We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Excellent Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seraglio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seraglio to your Saves list
Hotel Seraglio
Amiral Tafdil Sokak No 32, Istanbul 34400, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE VIP AIRPORT TRANSFER
Ranked #18 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Location and Excellent Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Having never been to Istanbul before I chose this hotel based purely on Tripadvisor reviews knowing I wanted to stay in old town. We chose the Blue Mosque suite and it was really good. Big terrace to sit out at night with an amazing view. The two gentlemen that helped us at the front desk were accommodating and friendly and provided all insight on what to see and how to get there. The location of the hotel is absolutely perfect as you are literally a 5 minute walk to the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia which are all must see sightseeing spots. Great restaurants and bars and the shopping in Istanbul is to die for.

Given we were so close to the Mosque we were woken up the first morning by the call to pray. It is really loud, but by the 2nd and 3rd day it wasn't as overwhelming as it was day 1.

The breakfast provided was fine. Cook to order omelets and some fruits and pastries. We ate in the bistro and that was pretty good too. The hotel arranged airport transfers and they were there to meet us and were prompt on the return pick up.

If I am fortunate enough to return to Istanbul one day I would definitely stay in this area and would recommend this hotel to anyone. Great find in the middle of a stunningly beautiful city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    143
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
156
433
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

If you're looking for a perfectly-situated, peaceful, welcoming little hotel in Istanbul, look no further. We had a room with the hamam which was great fun. Breakfast was enough to keep you going all day, though lots of tempting restaurants nearby. Thanks to all -- the staff were very accommodating, giving us plenty of cups of apple tea, storing luggage etc!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We were looking for a small hotel in Sultanahmet to base ourselves for 3 days sightseeing in the city. The combination of good reviews and price led us to the Seraglio, and we were not disappointed. I have stayed in 3 or 4 different places in the area, all of which were a similar price, but this is by far the best in terms of quality.

The check-in staff were excellent, offering a glass of tea, whilst making suggestions of things to do, and with not hard sell of particular tours.

The room was excellent - spotlessly clean, a good bathroom, free Wi-Fi, tea & coffee making facilities, free bottles of water, and a good TV with some free to air English news channels. There is even tea coffee and pastries free for guests in the bistro restaurant each afternoon.

Breakfast was decent, with freshly made omelets, and other hot and cold selections, served in the basement breakfast room.

The location was also very convenient - 5 minutes walk to the Blue Mosque / Topkapi, and 15 minutes down to Galata Bridge across the Golden Horn.

Possibly the only thing this place lacks is a roof-top terrace which is typical of many of its competitors, but there is no shortage of other places with terraces to visit for a tea or coffee, and what you get instead is a far better hotel for he same money. I would strongly recommend it and will be back here on my next trip to the city,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My wife and i recently stayed at the Hotel Seraglio for 8 nights. We booked the room after reading the numerous excellent trip adviser reviews. We were not disappointed. The room was clean and comfortable and in a very convenient Sultanahmet location--about a two minute walk from the Blue Mosque. As another reviewer noted, the windows seemed somewhat poorly insulated as we were able to hear conversations of passers-by on the street below, but this is our only real complaint.

I give this hotel five stars primarily because of excellent service from the hotel staff. When we arrived Kenon, who staffs the front desk during the day, told us that we were not "customers" but rather "guests." While such talk is eye-roll inducing and usually hollow, Kenon was good for his word. The staff, particularly Yousef, really went out of their way to help us. For example, each morning before we departed on day trips before breakfast was served, Yousef packed sandwiches, fruit, and water for my three travelling companions and I at no extra charge without us even asking him to do so. The staff was also incredibly helpful in helping us plan our days' itineraries. I recommend Hotel Seraglio without reservation and would stay there again.

Room Tip: The view of the Blue Mosque from the roof balcony room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I have not checked out yet, but wanted to write this one before I get out tomorrow. Wife and I found them through trip advisor. At first sight, their entrance is questionably lackluster and we had second thoughts in the first 2 mins. Staff greeted us heartily, and in a few minutes I found these people genuinely honest and welcoming. We got Kenan's signature overview of Istanbul sightseeing (as mentioned in another review before). The room was compact, but fresh, clean and the large comfortable bed and WC were the highlights. I am particularly picky about general ambience and this one is no 5 star yet simple and super super pleasant. The breakfast is another highlight, they have fantastic cakes, cookies, the usual American style breakfast items with some Turkish items thrown in. The chef makes a decent omelet and I woke up everyday waiting to get the day started with a hearty breakfast. The bistro was right next to my room and they serve surprising good food, a warm ambience and allowed guests to smoke the water pipe well past the stipulated timeline of 7PM for outsiders.
Location is of course fantastic, close to everything, we walked up and down the street several times of the day.
The bistro host is a quiet, efficient and friendly guy. How did these guys get everything so right? This turned out to be a great vacation thanks to the hotel, thanks so much team Seraglio!
Constructive feedback - I would recommend spending 3L for a 5L water supply per day for all customers, this would be a differentiator and I wonder why most hotels skimp on this important thing (worser in the USA)

Room Tip: I hear they have a hamam room, try it or get the one next to the bistro too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YILMAZ_CGR, Owner at Hotel Seraglio, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
My Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Seraglio for your previous stay in Istanbul.
Also special thanks for your feedback about your stay. I am very glad to hear that you were happy about your stay here. I would like to tell you, your feedbacks are very important for us to improve our service quality. I would like to explain one thing about the subject you had mentioned: Untill now we were used to serve two small waters for each room and add new ones everyday regulary. And we are always willing to give you extra ones whenever you need more. But may be we were not clear enough to let you know. Just let you and also our future guests know that; from right now we will be serving big bottle of drinking water (instead of small ones) and still willing to give extra ones anytime.Thank you ones again for spending your valuable time for us. Looking forward to host you again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I was probably swayed by other excellent reviews to expect more from this hotel. Still, it has plenty of good features. Firstly, it is just a few minutes walk to the Blue Mosque (and therefore to the excellent Mosaic Museum next to the mosque) and only a few minutes more to the other famous sites in the Old City. The room is small but well-equipped (fridge, kettle) and the bathroom is huge with a nice shower. (The bathroom includes a Turkish bath, which must appeal to a certain clientele, but I kept wishing the extra space was allocated to the main room.) Breakfast was excellent, and a cook stands by to knock up a terrific omelet for no extra charge. On the down side, service--although very friendly--was not so good. The room's hair dryer was broken and we were given a temporary replacement that did not work properly, either; neither was fixed during the three nights we stayed there, despite a gentle reminder. In addition, the hotel booked us a shuttle bus to the airport when we left, and it was dreadful: terrible driver, broken seats, overloaded luggage and a generally scungy interior. A taxi would have been well worth the extra money. The room had no obvious form of cooling and it was barely comfortable during mild weather. Finally, despite double-glazing, we were suprised at how much lobby noise and outside noise entered our room; the facing road is by no means busy, but conversation from people outside floated into our room during the night. The hotel is certainly worth considering for a stay in Istanbul, but it is expensive and I would check out other options first.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YILMAZ_CGR, Owner at Hotel Seraglio, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
My Dear Guest,
First of all thank you for choosing us,also special thanks for your review about your stay at Hotel Seraglio. We attach great importance to our guests' feedbacks, especially the criticing ones. Because they show us the missing points that we still have to work on them.
Unfortunately it is the first time one of our hairdryer broke down since we have opened. We couldnt fix the hairdryer and ordered new ones ( 2 extra ones just in case). We tried to find excatly the same ones,not to damage the decoration of the bathroom but it took some time to get those. I am suprised and sorry to hear that the temporary replacement one didnt work well. I will be taking my staff ' attention to focus on the problems more untill it is solved totally.About airport transportation we always give different options for our guests for variable budgets. But it is always our guests final decision, we just try to help them. Still let the third party (transportation company) know about your comment. Finally I am sorry for not able to meet %100 of your expectations this time which can not be possible all the time.
Looking forward to host you once again in the future...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This hotel is about as good as it gets. The whole staff did their best to make our stay a truely memorable one.The room and bathroom : Very,very clean. Huge comfortable bed and the best shower we've had in ages. We felt very much at home throughout our 4 night stay. Istanbul is a really exciting city to explore. The hotel was in easy walking distance of all the major attractions. It's on a quiet sidestreet and ,apart from the morning prayer call, we slept very well. There are restaurants galore nearby and more than enough shops to satisfy all our needs. Pricewise it would be difficult to find better value than here. To all the people at the Hotel Seraglio :
Keep up the good work and pretty soon you'll be Tripadvisors number 1 choice in Istanbul.
Hope to be back in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seraglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seraglio

Address: Amiral Tafdil Sokak No 32, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old town of the magnificent Istanbul, you will find the charming boutique Hotel Seraglio. The hotel has 14 tastefully and comfortably decorated rooms in different categories. Hotel Seraglio is located in the heart of world famous heritages in the historical Sultanahmet district of Istanbul. All the major touristic places are within walking distance. You can also go to Taksim/ Beyoglu in 15 minutes by streetcar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Seraglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seraglio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.