We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Sultania” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sultania

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sultania to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Sultania
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 916 hotels in Istanbul
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hotel Sultania”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

A great little hotel within walking distance to everything you would like to see in old Istanbul. Rooms are very nicely decorated in a sultan theme. Breakfast was very good and had a great selection. The hotel arranged for a driver to pick us up from the airport and for a guide to take us on a walking tour of the Old Town, both of which were on time and very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,434
    218
    22
    7
    0
See reviews for
271
910
80
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I loved this hotel, with selling point being the location and service.

Amazing perks:

Great hotel staff, some of the best service I've had. Complimentary Turkish tea, coffee, whatever you want when you check in. Any tours are easily arranged with front desk, and they were accommodating when we had to cancel a pre booked service ( no biggie, no charge )

Free breakfast, with cook to order omelets, waffles, huge buffet of cheese, fruit, breads, hot food.

Free Wifi, and a "service area" with a computer and printer - great for airline conf, etc

Cute spa, with Turkish bath, 3 (?) massage rooms, pool, Jacuzzi, under ground lounge areas (think Bali bed) - small gym though, if you're in to that on vacation. (You know you are on vacation, right?)

Selling point! Rooftop restaurant - when you first walk in, it's glass 360 views - which is amazing in itself, but keep walking. The BACK of the rooftop restaurant has an open air patio, with beautiful views of Hagia Sophia. Great picture spot, coffee break, smoke break, night cap. Loved it.

Rooms are identical to pictures on website, with plenty of space, and comfortable bedding. Some rooms have sinks next to bed, some do not. They had comfy robes, and Turkish delight waiting on the bed :) They have hair dryers, safes, closet space, lots of bath products ( yes conditioner! )

Location -- perfection. You can walk to Topkapi palace (easily) and a bit further to Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar. All of Old City is very walkable. We also walked across the bridge over the Bosporus (30 minute walk) to Taksim Square - this is like the time square /shopping district of Istanbul...think H & M, Topshop, Starbucks.

One tiny thing regarding location -it's a bit hard to find when coming from the airport in a taxi (that being said, this hotel offers a free shuttle should you choose to book it ahead of time - I would suggest doing so). It's on the interior or a walking only street corner, which actually ADDED to value, as far as intimacy. So, just make sure you have the address printed out (or hotel vouchers) when you jump in your cab.

Overall, loved it!

XO

Room Tip: Some rooms have sinks next to bed, some do not. Specify your preference when booking! Pre-book shutt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Beautiful and romantic hotel, very close to Topkapi Palace and other places of interest in the old Istanbul, walking distance to the Bosforo and the Galata Bridge (leading to Taksim). It is located in a peaceful and charming area.
Rooms are modern with a touch of "antique magnificence", very clean and spacious. Ideal for couple visiting Istanbul for the first time.
Staff is friendly and polite.

Not cheap but worth a visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed 6 days in this hotel and were treated like sultans. The hotel is conventientally located in the old city walking distance to hagia Sophia, blue mosque and many other sites as well as great restaurants. Each room features a sultan theme and is tastefully decorated to give a Turkish palatial feel. Rooms are not gigantic but big enough, Everything about this hotel is amazing, its very cool to see the way the rooms are lite with orange accents lites even under the bed and around mirrors. customer service is impeccable, the staff go out of their way to make you feel....well like a sultan. Morning breakfast is included and the spread of food leaves you full till dinner. I personally loved sitting on my couch each morning reading drinking coffee. which is framed to resemble a palace entrance. Highly recommend

Room Tip: Room with sofa was a great choice for us. The sofa made for great morning reading while drinking cof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

I highly recommend this hotel. It's within walking distance to all the attractions. Very close to the train, markets and lots of restaurants. Be careful of some of the sidewalk restaurants, especially , the seafood.
The staff at the Sultania are very helpful and you can get great advice and suggestions from them. Make sure to see Serab; she is just awesume!
The breakfast was really enjoyable, great way to start your day and waitress is very caring. There is a rooftop restaurant with great views ; but,they should accommodate the hotel guest better. You have to make a reservation .
We enjoyed our week stay there before embarking on a cruise.
I will stay there again and visit the incredible city - It's spectacular !!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Returned to the Hotel Sultania once again this October after having stayed there previously in April 2013. It was just as good if not even better than my first visit. This time I returned with my husband who was excited about the hotel we would be staying in and he was not disappointed. We were welcomed by the very friendly staff who remembered me from my previous stay, Suleyman and Kahraman . Once again our room was fabulous! It was done in a Turkish style which pays tribute to the women of the Sultans. Food was again excellent with lots of choice at breakfast and I received a hug from one of the staff who remembered me. The hotel staff helped us organise passes for all the local attractions, sent a gift to our room on our last night, arranged our departure, saw us depart and left us with yet another gift. What more could you wish? Everywhere from this hotel is within walking distance and if you don't want to walk the nearest tram is a few minutes away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband I stayed 3 nights at Hotel Sultania during our first trip to Istanbul. The hotel is ideally located to tour many of the main attractions of Istanbul - Hagia Sophia, The Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Basilica Cisterns are all less than 10 minutes away and the Spice Market, Ferry Ports, and the Grand Bazaar are easily walkable. The hotel itself is on a pedestrian street with a lot of restaurants which is convenient. As it's in the heart of the tourist sector, it does indeed feel touristy but that will be the case anywhere in the Old Town.
The room was clean and comfortable. They're decorated with a big of a Middle Eastern feel and perhaps a little kitschy. The sink is located outside of the bathroom and had minimal counter space but aside from that, we found the room perfectly functional. We slept well and were taken care of well by the staff.
This is a great hotel choice if you want to be right in the midst of all the main tourist sights. If you want something with a more authentic feel, you might want to venture across the Golden Horn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 916 hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sultania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.