We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes for city break visitors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sultania

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sultania to your Saves list
Hotel Sultania
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes for city break visitors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Excellent location in old city for tourists, short walk to main historical attractions and tram station. Welcoming, helpful staff. Comfortable room, excellent housekeeping, tea/coffee making facilities were much appreciated. Laptop-sized room safe. WiFi worked well in room. Good breakfast choice/quality, cook-to-order omelettes/waffles was a nice touch. Free access to smallish swimming pool in basement health spa was appreciated. Dinner in rooftop restaurant, good view and service, food reasonable but relatively expensive. Hotel arranged airport pickup/dropoff (40 euro each way for 2 persons for 30 minute journey), hassle-free "club-class" service. We booked at low season prices (substantial discount), so value for money was good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
DEAR GUEST

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We appreciate your nice comment about our hotel and staff.
It will make us happier to see you in our hotel one more time.
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact me again.

Kindest Regards,
Yeşim Korkmaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,590
    242
    22
    6
    0
See reviews for
287
1,024
84
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I only had one night to spend in Istanbul (long overnight layover) and picked this hotel based on the other reviews. So glad I did that. This just might be my best hotel experience ever. The entire staff are just awesome. So nice, so accommodating and so attractive. Seriously, these people are like the Top Model candidates for Istanbul.

I paid for the airport transfer to/from the hotel and highly recommend that. Such an easy way to get to/from IST. I even told them the wrong arrival time by 2 hours and it was no problem - they still had someone waiting for me!

Room is just as awesome as the online pics make it look. Very quiet in the rooms - no outside noise. You get a little treat upon arrival, which is a nice touch. And the breakfast buffet was tasty and plentiful. And, it taught me that I am not a fan of Turkish coffee! :) Great location and I highly suggest dinner at the restaurant next door - you can't go wrong there.

When I make a return trip to IST, this is where I will stay (for hopefully a longer visit!).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
DEAR GUEST

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We appreciate your nice comment about our hotel and staff.
It will make us happier to see you in our hotel one more time.
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact me again.

Kindest Regards,
Yeşim Korkmaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Excellent customer service, right from check-in to when we departed from the hotel.
We asked for early check in and on arrival we were greeted most warmly by the staff and were directed to the restaurant for breakfast "on the house", while we waited for our room to be made ready. Delicious breakfast as well, lot of choices!
You must try the Hamam, it's out of this world, felt like a sultana/sultan.
Very luxurious and clean rooms, decorated in truly ottoman style, felt like in Harem. You can choose different type of mattress, pillows or blanket, depends on style.
Walking distance for every major attraction, great restaurants nearby! The ottoman cuisine is a delight!
My husband and I were each given a leaving gift, to remember the Sultania Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
DEAR GUEST

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We appreciate your nice comment about our hotel and staff.
It will make us happier to see you in our hotel one more time.
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact me again.

Kindest Regards,
Yeşim Korkmaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We've been home a few weeks after a fantastic stay at the Hotel Sultania and can't say enough good things about our experience there. From the initial email communication to the friendly, helpful, and professional staff, to the gorgeous and comfortable room, wonderful service and great food, it's a recipe for what everyone looks for in a hotel. And no problem with the language; everyone spoke English. The location also was perfect. We walked almost everywhere we wanted to go for sites, shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
DEAR GUEST

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We appreciate your nice comment about our hotel and staff.
It will make us happier to see you in our hotel one more time.
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact me again.

Kindest Regards,
Yeşim Korkmaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night a couple weeks ago and it was just lovely. The room was large and spacious, with a cute little balcony overlooking the street. The spa tub was perfect for the last day of our trip. Since we were leaving prior to breakfast, the concierge prepared a take-away breakfast for the airport. It was just perfect. We had also dinner at Olives, the rooftop restaurant. The view of Hagia Sophia was just-ok, but the food was delicious!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
DEAR GUEST

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We appreciate your nice comment about our hotel and staff.
It will make us happier to see you in our hotel one more time.
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact me again.

Kindest Regards,
Yeşim Korkmaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The only fault we could find with the hotel was the lack of a proper bar; otherwise great. The location.staff, rooms, cleaniness were all first class. In a great location close to all major sightseeing attractions. Would definitely recommend and would definitly stay at the hotel again should I revisit istanbul.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
DEAR GUEST

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We appreciate your nice comment about our hotel and staff.
It will make us happier to see you in our hotel one more time.
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact me again.

Kindest Regards,
Yeşim Korkmaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Sultania for five nights over Easter 2013.

Service: Excellent customer service, right from check-in to when we departed from the hotel.

Location: Fantastic location in the middle of Sultanahmet area. Walking distance for every major attraction, loads of great restaurants nearby and a tram station virtually at your door step!

Room and Ameniies: as you would expect from a world class boutique hotel!

Food: Great breakfast. Altough we did not eat at the restaurant it is highly rated.

Lots of small things make this a classy botique hotel: free WIFI, free printing service for tickets/vouchers etc, tea/cofee in the afternoon etc

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
DEAR GUEST

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We appreciate your nice comment about our hotel and staff.
It will make us happier to see you in our hotel one more time.
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact me again.

Kindest Regards,
Yeşim Korkmaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sultania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.