We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice - excellent facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seraglio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seraglio to your Saves list
Hotel Seraglio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amiral Tafdil Sokak No 32, Istanbul 34400, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE PICKUP&CASH DISCOUNT
Ranked #17 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Perth Western Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great choice - excellent facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I chose to book a Hamman room at the Seraglio Hotel for our 5 night stay in September 2012. Excellent decision - great location walking home each night to our hotel past the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sofia was perfect!
The bathroom with the hamman shower was enjoyed greatly. Room was spotlessly clean, very comfortable bed, no noise from outside and lovely big windows to a fairly quiet street.
The staff were very helpful all the time, breakfast plentiful choices and the afternoon tea free of charge was enjoyable and welcomed!
Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again in a flash!

Room Tip: We chose a hamman room - RM 202 - was great - no noise, big windows that could be opened and very co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    155
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
171
463
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
TW11, London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Hotel Seraglio wants you to remember it! Very good value for money and in the heart of the old quarter of Sultanahmet, Hotel Seraglio pleases with its warm welcome, wealth of information and I don't think I've ever seen a hotel room as clean as this one. We had the least expensive room of the hotel's 14 rooms for five days. It was large with a blissfully comfortable king-size bed, and walk in shower in a large, sparkly clean bathroom. I wanted to take it home with me . . . Our room was close enough to the blue mosque to hear the Iman calling if we were on our balcony; indeed Hotel Saraglio's position kept us in and amongst Istanbul's finest Turkish culture in comfort, but without breaking the bank. The staff were friendly but unobtrusive. It was efficient, everything worked and the breakfast provided was a great start to the day. In fact, when we had an early start to Galipoli, our packed breakfast practically kept us going for the whole 16 hour day. Fabulous and totally recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here for the weekend and it was just right for us. Nothing particularly fancy but very clean and huge rooms. Breakfast was OK-fairly traditional with omelette, cheese, meats, bread, cereal, fruit etc. Staff extremely welcoming and helpful - welcome drink on arrival and will sort taxis out of needed. This hotel was perfectly placed for some excellent restaurants and all of the main sights including the blue mosque, Topkapi Palace etc. Had some slight issues with noise from outside and other rooms but overall a pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

chosing hotel seraglio for our 1st trip to istanbul made it just perfect, the cutest littel hotel right in the heart of sultanahmet, extremely quiet and clean.
staff especially (kenan and jelal) were so helpful with just the right attitude.
few steps a way from it all. our kids were welcomed with gifts, breakfast was great
i definatly recomand it :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Seraglio for five nights at the beginning of our trip and then a final night before flying home. The staff were polite, helpful and friendly, and the hotel clean and comfortable. We found our room to be quite large and comfortable, with plenty of room for two adults and a 5-year-old. The air conditioning worked well and was quiet, and the double-glazed windows ensured quiet nights. We also LOVED the huge shower. There was plenty of tasty food (nothing fancy) for breakfast. One morning we were the only guests in the breakfast room, so the gentleman working behind the counter carved a peach into a swan and gave it to my daughter. It's the first time she's deigned to eat a peach! It was a charming, personal touch, and we really appreciated it.

We also ate in the bistro one night. The food was fine - on par with the other restaurants we'd eaten at in the area.

If we ever visit Istanbul again, we will DEFINITELY stay at the Hotel Seraglio again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed in Seraglio Hotel 5 nights, in the middle of august 2012. We choose Seraglio cause we found a lot of good reviews on TripAdvisor and after our stay we confirm other users good impressions. Rooms furniture was very new, bathroom was small but well equipped (very large shower!). We stayed in 2 different rooms and we had no difficulties to sleep 'cause the thick windows stopped any noise form outside. We stayed first 4 nights and then we came back after a 2-days trip in Cappadocia. Seraglio staff was so kind to store our luggage for 2 days, in this way we avoided luggage check in during our domestic flight. Breakfast was fine but not so complete compared to the ones of a business hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed at the Seraglio in November 2011 with our daughters ages 8, 10. The driver was at the airport when we arrived. Hotel is very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Kennan gave us great advice and helped us map out our days. It was rainy season and they always had umbrellas available for us to use. Breakfast was amazing every morning. We really enjoyed our stay in Istanbul and just can’t wait to go back. I will definitely say at the Seraglio again. Location was very convenient to all the attraction sites. Sultanahmet is a very charming cobblestone city with old world charm. The hotel really exceeded my expectations.
Thank you for such a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Fantastic location, try the hairdresser around the corner for a great blow dry, your pictures will l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seraglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seraglio

Address: Amiral Tafdil Sokak No 32, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seraglio 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old town of the magnificent Istanbul, you will find the charming boutique Hotel Seraglio. The hotel has 14 tastefully and comfortably decorated rooms in different categories. Hotel Seraglio is located in the heart of world famous heritages in the historical Sultanahmet district of Istanbul. All the major touristic places are within walking distance. You can also go to Taksim/ Beyoglu in 15 minutes by streetcar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Seraglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seraglio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.