We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ARES HOTEL REAL JEWIL ISTANBUL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ares Hotel Istanbul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ares Hotel Istanbul to your Saves list
Ares Hotel Istanbul
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alemdar Mah. Incili Cavus Sok. No:35 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“ARES HOTEL REAL JEWIL ISTANBUL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Just got back from Ares where we stayed at the Istanbull Oldcity . It was our first trip to Turkey and we wanted to make sure everything all t right. We were looking for a clean , friendly ,Our rooms little small and Open buffet breakfast was average , comfortable no-nonsense, and conveniently located hotel, in which we could feel welcome and humor Location was perfect for us. The owner and manager was very attentive and pleasant, especially Ayhan Salur, the manager very helpful! He really took an interest in us and gave some great Tour and restaurant recommendations. Ayhan arranged transportation from the Cruiseport to the hotelt, where we departed on a Ataturk Airport He also suggested a help for Cappadocia and Ephesus, which was located in the next block, for an all day tour. We were pleased with the travel agency staff, the tour guide and the price. The rooftop is an excellent place for views and coctail ; however,. We all agreed that if we return to Istanbul, and we hope we do, We cant wait to come back to Istanbul full of history and definitly iWewill stay again at Ares Hotel OLDCİTY

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ares_palmiye, General Manager at Ares Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very happy to hear that you had enjoyed your stay here , Ares Hotel Sultanahmet. We will be honored to welcome you again for your next visit to Istanbul , Turkey.
Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    61
    23
    17
    8
See reviews for
52
78
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

The room itself was very no-frills and had some major drawbacks. It was very small, and seemed clean enough but not especially clean. Noise from the street sounded as if it was happening right in the room and often woke me up early in the morning. The sink in the bathroom had some smelly mothballs in it when I checked in--I'm still confused about that. Overall the room felt sort of depressing.

The wifi was very spotty within the room, but worked okay in the lobby or restaurant downstairs.

The free breakfast was great: fresh, a lot of variety, and plenty of food.

Hotel staff were kind and helpful. I got charged an extra fee for using a credit card, which really aggravated me, but when I checked in it was midnight and I was exhausted and not in the mood to argue or understand his explanation.

The location is also great and very close to many of the most popular tourist destinations. However, the address of the hotel is on a small pedestrian-only side street. No taxi driver knows where this street is, and you will save yourself a LOT of aggravation if you look at a map online and find a nearby street address on the main road, and give that to cab drivers instead of the true address.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

This hotel is in a very good location. Many cafes and attractions within walking distance. We were able to walk to the Bazaar from this hotel. Mosques were maybe 2 block away. The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was free and a typical Middle Eastern cuisine. If you needed water or a soda to take with you while exploring the nearby sites, no problem, they gave it to you. Be aware the hotel is very hard to find but once there everything was perfect. If and when I go back I would surely stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are small - but quite comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ares_palmiye, Manager at Ares Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write your comments after your recent visit on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you had positive thoughts about your stay at our hotel and you found all of our team members to be very helpful. Comments such as yours are shared with all of our Team Members as an initiative to encourage them to continue their efforts in making our guests feel welcome and ensuring them a pleasant stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We checked in late in the evening and were expecting warm welcome and fast check in as were very tired. But we were really frustrated when instead of professionally looking and behaving receptionist we saw a middle aged man in striped shirt, playing Internet games in the lobby.

But to our surprise in the morning we were welcomed by a different receptionist - very neat, professionally looking and always smiling. He wished us a good morning and followed till the breakfast hall. And after the breakfast we were already enjoying our Turkish teas in the lobby in his company and getting all necessary information about Istanbul. So we can say he is doing a great job! In spite of the first night bad experience we spent lovely time in Ares hotel thanks to the day shift guy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

After some difficulty finding the hotel, I received a warm welcome. The staff were very kind and helpful to a single older woman. The hotel is small and next to the Basilica Cistern and across from the H. Sophia and within easy walking to the Blue Mosque, and next to the tram line. Most rooms are a decent size with a modern three piece bathroom, satellite t.v., and a bar fridge, but no phone. My single room was very small and with the exception that the toilet was in with the shower. This is not unusual but not always convenient. There is an elevator but it does not go right to the ground. You must walk down several short flights of stairs to the street. The breakfast was tasty and plentiful. The roof top restaurant is pleasant if somewhat plain, but the view was great.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ares_palmiye, Manager at Ares Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
First of all, we would like to thank you for the positive comments regarding your stay at Ares Hotel . We highly appreciate the time you spent on writing this review because the feedback of our guests is essential to continuously improve ourselves.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed , our breakfast , our location, as well as, our service, because the satisfaction of our guests is the best award we can receive for our daily work. Therefore, we hope to see you soon again at Ares Hotel.
With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Ares Hotel is a nice choice of a hotel because of the good combination of price and location. The hotel staff are also excellent and very polite. They will help you out with anything you need, and will make sure your stay is comfortable.

About the hotel: first of all, it's in a great location - two minutes from Sultanahmet tram station which connects you to various areas in the city; Aya Sofya and Sultan Ahmet Mosque are a short walk away. Now, the rooms are really small, but I guess that's how it is if you want a reasonable price at the prime location. Housekeeping does a good job at cleaning the room. Just like some others have mentioned, there is some unpleasant smell coming out of bathroom but I did notice that the housekeeping used some bleach-like substance to try and reduce that smell.

Wifi was spotty; I couldn't get a good signal at my room, so I had to go to the restaurant where the signal was strong. The top floor terrace has a wonderful view of Aya Sofya, but it is open only at night. Breakfast is a standard fare of bread, coffee or tea, jam, cheeses, olives, and vegetables. Nothing spectacular but a solid choice to start the day.

All in all, it is a good hotel, which I recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ares_palmiye, Manager at Ares Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
First of all, we would like to thank you for the positive comments regarding your stay at Ares Hotel . We highly appreciate the time you spent on writing this review because the feedback of our guests is essential to continuously improve ourselves.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the room, our breakfast , our location, as well as, our service, because the satisfaction of our guests is the best award we can receive for our daily work. Therefore, we hope to see you soon again at Ares Hotel.
With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We had a room that would have been small for just a single person and there were two twin beds cramed in. I had to crawl over one bed to get into the other one. The location couldn't have been any better. we were able to walk anywhere we wanted to go. The tram line was convenient if you wanted to ride it. The employees were very helpful and spoke English quiet well. We were not able to eat breakfast before leaving for the airport so they made sandwiches for us to take with us.

Room Tip: iAll that I saw were small
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ares Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ares Hotel Istanbul

Address: Alemdar Mah. Incili Cavus Sok. No:35 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ares Hotel Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ares Hotel Istanbul is a 3 star hotel offering classically decorated, luxurious rooms right in the centre of Istanbul's old city. Staying here, you've got it all at your fingertips, since the main historical and cultural attractions are within short walking distance of the hotel, such as the Bosphorus, Topkapi Palace, Haghia Sophia, and the Blue Mosque. In fact, from the terrace of the Ares Hotel, you can enjoy panoramic views of all of the above, and more sights of Istanbul. Taking a walk around this area, you'll also find plenty of restaurants, shops, and other things to do and see. There are 21 spacious and comfortable rooms in total in this elegant hotel, with the choice between staying in a single, twin, double, or triple room. All of the rooms have private bathrooms, and you'll also find all the amenities you'll need, such as hair-dryer, safety deposit box, heating, air-conditioning, telephone, TV, and Wi-Fi Internet. Also, the list of the hotel's services include a left-luggage office, 24 hour reception, restaurant, bar/café, and a TV lounge. Finally, the icing on the cake is that your breakfast is included in the price of your stay. A private car park is also available (extra charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ares Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ares Hotel Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.