We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Istanbul Golden City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Istanbul Golden City Hotel to your Saves list
Istanbul Golden City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tersane Caddesi No:111, Galata, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34440, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for my birthday, couldn't fault it all all.
Fabulous hotel and in walking distance to most attractions.
Great staff and excellent rooms with fantastic views that you could never get tired of looking at.
The roof top restaurant offers delicious food and fantastic views and great service, we eat here several nights during our visit.
I would highly recommend this fantastic hotel and all there great staff, nothing was too much trouble.
Thanks for making my birthday visit to Istanbul a visit I'll never forget.
P.S Thanks for the great birthday cake on my birthday :-)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, Genel Müdür at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Mr. Hans,
Very many thanks for the post and the great review. It is very gratifying to hear that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon. I would like to thank you on behalf of all Hotel staff once again.
Warm Regards from Istanbul,
Egemen ŞENYUVA
GM
Golden City Hotel İstanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    210
    34
    13
    2
See reviews for
102
231
34
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Constanta, Romania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Last September together with our relatives we spent a week in this hotel situated at the entrance of the Golden Horn.
The hotel has narrowed rooms a very strangled stairway and it is situated in one of polluted areas there in the vicinity of Galata Bridge.
One thing which is remarkable it is the top roof restaurant where we took our breakfasts, very beautiful view of a gateway from Bosphorus strait to Marmaris sea.
The front desk staff very poor in english and sometimes not friendly.
We will not recommend for our friends which are traveling often to Istanbul to stay there.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, Genel Müdür at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Mr. Timur,

First of all we would like to express our appreciation for taking time to share your feedback about Istanbul Golden City Hotel.
I want to tell you that the size of our room corresponds to the standard of all hotels in Isanbul.
Our hotel is located in the center of istanbul on a busy street maybe therefore you found it ''polluted''.
Up to now, our guests have always been very pleased with our front desk staff, we are so sorry to hear that you dont think so.
Maybe you have talked with someone who is working instead of reception temporarily it may cause impolite behavior of staff.
We hope that you will give us another chance for this time or in your next time , we promise to you a better experience with us in the fields which you have complained of.

We believe that we have a chance from your side to get your's mind as possitive about us.

Best Regards,
Egemen ŞENYUVA
GM
Istanbul Golden City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

location location ,, middle of morden and old Istanbul, you can go easly eather way by walking and by tram, very clean just 3 years old, every thing in perfect order , complet full breakfast i luv. it

Room Tip: Ask for Hotel Manager Ali he and request for free upgrad he will give you if its available, we got i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, Genel Müdür at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your wonderfull review . We appreciate it much.
By your next visit to İstanbul we would be pleased to see you among us. Thank you !

Best Regards,
Egemen ŞENYUVA
GM
İstanbul Golden City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Best price , best service , best room , best breakfast near merto and city train . Very friendly staff . We was staied from 29 december to 6 january with my family and we have good time in istanbul and also in this hotel . It had very clean room and area

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GoldenCityHotel, Genel Müdür at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Reza,

We would like to thank you for your positive comments about our hotel.You took your time to share your experience with other tripadvisor followers. That’s our pleasure to make pleasing your holiday in Istanbul. On your next trip we are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel. Thank you very much.

Best Regards,

Egemen ŞENYUVA GM istanbul Golden City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We had a room with seaview:
Situated 10 min from Galata Tower and Istiklal Road it is a little way to hagia sophia, top kapi and blue mosque which can be done by walking (20min), but there is a tram too. On one are side the waters of the golden horn and a very breathtaking view of istanbuls old city and the representative süleyman mosque. Seeing this from you bed when you go to sleep or wake up is a great sensation.
The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was clean and good warm water pressure of the shower helped us warm up from snowy istanbul. Just the heating didn´t work well but that was no problem because the gave us an extra heater.
The only thing that disturbed me was a bit the noise of the heating system or or any machinery that was buzzing/vibrating all night and sometimes smells like food or cigarettes entered.
Roof top restaurant was good too.
Service was very good, but in turkey thats quite normal.

Room Tip: get the seaview category
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, Genel Müdür at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Very many thanks for the post and the great review. It is very gratifying to hear that they had a pleasant stay in our hotel.
We will give our best to improve.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards,
Eegemen Şenyuva GM İstanbul Golden City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We booked our hotel online and was a little nervous of how it would turn out to be. When we pulled up to the location it didn't look anything like the picture we saw online, that scared us more. As we walked in we were very pleased by the look of the lobby and we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist by the name Maya. She was more than willing to help us in any way possible. She welcomed us with a glass of cocktail as we checked in. When we entered our room, we got a corner room with the beautiful sea view. We traveled with our two year old son so they had a playpin ready for us in our room. The rooms were a bit small but very clean. The next morning we went to the rooftop for breakfast as it was included with our reservation. What a wide variety to choose from. Not only was it delicious but healthy as well. After breakfast, we met the famous Ali
who we had heard of on trip advisor. This gentleman was so helpful and kind. He and Maya both would give us suggestions of where to go and what to do in the city. The location of the hotel was perfect because it was in the middle of everything. We chose to walk to all the places we went to. It was a beautiful experience to get to see the city and its people off hand. The staff of the Istanbul Golden City Hotel were all so polite and helpful. Ali, Maya, the waiters and waitresses in the restaurant, and the bell boys are awesome. Their hospitality was over the top. The morning we left which was really early, we found that Ali had a couple of sandwiches ready for us at the front desk to take on the road. He also made sure that we weren't taken advantage of by being over charged from the cab drivers. I want to thank all of the staff at this hotel for making our stay a wonderful and memorable experience. We will definitely be back and recommend them to anyone who is traveling to Istanbul.

Hassan Ayyad, Santa Cruz, CA

Room Tip: Corner rooms are more roomier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, Genel Müdür at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Mr. Ayyad,

Thank you very much for your great review. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay and had a great experience with us. Our team is always happy to go an extra mile. Thats why the reason they all try to do their best for every guest. As Golden City Hotel Team we would like to thank you once more and hope to see again in the next near future.

Best Regards,

Egemen ŞENYUVA
GM İstanbul Golden City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very nice and clean with great staff, breakfast and location. The manager Ali was particularly fantastic and extremely friendly. Coming from a tourist city, I found this hotel to be extremely professional and I recommend it to all.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenCityHotel, Genel Müdür at Istanbul Golden City Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your great review.
Our team is always happy to go an extra mile. So you are welcome. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.
Thank you.

Best Regards,

Egemen SENYUVA 
GM
Golden City Hotel İstanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Istanbul Golden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istanbul Golden City Hotel

Address: Tersane Caddesi No:111, Galata, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34440, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Istanbul Golden City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened in 2010 with now 62 guest rooms, Istanbul Golden City Hotel continues to offer the greatest location to Istanbul's history. Just a few feet away guests can take time to marvel at the Blue Mosque or walk to many others such as The Grand Bazaar, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Galata Tower, Ataturk Bridge and Galata Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Istanbul Golden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Istanbul Golden City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.