We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice break!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Faros Restaurant Sultanahmet

Faros Restaurant Sultanahmet
Divanyolu Cad. No: 76 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey
0212 256 99 11
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #256 of 11,078 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, International, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Description: A Unique Feast In the PeninsulaStarting the day with open buffet breakfast, the Faros Restaurant menu offer ıts customers a wide variety of choices. From garlic mushroom to prawn casserole, pizza to salmon tagliatelle, cokertme ( sirloin veal kebab stuffed with yogurt and and potatoes) to crepe.Exclusively, with our freshly made cocktails, you can converse in the garden while inhaling the historical peninsula’s mystical air.Sharing Your EnthusiasmFaros Restaurant is also a meeting point for sports enthusiasts. Current matches are shown on full HD vide screen LCD televisions. Friendly and experienced staff are at your service in order for you to have a pleasant time and to share your enthusiasm while delivering great hospitality
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice break!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stopped there after a long day of strolling around Istanbul and tried fabulously delicious Turkish pistachio pastries accompanied by the real coffee - not that easy to find in Turkey at times.
The atmosphere was very relaxing and staff friendly and welcoming to add on positive flavours to our break after a busy day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Faros Restaurant Sultanahmet, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your inspiring comments. Thank you for choosing Faros, you are welcome any time.

All the best,
Faros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    140
    43
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“what a kick!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is one place that does not take itself too seriously, to say the least. the host of the restaurant, often accompanied by one or more waiters, really WORK the passers-by to bring them into the restaurant. Pouring on tons of charm and no little amount of flirtation, they success often not only in securing patrons, but also in engendering lots of smiles, laughs, and good times.

There is limited outdoor seating, but the indoor area, though simply designed, is more than adequate. The menu is comprehensive, boasting lots of traditional Turkish favorites along with basic international standards so there is something for everyone.

I love the fact that they have smoothies and milk shakes -- great for the hot, humid summer nights.

One of the better selections of desserts for a restaurant this size, the food comes out quickly and is consistently of good to very good quality.

Neither the most elegant or traditional place in Istanbul, but you are made to feel welcome and comfortable from the first moment, and the menu and food do not disappoint.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Faros Restaurant Sultanahmet, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

We really appreciate your inspiring comments. Thank you for choosing Faros, you are welcome any time. Your good thoughts really mean a lot to us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service, highly recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had dinner at Faros Restaurant three times during our week in Istanbul...the menu offers a broad selection, we chose the traditional Turkish options and were very happy with each meal (which is why we went so many times!) In addition to the delicious meals, the service was great and we enjoyed eating outside. There are several restaurants in this area and Faros is definitely the best!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Faros Restaurant Sultanahmet, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your inspiring comments. Thank you for choosing Faros, you are welcome any time.

All the best,
Faros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“great cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

They had two cocktails for the price of one and if you are staying at the hotel a further 15%discount so great value for money. And they make great cocktails. A fun place to sit and watch the street life. Also have a wide variety of great food. Highly recommend.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous end to our best holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had our final dinner here with our travelling companions. It was superb, great fun and a wonderful way to end a fabulous trip. We sat outside and were extremely well looked after. Thank you

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Faros Restaurant Sultanahmet also viewed

 

Been to Faros Restaurant Sultanahmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faros Restaurant Sultanahmet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.