We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class Act Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amira Istanbul

Save Saved
You added Hotel Amira Istanbul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Amira Istanbul
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafapasa Sok. No 43 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 911 hotels in Istanbul
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Class Act Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I can't remember the last time I visited a hotel and was pleased with EVERYTHING. Other hotels should take cues from Hotel Amira because this is how a hotel should be run.

Firstly, I arrived at the hotel at 10:30 AM - early for a check in - and the staff let me check in shortly after having breakfast. The complementary breakfast is very good and plentiful and served in a lovely room with free wi-fi. They also have a complementary "tea time" from 4-6 which serves an array of teas and snacks.

The room itself was tastefully decorated, immaculate and spacious. I even had a balcony with a gorgeous view of the Bosphorus. The decor was Eastern meets pre-war decadence. I really liked it and felt at home. The bathroom had a large jacuzzi tub/shower.

I usually avoid Sultanahmet when I visit Istanbul, but since I only stayed one night, I thought it would be best to stay near the sites. It's definitely a touristy neighborhood but very quiet and convenient. It's just a short 10 minute walk to Hagia Sophia and 15 minutes to the Grand Bazaar.

Most of all, I was impressed with how super friendly and hospitable the entire hotel staff was. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and will recommend it to all of my friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,695 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,495
    182
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
230
942
94
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sanaa, Yemen
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Hotel Amira deserves the high praise it has received on this site. The small hotel is wonderfully located near everywhere that you want to visit. The staff is super friendly and accomodating. Unlike most places in Istanbul, there are no surprise costs lurking to separate you from your money. WiFi is included in the hotel costs and the mini-bar is full of items that are almost "at cost." When you add in breakfast and the nice ambiance, you can understand why everyone loves this place. You will too.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Amira hotel is located in the heart of turist Istanbul- you can walk to most of the sites and a great many good restuarants. THe staff are very welcoming and helpful. The hotel is intimate- small, but not cramped. Our room was beautiful- bathroom nice with good quality fixtures and amenities.

Room Tip: We had the front room (over the entrance) and the city decided to do road work (remove and replace c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Pros: My wife and I spent five nights at the Amira and the top four reasons to stay there are the (a) hotel's exceptional staff (!!!, you'll see), (b) proximity to where we wanted to be, (c) cleanliness of the facilities, and (d) overall comfort of our experience. I just can't praise the staff enough! They're more helpful, friendly, and accommodating than most of the "luxury" hotels I've stayed at. Thank you Aziz, AJ, Tina, Baruk, Arthur, and everyone else who made this vacation so special. After leaving my Mastercard at a restaurant, Baruk quickly had a friend of his recover and deliver it to the hotel. The hotel's an even shorter walk to the main attractions than they advertise (four fun minutes to the Blue Mosque).

Cons: My mild complaints would be that the rooms are quite small (though comfortable) and voices passes through the walls like they're rice paper. When we first arrived, they told us they'd automatically upgraded us to a "Deluxe" room, which was small and on ground level, where passersby could peer into the bedroom if the curtains weren't drawn. We requested a room on a higher floor for less street noise and greater privacy. We were transferred to a standard room on the 4th floor, which was slightly smaller than the deluxe, but then we noticed the hotel's greatest detractor: noisiness. The hotel should reinvest some of its well-deserved profit into remedying this.

Through the staff's outstanding recommendations, I/we discovered the following amazing restaurants/barber:
- Matbah Restaurant (it's pretty close to a "perfect ten" in cuisine and atmosphere);
- Rami Restaurant (a 9.5, just exceptional);
- Khorasani Restaurant (an 8.5 in food, though a little touristy);
- Albura Kathisma Restaurant (an 8.5 in food, trendy atmosphere, cool ancient ruins below); and
- An amazing straight razor shave at the Sezer Kuafor (Arif the barber is pro, but no English) on the way to the Blue Mosque.

WARNING: Probably because they never got honest feedback on it, the Amira recommended the Suleymaniye Hamam because it's the only "coed" hamam in Istanbul. Avoid it if you dislike tourist meat grinders. Unfriendly staff, ridiculous tourist trap, expensive, and my wife felt like she got beat up at a karate tournament.

Room Tip: Request a room above ground, away from the main street, and away from other guests (if possible). T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had a delightful stay at the Amira. We chose to stay in the Sultanhamet area in order to be close to the things we wanted to do in Istanbul. The staff at the Amira was entirely helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet was certainly one of the best we had in over a month of travelling through Turkey -- including excellent coffee which we had found difficult to find in other places!

My only caveat was that our room was located basically on street level and there was at times a fair amount of noise. We didn't get to enjoy the roof top terrace as the weather had turned chilly. We did enjoy the 5pm "tea". Also, the Amira is located conveniently to get to the Ataturk airport.

Would recommend the Amira highly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

All you have to do is read the reviews. This Hotel is everything and more
in a Small Hotel. The service is excellent right from the beginning until
you leave.The staff is top notch, specially Tina who helped plan our
stay on Istanbul.It is close to all the sites. It has all the want in a bed
and breakfast setting.
Read the reviews it say it all. Excellent!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Arrived late in the evening from the interior of Turkey on my way west and on the recommendation of friends I stopped at the Amira. From its roof-top terrace patio you can see the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia (St Sofia Church) looking one way and the Sea of Marmara looking the other way - wonderful. I accepted the challenge of taking a few stairs after the elevator ride, to one of two rooms on the 8th level; a room that was grand in size and modern in its arrangement. WIFI is accessible by floor, so the signal is strong. The bathroom is stylish and modern. The hotel restaurant offers a fine breakfast; tea every day between 4-6PM and a relaxing dinner ambiance.

Gazing out of the room's small bay window the nearby streets; hotels and restaurants are well lit highighted the outstanding architecture of the neighbourhood.

Room Tip: Take the challenge and climb to the 8th floor rooms - its worth the effort
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Amira Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amira Istanbul

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafapasa Sok. No 43 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 911 hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Amira Istanbul 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amira Istanbul offers you the most spacious design rooms in the old city , with very comfortable visco mattresses, high-tech amenities like complementary mobile wireless internet modem , i-pod docking stations and local touches like hand-made ceiling paintings .These rooms are tailor made for your contentment . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Amira Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amira Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.