We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel "California"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel California Istanbul

Save Saved
You added Hotel California Istanbul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel California Istanbul
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eminsinan Mah. Camii Sok. No:55 Beyazit, Fatih, Istanbul 34126, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #586 of 912 hotels in Istanbul
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hotel "California"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I was in Istanbul some years ago and stayed in this hotel: {'California" ]for a week.It is situated in the very heart of the city in the European part. It is a decent, economy class hotel.The advantage of it is it's situation,close to all most important and beautiful sights.They are only some " steps "aside..You can even walk there/. It is just close to the Grand Bazar,The .Cistern., e.t.c
The receptionists were very kind and helpful.The breakfast was decent.too. At leasI it was enough for me.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    18
    11
    9
    8
See reviews for
4
24
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent two weeks at the Hotel California. Clean comfortable rooms and very helpful staff. We would definately return to this hotel for another visit.Modern facilities. We were there in very cold weather and there was always lots of heat and hot water. Arthur and Linda

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mableton, Georgia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

With a lyrical name like, the Hotel California, I really didn't know what to expect upon checking into the hotel. Somehow, I thought I might encounter some leftover hippies from the 70's running a flop house. I was very pleasantly surprised. A brief word of advice, when visiting Istanbul, all you want is clean safe place to lay your head at night. There is so much to see and experience, that lodging becomes secondary. With the Hotel California, the location is great, really great. We were 5 minutes away, by walking, to get to the Grand Bazaar. In the opposite direction was the Otto-park. Each night we walked down there to share in the experience of the Muslims breaking their fast during Ramadan. It was a true festival of lights and aromas and excitement.
The hotel rooms tend to be small; althought they are very comfortable. Make sure that when booking a room that it has air conditioning. In the nearby neighborhood, there are many restaurants and small grocery stores to purchase any small items. For me the morning buffet breakfast was not worth the effort; but if you like a light breakfast, it is excellent.
But you will certainly enjoy the location!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We got a room that has a "window" without a view. The window opens into a ventilation shaft. The air conditioning is (as usual with many hotels) covered in dust and mould because they never clean the AC unit, and the room is hot. The refrigerator is not an ordinary refrigerator but a peltier-element one which is highly efficent. I pulled the plug on the refrigerator because it doesn't cool anything (peltier refrigerators can barely keep cool drinks cool) but instead it just warms the room.

The hotel looks very nice (the lobby, everything is quite clean) but the lack of a window for ventilation and dirty A/C are very annoying. The door locks are ridiculous, they are not real unique locks but rather just slabs of metal on a stick (it's easy to open any door even without the key), so you can't really consider the rooms safe for keeping your valuables in.

Breakfast was very basic but ok. Room cleaning was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I spent 4 nights in this hotel around New Year's eve 2010 - 2011 with some friends.

We knew we were opting for a basic hotel and we were not disappointed at all: the location is great to walk around the city and the room was big value for money (altough we had a triple room even if we were only two guests!).

The staff was OK, the breakfast really basic as well as the decoration of the rooms, that were anyway kept tidy and neat all the time.

If you're looking for a budget hotel that is clean and centrally located, without big expectations about comfort and frills, this may be the right choice for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Excellent location, close to all major sights, we only had to take a cab once during our 5 days stay.
The price we paid was a bargain. We booked on-line and it was much cheaper than expected.
staff were friendly and nice, they always offer us tea and coffee, not all of them could speak English but we never had any communication issue and we always managed to tell them what we need or want.
Breakfast was the same for the 5 days but it was nice so I can't really complain.

Room Tip: room on 1st floor seemed to have a better wifi connection than that on 3rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Absolutely recommend this hotel primarily because of its excellent location, 2 minutes to the station Cemberlitas, 5 minutes walk to the Grand Bazzar and 10 minutes from other attractions. Rooms are clean and tidy, solid breakfast, quiet street, the staff perfectly ... Next time, my choice would be again this hotel :):)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel California Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California Istanbul

Address: Eminsinan Mah. Camii Sok. No:55 Beyazit, Fatih, Istanbul 34126, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #586 of 912 hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California Istanbul 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel California Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel California Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.