We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amira Istanbul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Amira Istanbul to your Saves list
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafapasa Sok. No 43 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 981 Hotels in Istanbul
Ridgewood, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly. We stayed only one night, but liked the staff and the location. It's a good value for the price, and we would stay there again. The neighborhood had lots of good places to eat nearby and the hotel is not far from the Blue Mosque, the Grand Bazaar, etc.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,781
    219
    17
    1
    1
See reviews for
284
1,130
116
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Hotel Amira was a welcome treat! This was our first visit to Istanbul, Turkey and we could not have chosen a more perfectly located hotel with exceptional customer service. Our transportation arrangements from the airport were made through the hotel and met our needs adequately. The exterior appearance of Hotel Amira does not do the property justice. My husband was actually a bit concerned, having never been to Istanbul before, as to rather or not we were staying in a very good location and/or property. His concerns were put to rest upon entering the front doors of said property. All of the hotel personnel were warm and inviting. They were extremely knowledgeable, helpful and kind. The front desk staff provide every guest an opportunity to sit down with them and get acquainted with the surrounding area, transportation modes, sights, etc. Our room was very clean, modern and quiet (even though it looked out over the square in front of the property). The wireless internet was flawless. The fitness center was up to date, clean and functional. The included complimentary breakfast was incredible with too many options to mention. The rooftop terrace had a priceless view. We booked a couple of tours through the front desk. Our group tour was less than perfect which we expressed to the front desk, upon our return, suggesting they find a different provider for this tour. Unbeknownst to us, at checkout, we noticed the hotel had credited us for half the group tour cost because of our displeasure. The private tour was terrific. The guide was prompt, informative and easy to understand. Well worth the additional cost to avoid being herded like cattle. Overall our stay at Hotel Amira was an absolute delight. The property and the staff are both exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Waverley, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

What a fabulous boutique hotel in a perfect location! The staff, especially Ajay (think Robert Downey Jnr lookalike!) were professional, knowledgable and super friendly while assisting with itineraries and any other queries. Nothing was too much trouble for them!
Our room (around the corner from reception) was amazingly spacious & beautifully appointed with everything we could possibly want, including double/double glazed French doors (2 sets per window) which kept it quiet. The buffet breakfast was a perfect mix of western & local delicacies. The rooftop terrace which is stylishly & sumptuously decorated has sweeping views of the Maramar Sea, mosque minarets, etc etc.
Staying at Hotel Amira, we were within easy walking distance from the major tourist attractions.
Absolutely beautiful hotel, we can't recommend it highly enough!!!! We've already told our friends that it's THE place to stay in Istanbul!

Room Tip: Our room was around the corner from reception & on the front corner of the building. Amazingly q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the Amira hotel in early July.
This was a great location in Istanbul.
Very nice room and well decorated.
Very friendly staff.
Very well situated to all interesting sites in historic Istanbul.
The brea


We would return with great pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Hotel Amira was beautiful, customer service was amazing. They really get you right from the start. I was met by Ajay and was given a very comprehensive overview of Istanbul, how to get around, FAQs, hotel amenities etc. They make things very easy and convenient including tokens for the metro. They have tea time daily - equivalent to happy hour I suppose. Breakfast was good. The hotel itself was just aesthetically very pleasing. WHile it is located in Old Istanbul and well within walking distance to Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, underground Cistern and the Hippodrome, so are other hotels as well - and they were probably closer and in somewhat better locations. However what sets Hotel Amira apart is the really truly wonderful customer service and the hotel itself. I travelled to Istanbul solo and I was very comfortable staying there by myself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

This was our second hotel in Istanbul--we first stayed at Basileus, which we also loved. Amira is so very special. Primo location, breathtaking terrace view, staff who cannot do enough for you, amazing breakfast and afternoon tea, and even 2 complimentary drinks. I'd give this place a 10 if I could. Chic and fun, it's located on a quiet street near the Arasta Bazaar and Blue Mosque. Stay there!! (Did I mention free wireless?)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I have been relying on guests' reviews in TripAdvisor to make hotel selection with good experiences, so, it was no exception for our recent per-tour visit to Istanbul. I picked Amira because of near non-existence negative reviews comparing to the positive ones. I read thousands of reviews for this visit because not only it's our first time visit, but also, a country that we don't know the language. We wanted a place that is clean, comfortable, close to Blue mosque, and safe in old city. I am happy to report: not only Amira offers all that, but also, with its wonderful and knowledgable staff, especially, A.J.

He set the happy tone for our visit starting from the check-in. We arrived before their check-out time, so, the room was not ready; but, he gave us an upgrade which was unexpected, but, most welcome; then he marked on the map while giving a very detailed overviews about what to see, how to get there (which tokens to use, and made them available which is very helpful), where to eat, what to be careful about, and recommendations to what we wanted to do. And, of course, the complimentary drinks.. Then, our room was ready; A.J. took us to the room which again was a nice touch; he showed things in the room and offered free adapters if we needed which we did and appreciated.

One other amazing thing that A.J. did for us was: based on the Blue mosque image I found from the Internet, he used the 3D mapping (while I was watching) to locate the exact hotel restaurant, called them, and explained to them what we plan to do; so, when we arrived almost half hour earlier than the reserved time, we were welcome to go up to their roof for the most amazing views, especially, the Blue mosque; we stayed there for more than 3 hours and got the exact shots I found and many more. Thank you so much, A.J., you made our first visit to Istanbul such a memorable one.

P.S. while walking around, Süleymaniye Mosque, we came across this Turkish restaurant, Daruzziyafe; our grilled lamb chops were full of flavor and tender; the Shepard's lamb stews was nice, fresh, and good balance of flavor.

Very Happy/satisfied guests from Beltsville, Maryland. USA.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amira Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amira Istanbul

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafapasa Sok. No 43 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 981 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amira Istanbul is a boutique hotel located at the heart of the centuries old empires' capital. Some remarkable neighbors of the Hotel Amira Istanbul are the great Hagia Sophia, the magnificent Blue Mosque, the mystic Basilica Cistern, the imperial Topkapi Palace and the colorful Grand Bazaar. Amira Hotel offers you spaciously designed 32 rooms in Sultanahmet area, featuring very comfortable visco mattresses, local touches like ottoman style hand-made ceiling paintings and high-tech amenities such as mobile wireless internet modem that you can use also outside the property while discovering Istanbul . Along with its world famous cordial guest services, Amira Hotel offers a rich , complimentary buffet breakfast and a tasty 5 O'clock tea treats, free Wi-Fi access, a business corner with featuring an iMac, in house ATM machine, a wellness center that includes a gym, jacuzzi, sauna and massage services. Also our concierge would be more than happy to assist you in every aspect of your stay, whether business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Amira Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amira Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.