We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They really take care of you in Amira” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amira Istanbul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Amira Istanbul to your Saves list
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafapasa Sok. No 43 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 981 Hotels in Istanbul
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“They really take care of you in Amira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

It's a lovely realtively small family owned hotel, great location, very safe neighborhood, 10 min walk from the Blue Mosque and 15 min from St. Sophia. Everything in this hotel is really thought through, everything looks new, stylish and very good quality. There are reading lights above your bed and Ipod playstation on the night table, there is a complementary bottle of water in your room every day and a tea/coffee tray with a tea kettele and supplies also refilled daily.

The breakfast/cafe area also serves as a cosy livingroom, with a Mac computer, TV, fireplace, books about Turkey, guidebooks, just things to read - also a nice surprise. There is free Wi Fi all over the hotel. There is also complementary tea and cakes served there at 5 pm. The terrace on the roof has nice views, but it was too cold when we were there, must be lovely in the spring or summer...We haven't tried their fitness area, so can't comment on that. The stuff is really helpful and friendly. As soon as we arrived Natali, one of the stuff members, provided us not just with a city map, but also with a detailed orientation in the city, explained to us everything we wanted to know, about transport, sights, weather, excursions, booked us a Bosphorus boat tour (a must), we were really happy with everything she recommended and with the way she took care of us every day, asked if we needed anything, checked schedule of events for us, we always knew we had someone to ask if we needed something...
The people at the reception are also really friendly, always smiling and helpful. You can change money and buy transport tokens from them too. Basically this is a hotel where someone actually thought of what a traveler may need in Istanbul and provided it all.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,781
    219
    17
    1
    1
See reviews for
284
1,130
116
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

This is a great hotel, boutique style, small and personal with great service. In stayed there for 3 nights, we had a large room with two double beds and big bathroom. Room was clean, nicely decorated and very comfortable. Rate included a lovely breakfast buffet, everything was fresh and hand made. In the afternoon, you can pop in for a complimentary tea or coffee and cake, homemade cake, always a winner! In fact on our last day before going to the airport, we did some work in the cafe area and they served us cappuccinos, cake and the Turkish coffee all on the house... Really nice touch! Location is great, very close to the Blue Mosque, Ayasofya and other attractions. On the roof there is a nice terrace with lovely views across Istanbul, would be lovely in Spring and Summer. Neighbourhood is really nice, lots of restaurants and cute shops in the surrounding area. Overall this is a lovely hotel, would recommend and will definitely return...

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

I read glowing reviews of Amira before deciding to stay and the reviews are pretty accurate.
Excellent location but a few minutes walk to the tram.
Hotel decor is funky, modern and the free wifi is greatly appreciated.
The staff is a delight and other reviews are not exagerated. They are truly warm and friendly.
Highly recommended and I have stayed in a whole range of hotels around the world from the finest 5 star hotels, beautiful boutique hotels to scary hotels in India.
Go enjoy Amira and the richness of the culture and history of Istanbul.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

Very well located hotel, at walking distance from Topkapi and surroundings.
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Rooms are large and well decorated. Sound proof from street noise is quite good.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

The staff are amazing!!! The breakfast is amazing!!! The location is amazing!!!

BONUS: For those of you who needs to ship extra stuff back home, UPS is only 10 meters across the street!!! Try to beat that!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

I've enjoyed my stay at Hotel Amira. The service was superb with a fantastic staff[everyone is smiling and always courteous]. The location is great, a very short distance to the blue mosque, hagia sophia, and Topkapi Palace. It is located at sultanahmet which has incredible restaurants(e.g. khorasani, sarnic(authentic ottoman)) and you can even walk to the grand bazaar and about 3 or 4 short tram stops to the spice market at eminonu.
also, the hotel has excellent spa&message service. Once you book it, you get a relaxed message with sauna&jacuzzi reserved for you....We've particularly enjoyed this service especially after walking all day around the town and exploring different parts of istanbul.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Our stay our the Hotel Amira, Istanbul was without words, one of the best trips ever. It had to do with the Hotel staff and hospitality. The location is great (walking diatance to most points of interest) and the taxi station is jsut across the street if you need a taxi. The hotel is a great Boutique Hotel with only stories and a roof top terrace. But the staff makes this place "the" place to stay. The rooms area very nice and comfortable and large comparing European hotels. The buffet breakfast lets you start your day off in style. We had the staff make out boat cruise and turkish bath reservations. They were very helpful in suggesting all types of acitivites and points of interest to see. We highly recommend this hotel to all of our friends and other individuals wanting a nice and reasonable place to stay. They get a "thumbs up" in my book. Sincerely,

Vicki and Larry Galbreath
Harlingen, Texas
Via Abu Dhabi, UAE

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amira Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amira Istanbul

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafapasa Sok. No 43 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 981 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amira Istanbul is a boutique hotel located at the heart of the centuries old empires' capital. Some remarkable neighbors of the Hotel Amira Istanbul are the great Hagia Sophia, the magnificent Blue Mosque, the mystic Basilica Cistern, the imperial Topkapi Palace and the colorful Grand Bazaar. Amira Hotel offers you spaciously designed 32 rooms in Sultanahmet area, featuring very comfortable visco mattresses, local touches like ottoman style hand-made ceiling paintings and high-tech amenities such as mobile wireless internet modem that you can use also outside the property while discovering Istanbul . Along with its world famous cordial guest services, Amira Hotel offers a rich , complimentary buffet breakfast and a tasty 5 O'clock tea treats, free Wi-Fi access, a business corner with featuring an iMac, in house ATM machine, a wellness center that includes a gym, jacuzzi, sauna and massage services. Also our concierge would be more than happy to assist you in every aspect of your stay, whether business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Amira Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amira Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.