We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean hotel in perfect location!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seraglio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seraglio to your Saves list
Hotel Seraglio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amiral Tafdil Sokak No 32, Istanbul 34400, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE PICKUP&CASH DISCOUNT
Ranked #17 of 976 Hotels in Istanbul
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice, clean hotel in perfect location!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and absolutely loved it! The location is perfect with the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque literally just a 10 min walk away. Also the street that the hotel is located on is lined with great souvenir shops (where I picked up one of those beautiful Turkish lamps!) and delicious restaurants. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and the rooms were clean and quiet. The breakfast buffet was basic but nice. All in all this was a great hotel that suited our needs perfectly of simply needing a clean, safe place to stay that was close to all the sights and conveniently located!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    155
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
170
461
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The staff really seemed to care at this hotel. We called them several times for a number of matters such as bringing up an extra pillow and helping us with the safe. They even gave me a different chair upon request. The location is fine, but be prepared to do some walking to get to the tram stop which will whisk you away from Sultanahmet. We found there are nicer places in the city. Too many phony "friends" with an agenda who always begin by asking where we are from, and end with a request for you to enter their carpeting store. But as this is about Seraglio, I will focus on that. The Hammam room is unbelievable. The room itself isn't large, but the Hammam is superlative. We stayed in 3 rooms while we were there, and I recommend buying the Hammam room if you are considering the Deluxe room. Both are very nice, but the Hammam has an enormous shower that is perfect for tandem showering. If you are traveling with your S/O or your spouse, you will really appreciate it. As I stayed in both Hammam rooms they offer, I recommend Room 202 over Room 102. It has a little more space as it includes the interior of a cupola and also has a nicer chair, and I believe a more comfortable bed. It was clean and pleasant all around, and the prayers in the early AM added a nice reminder that we were in Istanbul, and what a wonderful place to be especially when you are staying at the Seraglio.

Room Tip: You should ask for Room 202 of the Hammam rooms. The other Hammam room, 102, is a little smaller an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed there four nights upon our recent visit to Istanbul. Since the moment we arrived at the hotel we felt we had done the right choice. We were greeted by the front desk manager who delighted us with a welcome apple tea cup and provided us with all sorts of useful information about the hotel area and the city. It was very pleasant to be a short walk to the most outstanding Istanbul's landmarks: Hagia Sophia, the Blue mosque, Topkapi Palace, the Cistern, you name it. The hotel area is full with restaurants and cafés. However, it is located on a very quiet, charming street.
Everything else about this hotel is remarkable, our double room was clean, large and quiet, the breakfast buffet has plenty of items to choose from, all the hotel staff is friendly and helpful. And our airport transfer to the hotel was complimentary.
I would highly recommend this place to anyone planning to visit the wonderful city of Istanbul.

Room Tip: Double deluxe rooms are large and have a small private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed here one night at the end of our cruise. The location is excellent, within minutes walk to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Place, but on a quiet street. Very friendly and helpful staff with excellent English. Great breakfast with lots to choose from and complimentary afternoon tea! Clean and comfortable room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights on our stay in Istanbul. The room was cosy but modern and clean, and the service by the front desk manager was superb. I wish I had asked his name so I could give him a shout out, but nothing was too much trouble for him. I wish him well for his upcoming wedding. Highly recommend this place in Istanbul, close to blue mosque and tokapi palace.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

While our driver had a challenge finding the Hotel Seraglio in the Sultanahmet neighborhood of Istanbul, the location couldn't be better. Literally 2 lefts, the 2nd right, up the hill and you are between the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque. There is so much to see within walking distance. The Topkapi Palace is less than 10 minutes by foot, as is the Cistern and the Grand Bazaar. We walked less than 20 minutes to the Spice Bazar as well. The tram station is nearby too. The small Arasta Bazaar is very close and not nearly as overwhelming as the Grand Bazaar. Some reviews mentioned the early call to prayer. We were actually looking forward to hearing it, but whether we were exhausted from our trek through the city or the location of our room on the opposite side of the hotel, we did not notice it.
The reputation for good service is waranted. We arrived well before check in from our cruise ship. We were offered refreshing apple tea, a place to check our bags and a very thorough orientation to the area with key areas pointed out on a map. They also provided a handy schedule of hours of the major attractions. The breakfast buffet was filling with a choice of fruits, cheeses, juice, coffee, pastry, bread and omelets cooked to order.
We can not recommend enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

the moment my wife and i entered the lobby we were greeted by kenan as long lost friends. we were offered tea and coffee. he then spent a good 10minutes giving us an overview of the area of istanbul in which we were residing. the room was 105 and was very nice with a king bed with a very comfortable mattress. the bathroom was large with a huge walk-in shower. we had, the only room i saw with a balcony that opened over a small atrium. there is an elevator. the hotel spans a short block from front to back, the lobby is considered the front but is on a small street. at the other end is their small restaurant and lounge that front the main street that we always used. breakfast was i floor down from the main floor and was excellent with fresh juices, breads, cereals, omlets cooked to order , yogurt milk that i loved and good turkish coffee. the hotel is about a 5-8 minute walk from the blue mosque and the sophia hagia IF you know the way. it is easiest if you go out the restaurant door onto the main street and then turn right for 2 blocks . next turn left one block and then right again and you will see the park with the various structures very shortly. both sites were extremely busy and at the blue mosque the guards told visitors to move on in they stopped at any exhibit for more than a10 seconds. this was very disappointing but the lines were so long to get into the various rooms that it was probably necessary. knowing this i would be there before it opened in the morning. also they take cash only. after paying we saw a machine where you could pay be credit card. people are friendly but there are many men at the tourist sites trying to sell you anything they could. it wasn't infrequent to have someone approach me every 2-3 minutes at the tourist sites. you either say mercy(which is used there) or just try to ignore them. the spice market was fun. the grand bazaar was massive and you better leave a good trail of breadcrumbs or yo will get lost. also you will be solicited for sales very often. the 4 hr. trip on the bosporus was wonderful and very inexpensive. you don't need to have a tour guide. go down to the galata bridge and it is right there. we took the !pm tour. the food in istanbul was very good and i had no idea that turkey made such good wine. also have dinner at the ottoman hotel which was lovely and walking distance form the seraglio. only when you se the corner green cafe , use the road that goes up the hill to the right of the cafe as it is not on the main road. you will enjoy the seraglio because they treat you like family and you will enjoy istanbul and its energy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seraglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seraglio

Address: Amiral Tafdil Sokak No 32, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 976 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seraglio 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old town of the magnificent Istanbul, you will find the charming boutique Hotel Seraglio. The hotel has 14 tastefully and comfortably decorated rooms in different categories. Hotel Seraglio is located in the heart of world famous heritages in the historical Sultanahmet district of Istanbul. All the major touristic places are within walking distance. You can also go to Taksim/ Beyoglu in 15 minutes by streetcar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Seraglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seraglio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.