We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsatisfactory cleanliness” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Masal Apart

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Masal Apart to your Saves list
Masal Apart
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Binbirdirek Mah. Su terazisi Sok. No:27, Istanbul, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #164 of 850 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Unsatisfactory cleanliness”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The apartment was well-furnished and spacious, it was also very close to the tourist attractions in the old town. Check-in during the middle of the night was possible.
Unfortunately, hygiene was not acceptable. Lots of hair could be seen everywhere on the floor, no matter it's in the living room, open kitchen, bathroom or bedroom. The inside compartments of the wardrobe were covered with dust. There were stains in the toilet bowl and basin. What more terrible was the kitchen utensils, including the pots and plates were all greasy, I had to wash them before using.
One minor problem, the house keeper had difficulty in understanding even simple English (e.g. in the morning vs at night). You'd better write down everything for her.
Failed to provide a reasonably clean environment, this apartment definitely charged too much.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
masalapart, Gerente at Masal Apart, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado housped,
Hemos totalmente reformado,pintado y amueblado el Masal Apart hace poco. Nos importa mucho lo que opina la gente y sus comentarios.
Tenemos una direccion y personal nueva.
Como que lo mas importante es la limpieaza para nosotros hemos tambien cambiado el equipo de limpieza.
Espero verles pronto de nuevo en Masal Apart, estaran bienvenidos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
10
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I good beat on about the GREAT location and FAB view! And how we were a few minutes walk from everything and how lovely and friendly the housekeeper was but I will just mention good old honesty!
We booked a taxi through the owner Serkan for our return to Sabiha Gocken, My friend had left his phone in the taxi and immediately very worried we contacted Serkan. He was absolutely fabulous. He located the phone, called us back and then sent it via courier delivery. After asking repeatedly to pay for postage Serkan being as humble as he is declined. Money will be put into a charity box for this. Istanbul is a beautiful city and this apartment made it more magical. There are not many honest people anymore, I thank Serkan and the taxi driver for their honesty.
I am definately returning later this year to the same apartment!!! ABSOLUTELY FAB!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

The Masal apartments are only a 3min walk from the Blue Mosque! Great location and excellent value for money. Based in the old town on a small street, its a hidden gem! We were very comfortable and loved the fact we could walk most places. Taxis are cheap otherwise, but make sure you go on the meter rather than negotiate a price (taxis on the meter are very cheap). The staff member on site had little English, but was extremely helpful and changed the towels everyday. This is a 10 out of 10 apartment !

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newyork
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

We arrived late one evening at the Istanbul airport and were greeted by the shuttle service the hotel had arranged We would definitely recommend the Masal Apart for its central location.Will definitely come back to this Apart it's in an ideal location, the blue mosque is about 5 minutes walk, lots of restaurants and bars in the area and about 10 minutes to the nearest tram stop. Definetly recomend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

We stayed in apartment 2 at the hotel for 10 days. The beds were more comfortable than the few other European beds that we have slept on. The few down sides to the apartment were as follows. Our "King" bed was two twin size beds pushed together. If you need someone to assist you in finding things to do and suggestions, this is not the hotel for you. This is entirely a self service hotel. We were not even left a decent map in the hotel room. We had to go to another hotel which was owned by the same company in order to check out. The bathroom smelled bad at times but I think that was due to the bathrooms not having traps in the sink or shower. Also you could hear the other guests occasionally.
Mehmet, the gentleman who cleaned and took care of the apartment/hotel complex from 8-6, was nice and helpful. The rooms were cleaned everyday. We did not have any major problems. The rooms were nice sized and we had a washing machine in the apartment. Our apartment had a kitchen and breakfast table. We also had a separate bedroom which was nice when one of us had difficulty sleeping.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Masal Apart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masal Apart

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Su terazisi Sok. No:27, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 850 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Masal Apart 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Masal Apart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masal Apart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.