We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sultania

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sultania to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sultania
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
FREE VIP TRANSFER
Ranked #9 of 920 Hotels in Istanbul
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

After 3 weeks travelling in Turkey I can say that hotel Sultania has the best breakfast that i sampled! Delicious fruit, nuts, cheese, tasty omelettes, fresh pastries and juices. On top of this the rooms are spacious and are cleaned twice daily with complimentary coffee, teas, water and Turkish sweets! Hotel staff are informative and extremely helpful, the gym and pool is excellent.

Istanbul is an incredibly city and I will be sure to stay in Sultania on my return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Elle,

Thank you so much for your wonderfull review.We are glad that your stay was enjoyable.Please contact us whenever you want to make a return trip .We would love to see you and welcome you again.

Warm Regards,
Serap KURTDERE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,460
    225
    22
    7
    0
See reviews for
277
933
80
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Great hotel, perfect location 5 - 15 min walking to the main tourist sites. The room was very clean and the staff was very helpful and nice.
I will definitely recommend and I will be back with my family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Marco,

Thank you so much for your nice review .We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and had a great time.We would like to host you again you are in the city.

Warm Regards,
Serap KURTDERE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had a lot of question before we move to Istanbul. We contact with the guest relations department MR: HILMI. He told us all the things about on that part of the city. Begining from our trip till the end they work so hard to feel ourselves like a ssultan. rooms are desinged with the neo classical turkish style. they offer coffe and tea break every afternoon between 14:00-17:00. you also have a great chance with all that delicious world. Olive restaurant, Sultania bistro have very big menu to serv to their guests. and the another part all the rooms are nonsmoking. when you breathe there is a very fresh and aromatic smells at their lobby. as we said they are simply awesome.
thank you to all the members of Sultania. we had unforgetable secondry honeymoon in your house.
PS: specially thanks to Kahraman,Ramadan and Soliman.

Room Tip: rooms with balcony are nice for afternoon rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Roger,

Thank you so much for your all kind words, We are happy to hear that your stay was good and we could fit your all expectations. Also thank you on behalf of my co-workers Kahraman, Ramadan and Soliman .We hope your travel plans would bring you back to İstanbul one day and give us another chance to welcome you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Hotel Sultania in the old quarter of Istanbul is a excellent place to stay in the middle of the Old Quarter in easy walking distance to many tourist sites,shops,restaurants,all forms of transport ,It is well worth getting a travel card called Istanbul Card . We dined in many of the restaurants very close to the Hotel which were all good but so too is the food at Hotel Sultania,one of our favorites was Emin 1 Otel Cafe.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Roland,

Thank you so much for your kind review.We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.Please let us know about your next trip to İstanbul.Would be great to host you again.

Sincerely yours,

Serap KURTDERE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed here last week, hotel in fantastic location, all main attractions are walkable, the rooms are very much over the top as far as decoration is concerned, but very comfortable and clean, what makes this hotel stand out is the staff, they were outstanding, could not do enough for us, whether, reception, waiters or cleaners. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed in Hotel Sultania for 3 nights with our 9 year old son in Jul 2013. We had a fantastic time, and such a great location in the old town, well appointed room with excellent bed and pillows, friendly service and nice clean room. We stayed in a deluxe room with sofa, very nice, it was a little small and the bathroom was definitely small for a hotel of this quality. We would definitely go back to this hotel though as this was made up for by the service, the location, and the feel of the hotel. We would probably choose a larger room for the 3 of us if we had our time over though. We got the hotel transfer each way - excellent. The location is simply amazing in the middle of the old town, with 50 odd restaurants within 1min walk! There are shops, chemists, everything you could need within 100m and no Istanbul major tourist site is more than 500m away which can be easily accessed on foot or by tram. The staff were very friendly, and helpful with one matter especially I needed help with on the first day. The service finished with the entire day staff gathering as one at the end to farewell us to our airport transfer. It was such a nice gesture which we had never seen in a hotel before - then we didn't want to leave! Friendly, genuine staff. Glad we booked - will be back to Hotel Sultania. Breakfast was only average compared to some hotels but was okay. Wellness centre is great, with a decently sized clean pool, gym, spa. Try a massage - well worth the money. Thanks for a great stay Hotel Sultania.

Room Tip: With family choose a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Yoyo,

Thank you so much for your nice words.We appreciate your all commnets.We would be so happy to host you and your family again and get you a larger room to get you more comfort.Please just contact us before you make your reservation . İt was great pleause to host you.Thank you!

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed three nights at hotel Sultania. All the staff were very warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is in easy walking distance of all the popular sights in Sultanahmet. The breakfast was authentically Turkish and each evening we received a little Turkish delight treat in our rooms. The rooms were beautifully decorated in the Ottoman style and made us feel right at home in exotic Istanbul. We had an interconnecting room which worked well as we were travelling with our children. I would highly recommend this hotel if it's your first visit to Istanbul and you are planning to see all the sights.

Room Tip: We travelled with two of our children and got an interconnecting room. It worked well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 920 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Escapio and Otel so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sultania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.