it was confirmed that airport pick up service would be provided bu there was non in the airport from the hotel to pick up us. except this incidence others are outstanding. I would definitely recommend for the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    43
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
18
46
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights before our tour started and 1 night post tour and can highly recommend it! It was clean, comfortable, nice modern rooms, friendly staff! Good location close to the Grand Bazaar, really good breakfast with with a great view and and lots of shops and such in the area!! On our last night we were upgraded to a huge suite, it was absolutely beautiful!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights at the beginning of our trip and at the end of the trip. We actually ended up staying in 3 different room types while at this hotel. The first night we stayed in a two beds economy room (we have booked a double room) without any windows - so we assumed like most European hotels, they had only twins that we had to push the two beds together. I guess the hotel figured out that they made a mistake so the next day, we were upgraded to a double room, not just any double but a deluxe junior suite with at least 4 windows. Now the pros and cons - a windowless room meant if you were a light sleeper, you will not hear the call to prayer; and no idea what kind of weather you will be facing that day...or rather it was light or dark outside. A room with a streetview means you will hear the call to prayer anytime of the day + street noise. The room was much bigger with a sitting area that we never used, but due to the L-shape configuration of the suite, the bathroom was actually less spacious than the windowless room. Finally, at the end of our trip, we were in a standard double room with windows (no sitting area) and the bathroom size was just right. I would say the pictures on the website are pretty close to what you will be getting. The bathrooms were nicely appointed with complimentary toiletries (i.e. toothbrush kit and loofah glove).

The hotel was always clean and tidy and the staff always helpful. We also arranged our airport transfer with the hotel, our flight being early at 6:30 am....we departed at 4 am. At check-out the staff gave us a pre-packaged juice and breakfast sandwich for the road (buns sandwiched with the ubiquous cucumber, tomato and cheese). We were picked up by a private sedan and dropped off at the airport. FYI this along with the hotel charges were paid in Euro.

Oh I would caution those who prefer to walk up their "spiral" staircase though - their motion sensored lights on the stairs and on each floors were always very slow to react. You pretty much have to be right under the light and waving your arms about for it to turn on. Without any windows in these areas, one would usually be in darkenss. So...watch your steps.

Now we hardly ever hang out at the hotel so cannot speak of the facilities. We did have the included breakfasts which were the standard Turkish breakfast buffet fare up on the top floor. (Great view I may add). The usual olives, cucumber, tomato, cheeses and ekmek make their appearance along with deli meats, boiled eggs, fruits and some close fascimile of sausage and scrambled eggs. Acceptable and edible fare but nothing to write home about.

The location is really great though, walking distance to the Beyazit tram stop, the Grand Bazaar and along the way you will find quick food stops as well as some shops. We always felt safe walking in that area.

Since we only stayed at one other rather basic hotel in Istanbul, so that would be the benchmark for this comparison.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have less street noise but regardless, as long as you have a window, you will hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I have checked quite a few options before booking as Istanbul offer in Hotels is vast. It was my 4th time in this city and I was always OK (between 5star centre hotel to 1 star smaller facilities), but I must say this was my best stay in terms of accomodation.
THUMBS UP ("OK things")
Building and facilities are fairly recent and they seem to have been, so far, properly kept. Infrastructure standards are quite OK, I will dare to state even above average for this hotel rating. Room (triple for 2 adults and my 9 year old kid) quite spacious (think about a std IBIS room and multiply it by 3, at least) and well "groomed". Lots of light and good framed windows. Coffee machine, air conditioning working fine, many international channels on TV, caring for almost any European foreign language traveller (Portuguese TV was available which is really scarce anywhere I have travelled so far...). Location well inside Sultanameht "district", meaning that you can walk to all main old city monuments, sightseeing places and shops real easy (it takes 20' walking from the hotel to the Blue Mosque, with the Grand BAzaar, Cemberlitas Turkish Bath, Constantin's column..., lots of shops and people in the street in the path.. you feel safe and it is quite a nice "stroll"). For the "lazier people", TRAM stops almost right in front of the hotel. Though quite busy, it can take you virtually anywhere. Quite a good place to discover inner and old Istambul.
Hotel restaurant with a terrace (5th floor) and quite comfortable. Breakfast well framed out and with adequate supply (it is not a 5 star buffet, but believe a guy which knows reasonably different types of hotels in Turkey, Europe and Brazil (from AI resorts to small B&B inns) it is fair for the hotel grade... some people will complain, some will like it). The terrace is a plus in summertime.
Price was really competitive as compared to similar (?? at least in description) and nearly located hotels. People in the hotel always polite and willing to help, even when they did not succeed (see below)

THUMBS DOWN (not OK things)
Our experience was quite nice, so please take the next ideas as remarks and "things to improve", where applicable, and not really as bad feelings.
Hotel faces the TRAM street. It is quite a busy street and insonorization in the room is not perfect. The more sensitive (not my case) should be aware of this. The "blackout curtains" do not fill in well all the window space... If, again, any of you people is sensisitve to this, do not forget to bring a blind, otherwise light will enter the room very early in the morning. If you need to move around fast or you are in business travel and need to get out of Istambul center this may not be the ideal location, as you will need a lot of extra time to move around
People in reception speak english, true, but not fluently. They do not answer exactly to what you have asked, sometimes. You need to be lucky (some people in the staff is more fluent than other) and do not mind on insisting. They proved always they are available to help and assist, even when - at the end - you find out you were not really clarified.
At the end (stayed for 3 nights) no surprises and a quite professional stay (meaning that our stay as a family was really nice). After Istambul we went to a luxury resort in Antalya (see other review) and, though the facility was of another league and our stay was equally nice, we had far more surprises than in here.
QUITE a POSITIVE PLACE TO STAY

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

The rooms were clean & nice, particularly the bathrooms. Air conditioning was very controllable. The location was reasonably close to the old city - a bit of a walk, but right on the tram line if you didn't feel like walking. Only real downside was the breakfast - didn't much fancy cheeses & meats, but it seemed fairly standard fare for Turkish hotels. On the upside, the staff were really helpful and honest - we forgot to get change for something at one point and when we went back to talk to them about it, they had already put it aside for us.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

when me n my hubby arrived at the hotel, we were quite happy n at e same time wondering how would e rooms look like.. n to our surprise it was very good n pleasant... what amazed me was the internet connection... we had travelled to quite a number of countries,but we always had problem using the internet.. but at this hotel we were glad that the internet connection was very good. i had a good time web caming with my family coz i had a baby back at home.. soo it was easy for me to see them.. the rooms were very clean n the bed was very comfortable. we were very happy.

Room Tip: get a room which has good facilities n location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

I stayed in this fotel for 4 nights in the begining of April. First I was very satisfied with my holiday. The rooms are clean and so comfortable. I also much satisfied with the breakfast and dinner. My next visit to the Istanbul, certainly I will prefer Sky Kamer Hotel

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sky Kamer Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Kamer Boutique Hotel

Address: Mimar Kemalettin Mah. Ordu Cad. No:31 Beyazit, Fatih, Istanbul 34130, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 828 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sky Kamer Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sky Kamer Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sky Kamer Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.