We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So wonderful, we are already planning on returning to Galateia Residence!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galateia Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Galateia Residence to your Saves list
Galateia Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sahkulu Bostan Sk, No: 9 - 11 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34420, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 980 Hotels in Istanbul
New York City
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So wonderful, we are already planning on returning to Galateia Residence!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We (myself, husband and our 2 children ages 10 and 15 years old) just returned to New York City after staying 8 nights at Istanbul's wonderful Galateia Residence. We rented the 2 bedroom, 2 bath, 4th floor flat which had a great view of the Bosphorus from the master bedroom and ensuite bathroom. The flat was very roomy, clean and comfortable, and had a well equipped kitchen allowing us to eat breakfast in daily, (and prepare lunch or dinner had we wanted to.) After a marathon day of sightseeing, we were all so happy to return to our "home" at Galateia Residence every evening.

The location of the flat was perfect for our needs. We took the tram most days to the sights in the Old City, but if one were super-motivated, you could walk down the hill and across the Galata bridge to many of the major sights (approx 60 minute walk to Hagia Sofia?). The hip, trendy Beyoglu neighborhood where the flat is located had so many fantastic restaurants (found through a terrific food guide titled: Istanbul Eats by Ansel Mullins and Yigal Schleifer which I highly suggest foodies pick up!!) that we ate out every meal with the exception of breakfast.

What made the stay at Galateia extra special was the wonderful staff which included: Serhat, Cagri, Emel and Nurhan who were all incredibly accommodating and did everything that they could to make our stay more comfortable. They made restaurant reservations, booked taxis, helped us with public transport and gave us great leads to the lesser-known sights and sounds of Istanbul, and helped communicate special requests to housekeeping. They were all top-notch!

Though we just returned this morning from Istanbul, we are already planning our visit back to this dynamic, complex city and to our "home" at Galateia Residence!!

Room Tip: Fourth floor flat fantastic for a family of 4. Serhat arranged for a cot in the second bedroom for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    19
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
52
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiinankaupunki
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

friendlly and helpfull staff, fluent in english, and ready to quicklly fix any trouble or fullfill a request. Just that was worth the expense, but you get on top a huge apartment, spotless clean, modern and most comfortable. You can go to a hotel in the old town and squeeze yourself in a 12 square meters old room, or you can go to Galateia and get 90 square meters of heated floors and a 2x2 meters latex bed, just next to a whole mile of car free shops and restaurants in neoclasical buildings; the choice is yours.

Room Tip: there are no bad rooms here guys, it is a no brainer ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights from March 17-21st. We booked the smallest apt available but in reality, the space was massive. Lots of room for 2 people. We booked through bookings.com and had written a list of requirements and the hotel actually listened and heeded all our requests. They were very helpful in doing laundry for us and helping us to book a bospherous cruise through Grayline tours. (FYI: Give that tour a miss and go it your own, not worth the cost for the tour...through no fault of Galateia Hotel!) On the day of our check-out, the manager made the personal effort to wish us off and during our check-in, they provided free fruits and personalized stationery which is going one step above and beyond the usual hotel experience.

The only 'cons' to watch out for are pricing. All prices quoted for tours, mini-bar, private car and laundry is in Euros and not Turkish Lira. Also, there was not enough towels or toilet paper daily but that was a minor problem as staff were quick to replenish supplies upon request.

We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Be sure to list out what type of room (i.e. floor, location, etc.) you would like as they are quick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Galateia is wonderfull located, close to Galata Tower and to metro and tram stations. Although Istikal street is just up the street the place is quiet. There are a lot of shops and restaurants in the neighbourhood but only small places to buy food so cooking a real meal is not easy. WI-FI internet works everywere and the bathroom is not only modern and spacious but very confortable.

Room Tip: We stayed at the 3 floor apartment with a mezzanine. The bedroom is spacious has lots of light and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

In a very quiet street but Tunel tram station is only a minute of walk away. No taxi driver can find the whereabouts of the street but u can ask for Tunel station and just walk a bit if u hv no luggage. But your main visit will be mainly Old istanbul. This hotel is less convenient.

The room (apartment) is very spacious and very clean. Some rooms are in renovation too so they are now newly refurbished. The kitchen comes with everything u need for cooking and dining. The service is almost wonderful except they left behind a top did not belong to us in our laundry and gave us a shopping bag did not belong to us when we left. That was a bit worrying. Otherwise, their service is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Although there were some initial bumps with our reservations, the staff at the Galateia Residence went above and beyond to make sure we felt welcomed and all issues were resolved. As with the pictures posted up of the place, they do not do it justice. The space is modern, comfortable, and new (the shower is great!). It's also, in my opinion, in the best location possible. The metro station is literally right up the street and you're super close to the tram that takes you to Sultanahmet and the older areas (which I wouldn't stay in for the fact that it's way too crowded there and hard to get in and out if you need to take a taxi). Istiklal, one of the liveliest places in Istanbul, with shops, restaurants, and amazing night life also feels right outside the building as it's so close, but as Galateia is slightly off of Istiklal, you still get the quiet and access to taxis (no cars on Istiklal). All that aside, the staff at Galateia are some of the nicest people we met in Istanbul. Always happy to help with directions, advice on where to shop and eat, and just great people. We really enjoyed our stay and if I ever make the trip out to Istanbul again, I'll be sure to stay here!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Super nice/clean, good location, excellent service, good price. It's my second time in Istanbul and I strongly recommend Galateia residence > i think it's hard to find better.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galateia Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galateia Residence

Address: Sahkulu Bostan Sk, No: 9 - 11 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#132 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#137 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Galateia Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galateia Residence - Short Term & Long Term Rental Apartments with one bedroom, two bedroom and duplex options. Located in the heart of the city very close to all attractions in two adjacent original Pera buildings Demiriz & Haci Sayid with a total of 13 apartments.-Luxury bedrooms with 200X200cm king size bed designed for ultimate comfort,-Extra large wardrobes, ironing sets,-Fully equipped kitchen with large refrigerator, oven, dishwasher, microwave, kettle, toaster, cooking and dining utilities,-Bosporus & Old city view stylish living room - CableTV, -Landline phones, -Safe Box,-Free wireless internet connection,-En-suite bathroom, private elegant bath accessories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Galateia Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galateia Residence Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galateia Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.