We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Hotel: Stay There!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seraglio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Seraglio to your Saves list
Hotel Seraglio
Amiral Tafdil Sokak No 32, Istanbul 34400, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #18 of 929 Hotels in Istanbul
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Hotel: Stay There!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in this excellent little hotel for three nights and would thoroughly recommend it to any traveller. Fantastic location, clean and comfortable rooms with excellent showers and a good breakfast. This place has all the essentials covered. The front desk is welcoming and very helpful with plenty of advice if you need it. There is no 'hard sell' on tours and there is a free computer in the foyer and the hotel will print off boarding passes etc for free.
The hotels in this area are quite pricey but the convenient and safe location is worth it. There are so many excellent restaurants in the area you will have some difficulty choosing!
The hotel deserves the many fine reviews and there is little more that I can add or contradict. Due to its size, there is no pool or roof top terrace. I did find the lack of anything other than Turkish TV a bit disappointing though the excellent free wifi did make up for this. Perhaps a wider selection of juices at breakfast would have been good - I didn't realise that you could ask for freshly squeezed juice so we made do with the sweet watery squash instead. I rarely give a 5 in my reviews , but this hotel comes pretty close. Stay there - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    141
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
153
408
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Seraglio for four nights in early October. We were happy to find a reasonably priced and conveniently located hotel in the old town /Sultanahmet. Our room was a good size for two adults and was very clean and pleasant. There were many tasty choices for breakfast at the hotel. The most pleasant aspect of our stay was professional service and helpfulness of the hotel's staff. It was especially nice to get advice and tips on sightseeing in Istanbul, as well as get help with transportation, etc from Kenan, who was especially cordial. Thank you Hotel Seraglio for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Spent 4 nights here last week with my son (aged 11). We were absolutely delighted with the hotel and if you want somewhere central in Istanbul then look no further.
Firstly the hotel is a on a really pretty street and you are no more than a 10 min walk to all the major sites. The hotel itself is clean with an onsite restaurant (complimentary tea and cake is served daily to guests here at 5pm). Our room was spacious and comfortable.
What really makes the experience though is the service. Kenan who mostly does front of house is so friendly and helpful. Organised a tour for us at good rates and made a fuss over my son who had, within a day, taken over the hotel computer!
Every morning the chef would prepare a freshly squeezed orange juice for my son. We hadn't asked for this as there were juices available, he just did this for him. It was these personal touches that made us as guests feel special and add to the 'family' feel of which the hotel quite rightly boasts.
Thank you Kenan and team for looking after us!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We took two rooms for six nights, and had a great time. The location is an easy walk from Sultanahmet Square and the Topkapi Palace, in an attractive part of town. The rooms and the included breakfast were beyond expectation, and good value. What was exceptional was the service from the reception staff. Whenever we sought advice we got a considered response. Sometimes we modified our plans as a result, and I'm sure it was to our benefit. Stuff like printing off our boarding passes for the flight back was no trouble. Apart from the early call to prayer, our room was quiet.

Room Tip: We had the only balcony room, which looked over a pleasant internal courtyard, but we weren't in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Seraglio last weekend and can't wait to go back again. The hotel was brilliantly situated just minutes from the Blue Mosque. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and the breakfast very good, with the chef cooking fresh omelettes for us each morning. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the seraglio in November of 2011. The following year my parents decided to visit Istanbul, but unfortunately the hotel was fully booked. I asked them to stop by and visit with Kanan at the front desk and extend our greetings to him. Kanan went above And beyond to extend hospitality and help them arrange their tours and stay in Istanbul , even though they were not staying there. I can't thank you enough for the outstanding service that you extended to them. I will make sure that we contact you in ample time prior to our our next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

I only stayed 2 nights but wished it could have been longer!

The hotel is located in a quiet and very nice part of the old town, within walking distance of most of the major sights.

Hotel staff are friendly, helpful, and very attentive.

My room was very nicely decorated and equipped, clean and had everything I needed.

One of the first things I was given was the wifi code, which I usually have to ask for elsewhere, and unlike other places I stay it was free and worked all the time throughout the hotel.

The breakfast is fit for a sultan and the chef will make you an omelette to order, very tasty. The bistro is also worth a try.

Would not hesitate in returning or recommending to others.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seraglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seraglio

Address: Amiral Tafdil Sokak No 32, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 929 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old town of the magnificent Istanbul, you will find the charming boutique Hotel Seraglio. The hotel has 14 tastefully and comfortably decorated rooms in different categories. Hotel Seraglio is located in the heart of world famous heritages in the historical Sultanahmet district of Istanbul. All the major touristic places are within walking distance. You can also go to Taksim/ Beyoglu in 15 minutes by streetcar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Seraglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seraglio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.