We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel Like a Sultan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sultania

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sultania to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Sultania
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 901 hotels in Istanbul
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Feel Like a Sultan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Me and my girl spent a long weekend in Istanbul, a short leave from the frosty bites of Sweden at winters best.

I first booked the hotel via hotels(dot)com. When I later checked out the hotel via there websites I found out that not only did they have better rates, they also provided free airport pickup! (This might be a limited offer and not a regular service they provide, but for us, a hustle free welcome)

The welcome to the hotel itself felt more lika a a family thing then hotel check-in, we sat down with the receptionists, Ramanoz and Femihn, they served some tea and a very welcome Efes and talked about all Istanbul has to offer. Guess we sat there chatting for half an hour or so.

The room actually looked like in the hotels official pictures, how often do you get that?! Even remember that I updated my facebook status with " got the room they used in commercial :)) The room was clean, nice, quiet with no buzz from the streets below, and full of surprises. The way they have created the glass bathroom was really beautiful with printed relics of an old harem.
Our cleaning maid, was just marvelous to. A big smile whenever you saw her, and the room looked like new after every time she had been there.

As we went to Istanbul in December we were expecting some days of less sunny weather. So in advanced I had organized a Turkish bath with massage at the hotels in-house facilities. The bath was a new experience for me and I do recommend you to try this ancient treatment.

The Hotel also has a rooftop restaurant "Olive", overlooking the Hagia Sofia and The blue Moské. Even though the rooftop only extends to the 6th? floor, the view is stunning. The restaurant was close to empty when we ate, and I kindly asked the personnel to dim down the lights a bit. Like floating in the dark night with old Istanbul under your feet!

And the food was great to!

Other things to mention:
-Great Breakfast, omelets on order, and nice assortment of all you could possible need. This was included in the room price, not very common in Istanbul hotels.

-Free snacks in the lobby area, dried fruit and small cakes 24/7.

-Location. Well, Istanbul is BIG. A weekend wont let you do more than scrap the surface. But we had simple goals. Hagia Sophia/Blue Moské. about 5-10 minutes walk. Grand Bazar would, if you do not get lost like we did, be a 10-15 minutes away. The Bosphorus strait and all the guide boats are a 10 minutes stroll. And If you are going over to the bridge to shopping and Istiklal Street you have to spend some 45 minutes by foot.

I travel around quite a lot, often city weekends or short trips to the Med whenever schedule allows. My general review of Hotel Sultania, is that you pay for 3*** stars and get 5*****. Many times you get the flashy pictures of hotels you book, and most often they do not correspond to reality. Sultania did.

The costumer care is exceptional, not only do I get a personal mail from guest relations a week or so before arrival, letting me know that they stand ready and ask if there is anything they can do for us during our stay, pre-book tickets etc.

The same lady then sends me a mail the week after getting home, asking if the trip back home went well and just checking in on us. That is a costumer concern I have never seen before.

So, thanks Gokce and all your staff! If we return to Istanbul I would guarantee that we come back to Hotel Sultania! :)

Emil and Nadja

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Our Dearest Guest,

I would like to thank you so much for your reviews about Hotel Sultania Istanbul.
It is a great pleasure for us to read it and thank you for sharing your opionions about our hotel on TripAdvisor with the people all over the world.
We are appreciate for your nice comment about our hotel and staff.
It was a great pleasure for me to meet with you.
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact with me again.

Kindest Regards,
GOKCE YILMAZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,631 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,396
    209
    21
    5
    0
See reviews for
258
871
75
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed with family of 5 . Rooms rather small and breakfast area is also small.Rooms are clean area is good for tourists but not the experienced. Nice clean hotel recommended for first tine visitor to Istanbul or couples. Better value elsewhere for larger families especially with children

Room Tip: Ask for a large room and families should ask for separate bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, The Management at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Our Dearest Guest,

First of all,we would like to thank you to choose our hotel for your stay in Istanbul.
Every comment which comes from our guest is a gift for us to improve ourselves and we are here for your satisfaction.

As you can guess that development is continuous.
We take your all suggestions to our records.

We thanks for your comments and we hope to host you in our hotel again with an unforgettable memories.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and I just returned from Turkey after spending 5 nights at Hotel Sultania. I would highly recommend it as "base camp" for seeing Instanbul. The rooms have a theme based on varous Sultan's wives and are very comfortable. We found the staff to be very accomodating and the breakfast amazing. The concierge made a point of visiting you in the morning and was very helpful with advice on some of the sights. You can't go wrong with this hotel.

Room Tip: The restaurant next door is open late and you can hear them closing up shop around midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, The Management at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Our Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
When we read your nice reviews about our hotel and staff on TripAdvisor, it makes us very happy.
We hope to host you in our hotel again for your next Istanbul trip.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

A very recommended hotel as they made our stay most comfortable. Very Helpful and friendly staff, lovely location, excellent rooms and recommend the Olive restaurant and cafe. Requested for room change that was instantly agreed to and as we a had a young child that got unwell, the help and concern extended by each and every staff member was really the plus!! They even arranged a lovely surprise in form of a yummy fresh cream pistachio cake for my husband on his birthday!! A great breakfast spread each morning!! A really recommended hotel to enjoy Istanbul!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, The Management at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Our Dearest Guest,

We would like to thank you for your nice review about our hotel and staff.
We will be very happy to host you again for your next Istanbul visit.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

just back from Turkey and My fiance and I spent 5 days at Hotel Sultania in Istanbul and wow ! it was great.....:-)
the hotel is very nice and clean....the rooms very beautiful and romantic. we loved it. the staff are most gracious and helpful. we already miss the hotel and would like to go back. the hotel location also is great and attractions are in close walking distance. our guest relationship was Yilmaz and she was very helpful with giving us map, advice, tips and making reservations ......
go to this hotel and you will love it....promise ! :-)

Room Tip: some noise at night from street. if you do not like it ask for a room far from street !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Our Dearest Guest,

I would like to thank you to choose Hotel Sultania for your Istanbul visit.
We are appreciate for your nice comment about our hotel.
It was a great pleasure for me to meet with you.
When you need any assistance for everything, please do not hesitate to contact with me again.

Kindest Regards,
GOKCE YILMAZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We booked a deluxe room. After arriving late after a long journey we were efficiently shown to our room. It was right next to the lift, which as it turned out was not a problem. The following morning we opened our windows (the first time we had even looked out of the curtains die to our late arrival). Our view was of the very shabby inner "quad" of the hotel. Also, it seems that being winter they turn off the A/C. Our room was stuffy and it was unseasonably warm. We did not want to open the window due to the 5am call to,prayers. The room itself was very nice and comfortable from a furnishing etc point of view. Just be warned about some of these minor irritants. Service and staff are all great and the breakfast offers a very wide variety of choices.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, The Management at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Our Dearest Guest,

We would like to thank you so much for your reviews about Hotel Sultania Istanbul.
It is a great pleasure for us to read it and thank you for sharing your opionions about our hotel on TripAdvisor with the people all over the world.
We would like to inform you that we took your feedback about the room and A/C to our records.
Hope to host you again in our hotel with an unforgettable memories.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Centrally located hotel with excellent customer service. We arrived way earlier than expected but were given our room and a free breakfast! The hotel guide was so helpful. The hotel was new, clean, and a pleasure to stay in. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yasmaksultanhotel, The Management at Hotel Sultania, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Our Dearest Guest,

We would like to thank you for your nice review about our hotel and staff.
We will be very happy to host you again for your next Istanbul visit.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 901 hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sultania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.