We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect boutique hotel for exploring Istanbul” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seraglio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seraglio to your Saves list
Hotel Seraglio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amiral Tafdil Sokak No 32, Istanbul 34400, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE PICKUP&CASH DISCOUNT
Ranked #17 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Perfect boutique hotel for exploring Istanbul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We (2 adults and 2 children stayed here for 6 nights at the beginning of June. We initially had some difficulty in getting 2 rooms for such a long period but Secil, who looks after sales and reservations, was extremely helpful and managed to sort out our stay. Her prompt and helpful emails probably made up our minds for us on where we wanted to stay, so a big thank you to her and to all her helpful staff who made our stay just perfect.
The hotel itself is a small boutique hotel, transport to and from the airport was arranged FREE of charge and we had our own shuttle bus for the journey which takes about 30 mins.
We stayed in the Hammam room for the first night and then moved to 2 doubles. The rooms are clean and spacious enough. Bathrooms have large walk in showers and toiletries and slippers are provided. There is free wi-fi with good connection in all the areas. Tea and coffee facilities in all the rooms. Breakfast is in the dinning area which is in the basement. There is plenty to stock up for a day off sightseeing. There is a further lounge/dinning area at the rear of the hotel which is the side closest to the Blue Mosque (on Akbiyik Cad) which is where afternoon tea is served - there is free tea and coffee and cakes (no soft drinks). Its also a good place to have an evening meal and the traditional food served is delicious. You can even enjoy a sheesha in the cool evenings on the terrace.
The hotel is about 3 minutes walk (up an incline) to the main square that lies in between the Blue Mosque and Sophia Museum. So you are right in the middle of al the attractions. The Topkapi Palace is about a 10 minute walk as is the Basilica cisterna.Its also a 2 minute walk to the Arasta Bazaar , where you'll find Jennifer's Hamam (see tripadvisor entry). The Ayasofya hamam lies on the edge of the square between the Blue mosque and Sophia museum and is also well worth a visit. So the location is just perfect.
We'd happily recommend this hotel, it may not have the frills of a large chain hotel but it has the intimacy and personal attention that is more than welcome in a foreign land.Perfect stay!

Room Tip: Rooms higher up and facing the blue mosque , the minarets of which you can see from the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    155
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
173
463
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Our welcome upon arrival was one of the warmest greetings we have ever experienced. Arriving earlier than expected at 8:30 AM, of course our rooms weren't ready. We were offered a full breakfast, storage of our luggage, and use of the lobby computer, although the entire hotel has free wifi.
The room is a nice size w an extremely comfortable bed. Linens were changed daily. The bathroom has a wonderfully designed large walk-in shower w a flexible shower hose attachment.
Located in a charming area of cobblestoned streets, cafes, and other boutique hotels, it is a short walk to the major sites. The old prison, now The Four Seasons Hotel, is around the corner.
Made to order omelettes, fresh fruit, cereals, home made pastries, fresh tomatoes, cucumbers, olives, yogurt are some of the items offered daily for breakfast.
The hotel staff is very helpful, thoughtful, and welcoming. They made a lasting impression.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Great location, clean comfortable room, good bathroom etc. Staff were friendly and helpful and gave their honest opinion about the best way to see the sights, which we really appreciated, thanks especially to Kenan. Was recommended to us by friends who had stayed there, and we would definitely recommend to others.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Small and friendly. Good rooms, ours with balcony. Great situation in centre of old city within minutes of most popular tourist sites. Very good breakfast. Small bar/cafe with free cakes! Very helpful and pleasant staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Comfortable room, immaculately clean. Elaborate buffet breakfast, including eggs cooked to order. Wonderful staff. We can't thank Kenan, Celal, and Murat enough for making us feel so welcome and going out of their way to provide advice, directions, and suggestions. Getting around Istanbul is very easy (but don't drive; it's scary) but this Old Town location is the best with Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, etc., within an easy walk.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

5 minute walk from Blue Mosque & Hagia Sophia. Clean, modern rooms. Helpful staff. Great value in the Sultanamhet area.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expat
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

As expats living in Eastern Turkey, we have stayed in many hotels in Istanbul. This is probably one of the best, especially considering the price. (Hotels in Istanbul seem to have become outrageously expensive).
We were greeted at arrival with welcome drinks and a friendly, courteous staff.
Free tea and muffins were served every afternoon in the restaurant area. Although we didn't use the restaurant, there were always many clients eating there.
Breakfast was well presented, and the staff were very obliging and attentive. My only disappointment at breakfast was the fact that it was served downstairs, when many of the neighbouring hotels serve it on their roof terraces, with views out to sea.
Our room was well contained, clean and had a decent sized bathroom.
If staying in Sultanhamet, this should be one of your first choices.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seraglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seraglio

Address: Amiral Tafdil Sokak No 32, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seraglio 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old town of the magnificent Istanbul, you will find the charming boutique Hotel Seraglio. The hotel has 14 tastefully and comfortably decorated rooms in different categories. Hotel Seraglio is located in the heart of world famous heritages in the historical Sultanahmet district of Istanbul. All the major touristic places are within walking distance. You can also go to Taksim/ Beyoglu in 15 minutes by streetcar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Seraglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seraglio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.