We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location & Friendly Staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sultania

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sultania to your Saves list
Hotel Sultania
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location & Friendly Staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in a double room at the Hotel Sultania from 20 - 24 July. We arrived at Ataturk Airport. From here it is very cheap and easy to get to the hotel using public transport. First catch the metro to Zetinburnu Station. From here you will change to the light rail/tram where you ride to Gulhane Station. It will cost you 3tl per person per ride (thus 6tl per person to get to the hotel). If travelling with large luggage, or more than two people a taxi might work out a more convenient option as the light rail was very crowded. But we found it very easy and fun. From Gulhane station the hotel is literally a two minute walk away.

Check in was easy and the staff were very friendly and explained a few things about the city as it was our first time. The hotel itself is within easy walking distance (5-15 minutes) of the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar, and many other interesting sights. The room was a reasonable size, clean, and styled in a Turkish fashion whilst still being modern. The bathroom is encased in an interesting glass stained room, with the basin residing within the room itself.

Breakfast was very good that is provided at the Sultania Restaurant on the lower level with a selection of foods, plus a fresh eggs/waffle station. We ate here for dinner, which was fairly uninspiring (tip - the restaurant across the path was wonderful). We opted not to eat at the rooftop restaurant as the only places available were early due to it being booked entirely after dark for Ramadan.

The pool and fitness area were okay. Nothing special, could do with a bit of brightening up no revitalisation.

What wins for this hotel is its wonderful location, excellent friendly staff, decent breakfast, and comfortable rooms.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,743
    259
    22
    6
    0
See reviews for
324
1,107
91
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel has everything you can ever expect and beyond. Rooms are bid with authentic design. Service is very nice and staff so helpful and friendly - ready to guide you with all the questions u have. The best feature is surely location - historical area of Istanbul. It is so close to all tourist attractions. And it is very easy to get there from the airport even by metro and tram.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Evgenia,

Thank you so much for your great review.We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our service.I hope your travel plans would bring you back to the city and we could get an other chance to welcome you again.

Sincerely yours,
Serap KURTDERE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are spacious, modern, everything you expect from a good hotel, very friendly staff, walking distance from most attractions, it has a gym with small inside swimming pool, food was very nice. Rates are on par with surrounding hotels, pick up and drop off from airport.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

From arrival to departure, it is near impossible to find fault with this outstanding little hotel.

We travelled by metro and tram from Ataturk Airport. It cost just a few lira. A friend who had recently visited Istanbul had given us 'Istanbulkart' travel cards with some money already loaded on, which made the journey even simpler. It took just under an hour and when we got off the tram (at the Gulhane) stop, we managed to find the hotel in minutes.

Upon arrival for our two-night stay the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. The receptionist and porter introduced themselves by name, and shortly after the guest relations person came over from her desk to say hello too.

Our room was ready even though we'd arrived before midday. The porter brought our luggage to the room for us and explained where everything in the room was and how it all worked. Free wifi is provided in the rooms, and it connects instantly with no registration. Computers and a printer are also available in the lobby if you need to print boarding passes etc.

The room was immaculate in terms of both cleanliness and presentation. It had a wonderful Turkish theme (each room is named after a different female figure from the Ottoman Empire era) and featured many little decorative flourishes without becoming too kitsch. A brass pot on the bed contained two pieces of Turkish delight as a welcome gift, together with a little scroll which told the story of the lady our room was named after.

Tea, coffee and water are provided free of charge. The ample minibar costs extra but there is a clear price list and it is reasonable. The room was also wonderfully lit, making it possible to create a lovely atmosphere in the evening. Our room was on the third floor and faced onto the pedestrianised street below, but there was no noise disturbance at all.

Shortly after we had checked in and freshened up, we asked at the reception about Bosphorus river boat tours and they offered to arrange one for us that same afternoon. We were picked up and dropped off at the hotel in a small bus with a handful of other tourists. The tour included a stop off at the famous Spice Bazaar near the Golden Horn. The boat trip itself was relaxing and included extensive commentary of the key sights. Unfortunately we later discovered that we'd paid quite a bit more (90 lira each) than the standard going rate for a boat ride on the Bosphorus (we saw plenty of signs offering jump on/jump off services for 12 lira). Nonetheless the hotel provided us with a reliable tour including transport when we were in a hurry to get to know a new city in a very short time.

When we arrived back from our tour the hotel had put a selection of nuts, dried fruits and Turkish delights in our room. This seems to be a service provided on the first day of your stay and came as a welcome surprise.

Breakfast at the hotel is served until 11.30am. They lay on an extensive buffet with many Turkish specialities included, such as local cheeses and olives. A chef prepares fresh omelettes and in addition to Turkish teas, you can also get a decent latte. The bistro area is open to the pedestrianised street and has tables outside. We enjoyed breakfast in the morning sun.

Later on that day we popped back to the hotel briefly and were delighted to find traditional Turkish afternoon tea laid on in the lobby. In addition to tea, coffee and juice a selection of baklava and cakes were on offer, all complimentary.

On our departure day we had an early flight to catch, and when we asked about the best way for us to get to the airport before the trams had started running, the receptionist said he could book us on a shuttle bus at 5.45am for 35 lira in total - cheaper than a taxi. We were able to pay in advance at the reception. The receptionist also arranged two complimentary breakfast packs for us as we would be leaving before the hotel breakfast service began.

We were only in Istanbul for a fleeting visit and didn't have time to use the hotel's rooftop restaurant, gym or spa facilities, but we're certain they'd be top notch based on everything else we saw.

Location-wise, the hotel is a winner. It takes about 10 minutes to walk to the Golden Horn area, and it's really easy because you can just follow the tram line. From there we walked across the Gelata Bridge and up through Beyoglu as far as Taksim Square. That took a good hour or so but it was a great way to see the city and get a feel for the place.

In terms of the major tourist attractions such as the Aya Sofya, the Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace, the hotel couldn't be more ideally placed. They are all easily reachable within about five or ten minutes' walk following the same tram line but in the opposite direction. In fact, we did all our sightseeing on foot, which included the places named above as well as the Grand Bazaar and the Suleymaniye Mosque.

All in all, we had a first-class experience at the Sultania and we would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Ron,

Thank you so much for taking the time and write such a great review about our hotel and service.We appreciate your every single word and happy to hear that we could get your all expectations.Please contact us whenever you want to make a return trip to Istanbul.We would love to have you again.

Sincerely yours,
Serap KURTDERE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

One key to a successful holiday in the historic district of Istanbul is LOCATION! This hotel has it... Although the streets of the Sultanahmet district curve, and weave, and it's easy to get disoriented, the Sultania is located close to the tramway, where you can follow the tracks to the most well-known tourist sites! Turn right to get to the Haggia Sofia, Blue Mosque, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar. Turn left and you're headed to the ferry docks, the Spice Bazaar, the Galata Bridge.

Stayed for a long weekend with my adult daughter - and we had a triple room (king bed, with a single). The room was absolutely gorgeous, and surprisingly spacious! All modern conveniences, the bathroom is particularly clever - the door (when opened) serves as the shower door! Especially tickled with the under-bed LED lighting! Gives a wonderful ambiance, and helps avoid stubbed toes at night!

Hotel staff members were helpful and friendly.

Breakfast staff were exceptional! Breakfast can be eaten either inside, or outside along the street. Great selection of items at the breakfast buffet, including cooked-to-order omelettes.

We checked out the hotel restaurant for dinner one night - it is apparently a shared operation with an adjacent hotel. The staff was incredibly attentive, and quite knowledgable, but we found the food to be somewhat overpriced. High quality, but not a tremendous value.

Overall, Sultania is a good value given the incredibly convenient location and exceptional size/quality of the room. I would strongly reccomend giving this hotel a close look.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We've just returned from a week long stay at the Sultania and it was perfect in every way: from the luxurious accommodation (we booked one of the beautiful family suites) through to the helpfulness of the staff and the convenience of the location. I'll not go into details as the other reviews have it all covered but if you're thinking of Istanbul then I would definitely recommend the Hotel Sultania!

Room Tip: There were three of us (two adults and a 14 year old) so we booked a family suite which suited perfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Alison,

Thank you for recommending us to all travelers via tripadvisor.We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great time.We hope your travel plans would bring you back to istanbul in the future and give us an other chance to welcome you.Thank you again.

Sincerely Yours,
Serap KURTDERE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I chose this hotel via Trip Advisor and I made the reservation via Booking. The area is fantastic if you want to be close to all main site-seeing attractions (historic center) . You will be into 5 minutes by foot to Top Kapi, Ayia Sophia etc.
It is very convenient that the tram is only 1min. walk from hotel and you can go to Grand Bazaar in 6-8 min. Galatas Bridge and at the end of the tram route you can take "funiculaire" to go to Taxim and Istiklal.
The hotel is a small butique hotel with a small but very beautiful lobby and a small but cute restaurant for breakfast or lunch / dinner. Breakfast was very good with a vast variety of almost everything you wish.
We used the spa and we had the "tradditional hammam" for two. It was good and realxing although I have no other experience to compare it, but would never dare to have a hammam outside a hotel.... so I am satisfied with what I got. Hammam actually is a bath. We had 5 min. into steam, then we had the bath and at the end we had a massage!
Our room was fantastic!!!! You don't have view from windows, since hotel is into narrow street, but room was spacious and I trully loved it. Ask for a corner room, since a had a glance at nearby rooms and ours was better.
Don't go for dinner to the restaurant at the roof (actually is at the roof of next sister hotel). View is amazing ofcourse but food was expensive and disspointing.

Room Tip: Ask for corner rooms. They are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
DEAR GUEST

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We appreciate your nice comment about our hotel and staff and are very happy that you enjoyed it
It will make us happier to see you in our hotel one more time.
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact me again.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sultania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.