We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business and pleasure in Istanbul” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sultania

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sultania to your Saves list
Hotel Sultania
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cash Discount
Ranked #9 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Business and pleasure in Istanbul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We found this hotel on TripAdvisor and it lived up to the reputation given there. The staff were very helpful, suggesting a move to a better room on the second day, after we arrived late on the first day of our stay. Breakfast is at 07:00, not ideal for business travellers, if an early start is required. Daytime traffic is an issue, allow plenty of time for the airport transfers especially afternoon and evening. The location in the old city is ideal for many of the main attractions (short walks). There is a good restaurant on the roof of the hotel and another immediately to the left of the hotel entrance, across the narrow street, also with a good TripAdvisor rating.

Room Tip: Avoiod rooms next to the lift if you can as they have no windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
DEAR GUEST

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We appreciate your nice comment about our hotel and staff and are very happy that you enjoyed it
It will make us happier to see you in our hotel one more time.
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact me again.

Kindest Regards,
Yeşim Korkmaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,581
    242
    22
    6
    0
See reviews for
287
1,017
84
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had 3 rooms at Sultania: and we hopped to visit each other all the time. Each room is different and so wonderful. All our requirements for Design, Comfort, AC, Central, Good value for money,etc were met and the hospitality was truly unmatched!

Fruits in the lobby, afternoon huge decanters of mint, lemon water, tea and snack food at reception. In the rooms at arrival we were met with a lovely tray of small painted bowls different selections of Turkish delights.

We walked to 90% of the locations: The hotel is right smack in the middle of everything in a city that literally does not sleep.

Of all the Boutique/designer hotels we've been to: Sultania immediately transformed us to the spirit of the country we are visiting; to Istanbul and Turkey we so much read of in novels and historical books.

The rooms are created with utmost care for detail in design and for comfort. It was a pleasure to see how much care was given to the insignia of Sultania on the woodwork,steel and actual bed covers and throughout the hotel. It is all done with such light touches that only create space for comfort, comfort, comfort.

The TV is wonderful: literally unseen in the midst of a huge back lit mirror.
The beds floated: literally on a cloud of spots of light. The bathrooms spotless enclosed in tinted glass of classic harem paintings that stretched from ceiling to floor. A lot of wonderful things to tell; the list goes on...

The staff are warm, friendly, informed and really attentive starting with Mrs Tulay who assisted in our booking online at reservations . Arafa who accessed our tickets and printed our boarding passes when we ran into difficulty. Gursoy who went out of his way to follow us to the tram station to insure we managed to get the right change and get our tickets.
There is Sleiman, Helmi and the list goes on including the staff at breakfast.
Last but not least is customer relations Miss Yesim who assisted us with much information and directions for restaurants and sights around Istanbul with friendliness and professionalism.

We simply already studied the travel routes to include wherever possible 'The Sultania' and Istanbul in our future travels.

Thank you and warmest regards Sultania from all of us and see you all soon again.

Room Tip: For a room with a balcony and extra light go for corner rooms. OR just enjoy a room with a Hammam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
DEAR GUEST

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We appreciate your nice comment about our hotel and staff and are very happy that you enjoyed it
It will make us happier to see you in our hotel one more time.
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact me again.

Kindest Regards,
Yeşim Korkmaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Spent 4 nights and enjoyed every minute. Our stay was made extra special by the wonderful staff who could not do enough for you. They were friendly whilst remaining efficient. The hotel is ideally located for all the major tourist attractions, most of which are easily walkable. Alternatively, the tram line is very close.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
DEAR GUEST

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We appreciate your nice comment about our hotel and staff and are very happy that you enjoyed it
It will make us happier to see you in our hotel one more time.
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact me again.

Kindest Regards,
Yeşim Korkmaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Arriving in the early hours the receptionist saw us coming and came out to greet us and take our luggage. From the first contact to the last goodbye the staff could not have been friendlier.

Check-in was a doddle, welcome cup of coffee and we were in breakfast by 7am for a nice selection of cold and hot dishes. The omelette station is a nice touch. Staff here are a little slow to react but on the whole a good breakfast.

Rooms are funky and a decent size. All amenities are what you would expect from a hotel of this standard. Very clean, well-cared for and a great multi-function shower. A view out onto the main street was bonus as was some Turkish delight treats.

The rooftop bar has a beautiful uninterrupted view of the Hagia Sofia. It’s perfect for a sun downer after a long day sightseeing. In fact, the hotel position could not be better being a 5 minute walk to Topkapi Palace and 10 minutes to Hagia Sofia, the Byzantine Cistern and 10 minutes to the Blue Mosque. There’s a tram stop and ATMs around the corner.

In summary, great hotel, lovely staff and perfect location. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
DEAR GUEST

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We appreciate your nice comment about our hotel and staff and are very happy that you enjoyed it
It will make us happier to see you in our hotel one more time.
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact me again.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My review just echos those gone before me. Lovely hotel, very well located but at the same time nice and quiet. The location is perfect for all the major attractions and is very close to the tram line. I intend to come back to Istanbul and this will be the first hotel I go for !

The staff are very friendly, this always gives a nice feeling when you arrive after your journey.
We had a broken kettle and it was replaced immediately. The rooms are lovely.

The only thing I would say is it is a little pricey, but given the location and it's reputation I guess that's to be expected.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
DEAR GUEST

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We appreciate your nice comment about our hotel and staff and are very happy that you enjoyed it
It will make us happier to see you in our hotel one more time.
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact me again.

Kindest Regards,
Yeşim Korkmaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed there for a whole week. We chose Hotel Sultania because of one the best reviews they had and the locations. A moment we arrived there until we left all hotel staffs were absolutely hospitable, helpful and friendly. Nothing was trouble for them. I used to work for an international airline and stayed 5 star hotel all over the world. But a 4 and half star hotel,
Hotel Sultania deserve 5 star. Rooms are cleaned after we came back from the breakfast every morning, hamam and spa were good (a pool is bit small but very clean.),breakfast selection is excellent and from 2-5pm every day there were free afternoon tea at lobby. Hot and cold drinks ,savouries snacks and cakes it was nice to come back to the hotel for a short rest between our sightseeings! Special thank you for Yeshmin, Suleyman,Mr Mohmet,Gizem, Savas, Rohime Yok and rest of staffs we haven't written their names but equally important members made us feel very welcome, pleasent stay through out of whole journey and please keep up your excellent and high standard of sevice we definately come back and recommend anybody come to Istanbul as a must stay Hotel !!

Japanese woman from Derby

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
DEAR GUEST

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We appreciate your nice comment about our hotel and staff and are very happy that you enjoyed it
It will make us happier to see you in our hotel one more time.
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact me again.

Kindest Regards,
Yeşim Korkmaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse,France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The rooms are decorated in an innovative way. Bathrooms are small with no place to store things but we managed to make it work. The staff is exceptional, they are this hotels BEST asset. We enjoyed our stay at this very friendly and welcoming establishment. The location is excellent.
Only negative, they have an electric deodorizer in the lobby that emits particles that can cause dry throat and coughing if one is seated in the lobby near the machine. The scent is unpleasant in an artificial way and the use of such a machine suggests that they are trying to cover up unpleasant smells, which I did NOT find to be the case when the machine is off.
I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
DEAR GUEST

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We appreciate your nice comment about our hotel and staff and are very happy that you enjoyed it
It will make us happier to see you in our hotel one more time.
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact me again.

Kindest Regards,
Yeşim Korkmaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sultania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.