We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Areas of Istanbul

Historic Areas of Istanbul
Istanbul, Turkey (Sirkeci)
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$60*
and up
Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage
Ranked #1 of 503 Attractions in Istanbul
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I thought Cairo was manic and this was the same without the camels and donkey carts. People everywhere so not for the faint-hearted but just being part of the millions of people who have walked these streets and seen these sights is so exciting and life-affirming.Deep breaths and go for it-its amazing!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,713
    912
    114
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

All the different cultures and history make this one of the most fascinating cities I have visited. I loved the Hagia Sofia, the mosques, Basilica Cistern.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randwick, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“CAPPADOCIA Volcanic Landscapes and "Fairy-chimneys"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The visit to Goreme's rock-carved churches and the ancient frescoes in the open-air museum. The underground city of Kaymakli and the cone of Uchisar is so magnificently well preserved and everyone can able to see and explore.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cradle of Civilization”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I spent about 6 days in Istanbul, staying in several different hotels, mostly in the Old City. I would say that 2/3 of what is worth seeing in Istanbul would be in the Old City. The Hagia Sofia, various mosques, cisterns, Grand Bazaar are all in a fairly compact area. Walking is a great way to get around, once you get used to very crowded sidewalks. It is a city area of small shopkeepers, no big box stores. Some streets have shops that sell nothing but wedding invitations, or streets that specialize in shoe making. Getting lost can lead to some fascinating places, and it always seemed safe.

The tram that goes through the old city is a great means to get around, easy for tourists to navigate. It is also the best way to cross the Golden Horn to get to Beyoglu. This area has a different feel to it, more the jazz music store, coffee shop, high style clothing boutiques. It involves going up and down hilly streets but we are glad we spent a couple of days just exploring that area. Most Turkish speak some English so it is easy to get around.

Due to the tremendous amount of history and culture in Istanbul (Turkey in general) it is really worthwhile to read up on the Byzantines and the Ottomans. One gets a lot more enjoyment from the sites if you appreciate the history behind it. Istanbul is a unique city, a little European but the Muslim influence makes it more livable I think.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corte Madera, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fascinating, walkable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Cistern, Topkapi, and many other sites are all very close together. I was having some mobility issues when I was there, but had no problem getting around on foot, although I wouldn't recommend trying to see all the sites in one day - each one deserves plenty of time. There's so much history and beauty in such a small space. Also plenty of places to sit and people watch (and plenty of people to watch).

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Areas of Istanbul also viewed

 

Been to Historic Areas of Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Areas of Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.