We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent boutique hotel in Sultanahmet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amira Istanbul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Amira Istanbul to your Saves list
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafapasa Sok. No 43 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique hotel in Sultanahmet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Second time at the Hotel Amira where the service and staff are outstanding and what make the hotel special. Standard rooms are a bit small but certainly adequate; the deluxe rooms have ample space. They serve afternoon team every day which is a lovely perk and the breakfast buffet is extensive with a nice selection of breads and hot offerings too. Lovely rooftop terrace with nice views of the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,631
    206
    17
    1
    1
See reviews for
251
1,046
104
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aix-en-Provence, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Lovely quiet rooms with the best staff we have ever found at a hotel (and particularly the two ladies on reception) located close to everything. Highlights were the introduction to Istanbul we got on arrival, help in finding kid friendly ways to experience Istanbul (we have 4 kids from 6 to 14 years old), great afternoon tea and breakfast included in our room rate.
We moved to Amira from another hotel close by after its qualities were grossly exaggerated in some questionable Trip Advisor reviews. Amira were wonderful. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: All rooms were quiet from our chats with other guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flitnshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Had a brilliant 3 night stay. Staff excellent, roof top terrace amazing, central location and will definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Just one small issue for us was hotel drinks would be better priced in TL rather than in euros.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

As a gay / LGBT traveller, I was (unnecessarily) concerned about booking a smaller / boutique hotel in Istanbul and almost opted for one of the large hotel chains.

I am glad that I didn't because this hotel is a true gem. The staff go out of their way to ensure you are settled-in, comfortable with the city and get the most out of your time with them. Examples include a drink and briefing on arrival, staffed breakfast buffet, willingness to arrange cabs and give instructions to taxi drivers, arrange hammam visits and recommend local restaurants.

The hotel is perfectly located, within easy walking distance to the large sites in the old part of the city, including the Blue Mosque.

Before booking I was unable to find information on whether this hotel is gay / LGBT friendly but can happily confirm that they are.

I would gladly stay at the Amira again and would definitely recommend it to friends.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Location location location. Easy walking distance to most attractions in Istanbul. Staff were excellent, recommend the half day walking tour to the Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar. The tour was great, small group of 10, I am not a hop on the big bus with 50 people fan. I would recommend The tours suggested by the hotel when you receive your itinerary. Breakfast terrific, great array of food, all fresh and beautifully presented. The roof top terrace overlooking the Sea was a lovely place to sit, unwind and enjoy a drink after a full day out and about. Rooms cosy and clean, lovely robes, towels and toiletries. Wi -Fi worked really well, had no issues with connecting or staying connected. Emre was superb on check in advising were to go in my limited 3 days in Istanbul. If there were 2 gripes about the lovely Amira Hotel, the spa should be free to use and no charge of 25 Euro per person for 1 hour. my bathroom was really small, the door and shower door were difficult to open and close due to the lack of space. I believe other rooms have bigger bathrooms so ask. Would have no hesitation in recommending or coming back.

Room Tip: Room 302 has a small bathroom. Is ok for 1 person which I believe it is designated for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We booked online thru bookings.com after a recommendation from trip advisor and by far the service, rooms, front desk, staff and breakfast were the best we have seen in Europe. Nothing was too hard and every recommendation was spot on.
Thank you to all the staff you were amazing.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Hotel is located in the old town and it is around 10 min walk to all the major attractions, like Sultanahmet mosque, Hagia Sofia etc.
The room was spacious, clean and has all the necessary amenities. Free wi-fi which works good. The personnel at the reception was very very helpful and friendly which was unexpected (since it is not a big brand hotel..). Super easy to find a taxi as there is a taxi parking spot just across the street from the hotel.
In the afternoon hotel offers free tea time with snack and sweets, it was a nice touch! I definitely recommend this hotel! Great for a leisure

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amira Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amira Istanbul

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafapasa Sok. No 43 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amira Istanbul is a boutique hotel located at the heart of the centuries old empires' capital. Some remarkable neighbors of the Hotel Amira Istanbul are the great Hagia Sophia, the magnificent Blue Mosque, the mystic Basilica Cistern, the imperial Topkapi Palace and the colorful Grand Bazaar. Amira Hotel offers you spaciously designed 32 rooms in Sultanahmet area, featuring very comfortable visco mattresses, local touches like ottoman style hand-made ceiling paintings and high-tech amenities such as mobile wireless internet modem that you can use also outside the property while discovering Istanbul . Along with its world famous cordial guest services, Amira Hotel offers a rich , complimentary buffet breakfast and a tasty 5 O'clock tea treats, free Wi-Fi access, a business corner with featuring an iMac, in house ATM machine, a wellness center that includes a gym, jacuzzi, sauna and massage services. Also our concierge would be more than happy to assist you in every aspect of your stay, whether business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Amira Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amira Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.