We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Disney-like Historic Highlights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Areas of Istanbul

Historic Areas of Istanbul
Istanbul, Turkey (Sultanahmet)
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$703*
and up
7-Day Turkey Tour from Kusadasi: Istanbul...
Ranked #2 of 924 things to do in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Almost Disney-like Historic Highlights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The usual Top Sites in Istanbul are Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Toptkapi Palace and Bassilica Cistern. It was amazing to see how nicely situated they are -- easy walk from one to the next -- almost like a Disney planner had laid it out. Don't get me wrong -- there's nothing Mickey Mouse about these fabulous historical sites. If you like great architecture -- be prepared to have your breath taken away.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TIF06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I thought Cairo was manic and this was the same without the camels and donkey carts. People everywhere so not for the faint-hearted but just being part of the millions of people who have walked these streets and seen these sights is so exciting and life-affirming.Deep breaths and go for it-its amazing!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynmar31849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

All the different cultures and history make this one of the most fascinating cities I have visited. I loved the Hagia Sofia, the mosques, Basilica Cistern.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LibbyJ6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randwick, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“CAPPADOCIA Volcanic Landscapes and "Fairy-chimneys"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The visit to Goreme's rock-carved churches and the ancient frescoes in the open-air museum. The underground city of Kaymakli and the cone of Uchisar is so magnificently well preserved and everyone can able to see and explore.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gemini242013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cradle of Civilization”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I spent about 6 days in Istanbul, staying in several different hotels, mostly in the Old City. I would say that 2/3 of what is worth seeing in Istanbul would be in the Old City. The Hagia Sofia, various mosques, cisterns, Grand Bazaar are all in a fairly compact area. Walking is a great way to get around, once you get used to very crowded sidewalks. It is a city area of small shopkeepers, no big box stores. Some streets have shops that sell nothing but wedding invitations, or streets that specialize in shoe making. Getting lost can lead to some fascinating places, and it always seemed safe.

The tram that goes through the old city is a great means to get around, easy for tourists to navigate. It is also the best way to cross the Golden Horn to get to Beyoglu. This area has a different feel to it, more the jazz music store, coffee shop, high style clothing boutiques. It involves going up and down hilly streets but we are glad we spent a couple of days just exploring that area. Most Turkish speak some English so it is easy to get around.

Due to the tremendous amount of history and culture in Istanbul (Turkey in general) it is really worthwhile to read up on the Byzantines and the Ottomans. One gets a lot more enjoyment from the sites if you appreciate the history behind it. Istanbul is a unique city, a little European but the Muslim influence makes it more livable I think.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Areas of Istanbul also viewed

 

Been to Historic Areas of Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#