We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Take my phone!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amira Istanbul

Save Saved
You added Hotel Amira Istanbul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Amira Istanbul
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafapasa Sok. No 43 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 915 hotels in Istanbul
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Take my phone!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great little hotel near Hagia Sophia and Sultanahmet (Blue mosque), nice breakfast, airport bus service just 10 meters away across the street. We were put in a great LARGE, bright room (#801) at the very top of the building; but the best views are from the rooftop terrace. Wifi worked great, though there's an iMac in the lounge that's also very convenient. The staff, however, is what really stands out at the Amira: they were beyond helpful. When we asked for directions to a restaurant in Beyoglu and the googlemaps printout was a little hard to read, the front desk attendant insisted we take his iPhone --"it has Google maps, and I'm not using it." Wow.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,500
    189
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
238
952
97
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, RS
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed at Amira for 6 nights in my trip to Turkey and I have to say this hotel is perfect. I agree with all the previous reviews. This hotel deserves to be nr 1 in Trip Advisor.
The big diference here is the staff. Since the check-in's moment they are allways avaiable to explaining everything about the city, attractions, restaurants and good tips. Even the "jetons" for the public transport they have in reception for the guests, this is very convenient and after they charge the regular price on bill.
Burak and JJ, the front desk's guys are just amazing.
The rooms are very spacious with daily complimentary bottle of water, cofee and tea machine.Some people told about the noise but in our case we could sleep very well in all nights.
Free internet wifi in all hotel.
Also the complimentary tea time every afternoon is delightful.
I definetly recomending this hotel for that people who want to have a unforgetable experience in Istanbul.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This Hotel has lovely Turkish decor. It is located within easy walking distance of the Blue Mosque, Spice Bazaar and all the old city sites as well as the hop on hop off bus tour.

Staff were very helpful and arranged touring for us whenever we asked. The taxi depot is across the road so you always have a taxi available.

There is another hotel with a similar name a few streets away, so make sure you have their business card with you or write down the address to avoid confusion.

You will love this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I absolutely love the decor in this hotel. Very chic and modern, but comfortable at the same time. The room which we opted for was just a standard room but it is extremely spacious, with seating area and writing desks. The bed was large and comfortable and the bathroom is pleasant.

The hospitality given by the staffs were marvelous. The staffs were very jovial and would recommend the best places to go in the city. They suggested the Cemberlitas hamam which was a wonderful experience, a must go! They also have the tram coins so you can buy the tram at the hotel.

There is a rooftop terrace that you can go to and it is a wonderful spot to take panoramic view of the city and the Bosphorus. Breakfast has a wide selection and they also offer tea break in the evening. Wifi is extremely good. I had no problems with connections during our stay.

The location is very near to the Blue Mosque and Hippodrome and Hagia Sophia. But it would take about 20 mins to walk to Grand Bazaar and it would be quite hilly.

Definitely recommend this hotel to everyone, couples or families. Very romantic atmosphere but large enough to cater for families too.

Room Tip: The standard room is big enough for 2 person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

So glad we booked Hotel Amira; thanks to all the other TA reviewers for leading us to this great hotel. Service was fantastic, beginning with arrival where you are wisked up to the rooftop terrace to complete your registration. Gentle, easy process that takes place as you overlook the city & the Bosphorus, accompanied with a drink of your choice. And it just keeps getting better. Lovely rooms, very clean, super comfortable beds, nice bathrooms, great breakfast every morning, and that terrace: was up there every day, especially at sunset. Wow! Hotel location is a short walk up the the Blue Mosque & Hagia Sophia; lots of very good restaurants within short walking distance & about 2 blocks down to the sea. With their very reasonable prices, hard to beat Hotel Amira! (Note: my review is tardy; stayed there OCT 2012.)

Room Tip: If a couple, spend a little extra & go for larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in March. Splashed out a bit on a deluxe room, but it was worth every penny. Breakfast and compliementary afternoon tea/cakes was excellent. Room was incredibly spacious with the best power rainfall shower i've ever had! Great decor, and incredibly helpful staff. All front desk staff and restaurant staff were extremely helpful, polite and friendly. (Also have to say one of the female receptionists (whose name I can't remember) is stunningly pretty!).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Hotel Amira is lovely. Great location, excellent customer service, spacious rooms, tea and ample breakfast buffet included. Love the roof deck. Close to everything - all within walking distance, and you do want to walk in Istanbul.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amira Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amira Istanbul

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafapasa Sok. No 43 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 915 hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Amira Istanbul 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amira Istanbul offers you the most spacious design rooms in the old city , with very comfortable visco mattresses, high-tech amenities like complementary mobile wireless internet modem , i-pod docking stations and local touches like hand-made ceiling paintings .These rooms are tailor made for your contentment . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Amira Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amira Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.