We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“belgian friends in istanbul” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lausos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lausos Hotel to your Saves list
Lausos Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Binbirbirek mah. Klodfarer caddesi, 33 | Sultanhmet (old city), Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
oud-tur
1 review
“belgian friends in istanbul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Six Belgians loved to stay in this hotel with its friendly staff that gave us a great service during our stay in Istanbul. We enjoyed the excellent Turkish breakfast, we slept in very tidy rooms. We were welcomed with a smile, we enjoyed to talk with the staff, we felt felt at home. The location of the hotel is super: Topkapi, The Grand Bazaar, Haghia Sophia, Blue Mosque... just a five minute walk, an ideal environment to get to know the Old and New Istanbul. Thanks again to Özkan and all the others. We will certainly return to this hotel for another visit of Istanbul. On behalf of the group, Jean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kkarakus, Director of Sales at Lausos Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from the Lausos hotel Istanbul—I hope this message finds you well!

Thank you very much for your review of your stay at our property. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the the breakfast, location and the hotel staff approach. Rest assured that your comments have been shared with our Management to recognize our colleagues' commitment to service.

Still, we are always eager to hear how we may improve. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any additional comments, as I would be eager to respond. Otherwise, we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm wishes,

Mustafa Özduman

Phone +902126380707
e-mail info@hotellausos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    100
    29
    3
    3
See reviews for
101
183
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ABD
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed at your hotel in last weeks. I’m still İn Turkey and nowadays I’m in Alaçatı for surfing. In general I’m pleased with your hotel. I can say that you are successful at reception and breakfast. Also, especially I would like to thank one of your employees for her effors and her effects on your firm. Miss Yasemin attracts attention with her friendly manner and high quality service manner. I would like to see her again in my next visiting to İstanbul. Could you tell her about my pleasure please?

Good work..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kkarakus, Director of Sales at Lausos Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Warm greetings from Lausos hotel Istanbul—I hope this message finds you well on your journey onwards!

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions of your most recent stay with us. We are very grateful to know what you value most about your stays and appreciate your encouraging words. We look forward to having you back soon and serving you in the future!

Please know that I would welcome any additional comments or questions you may have. Feel free to contact me directly, as I would be eager to assist!

Warm wishes,

Mustafa Özduman

Phone +902126380707
e-mail info@hotellausos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The hotel is very conveniently located - within walking distance of the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace and Basilica cistern, as well as souvenier shops. The Grand Bazaar, Spice market, Galata tower are a few stops of the (overground) metro from Sultanahmet stop - which again is within walking distance from the Hotel. We booked a double room which was small, clean and quiet - with a view of the minarets of the blue mosque. While the room had free wifi, there were parts of the room away from the door/corridor (closer to the window side) which had spottly wifi reception. The room size was a slight challenge to navigate within for 2 tall people and 1 checked in luggage, however it proved to be decent value for money and served as our base camp (as we planned to be outside most of the time). We were able to order free unlimited tea, coffee during the day as room service.The entire staff went out of their way to provide exceptional service - Ozkan and Cengiz at the front desk - to name a few. They lent us the metro card for us to recharge so we did not have to buy a new one at the magazine shop at extra charge. The daily delicious breakfast spread provided lots of options for vegetarians, and there were snacks and juices, thoughtfully left out during the day. Breakfast at the cozy outdoor terrace, watching a cat tending to her frolicking kitten, definitely made our mornings (you'll see tons of cats around the tourist spots !)

We loved our stay and look forward to returning
Venkat

Room Tip: Visitors from North America that are used to the bigger room sizes at the US hotel chains may want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kkarakus, Director of Sales at Lausos Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear .valubale guest,

We are very grateful that you took the time to submit your impressions about your recent stay with us. We are very aware of the value that comments such as yours have in regards to how we may improve and train to a higher standard. In particular, I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed the overall location and service provided by my colleagues.

Please know that I would be happy to hear from you with any additional comments or suggestions. Otherwise, I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm wishes,

Mustafa Özduman

Phone +902126380707
e-mail info@hotellausos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a great time in Istanbul. The hotel is located right in the old downtown close to the tourist sites but it was also easy to get to other areas of the city using public transportation. Helpful, friendly staff; excellent breakfast with snacks left out during the day; free internet; clean and quiet (small) room perfect for our needs; and a terrace area where we could gather with friends in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kkarakus, Director of Sales at Lausos Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Lausos hotel — IstanbuI hope that you have enjoyed a pleasant journey onwards from our city!

Thank you very much for taking the time from your day to share your impressions of your most recent stay with us. We are very grateful to know what aspects of your stay you valued most and what made your visit enjoyable. I am pleased to know that you had a good time and hope that we have the occasion to welcome you back

Please do not hesitate to contact me further with any questions, comments or concerns, as I would be happy to help!

Warm wishes

Mustafa Özduman,

+90212 6380707
info@hotellausos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

the hotel itself is so authentic ... staff very helpful and educated.

especially the terasse is so nice, view of our room was a nice bosphorus piece...

you feel like you are having a part of ottoman history for yourself.



special thanks to Yasemin for her interest to our family,


Richard & Marie

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kkarakus, Director of Sales at Lausos Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from Lausos hotel Istanbul—I hope this message finds you well on your journey onwards from Istanbul Turkey

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions from your most recent stay with us. We truly appreciate any and all feedback from our guests as we use them as an important tool in recognizing what our guests value most during their stays and how we may improve. I am especially grateful to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and to hear that my colleagues were genuinely helpful. I will be sure to share your comments with our Management, so they may be recognized for their commitment to service.

Please know that I would welcome any additional comments you may have about your stay. We look forward to having you back soon!

Warm wishes

Mustafa Özduman

Telephone +902126380707
e-mai.. l info@hotellausos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Although the location for this hotel truly met our expectations, we felt the hotel was misrepresented. When booking, and noted on our booking form, we were paying for a room with a view. We booked months in advance and arrived right at check in time. Our room wasn't ready and we were offered an " upgrade" which was a larger room ( not notably larger, and smaller than any of the pictures on the Internet) That was located on the first floor. No view, and certainly not like the rooms pictured. We asked for a view room and were told there were none available. The room we got was not worth the price we paid, even with the " upgrade." There are a lot of hotels in this area, I would suggest you can do better somewhere else.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kkarakus, Director of Sales at Lausos Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your valuable feedback
We are sorry that we were not able to give you a room with the great views. We only guarantee a nice view for the reservation of "double room with sea view" or "junior suite with sea view" the junior suites with sea view have the view of the Bosporus, Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. Double room with sea views has the marvelous view of Sea of Marmara. You have booked "double room with city view" and because of our occupation we were only able to give you a deluxe room with the view of garden terrace which is more expensive than "double room with city view"

We are looking forward to welcoming you again and to offer you the best of our products and services.

Sales Manager
Mustafa Özduman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We (three girls) spent an unbelievable time in Istanbul. The boutique hotel was perfect for our needs. Great location, comfortable rooms, free WiFi, very clean and fabulous breakfast. The staff went above and beyond to ensure our Turkish experience was a memorable one. Restaurant recommendations were spot on. Special mention to the smiling, charming very helpful front office staff Ozkan, Mustafa and Cenqiz. Hopefully we will come again next year.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kkarakus, Director of Sales at Lausos Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback and we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Your feedback is very valuable for us and we took it into consideration meanwhile we would be looking forward to welcoming you again at Lausos Hotel,

Mustafa Özduman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lausos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lausos Hotel

Address: Binbirbirek mah. Klodfarer caddesi, 33 | Sultanhmet (old city), Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lausos Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lausos Hotel Istanbul is a new boutique hotel located in the heart of the centuries old empires' capital. Neighbors of the Lausos Hotel Istanbul are the great St. Sophia, Blue Mosque, the Basilica Cistern, the Topkapi Palace, the Grand Bazaar, Islamic Arts Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lausos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lausos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.