We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suleymaniye Hamam

Suleymaniye Hamam
Mimar Sinan Cad. No:20 | Suleymaniye / Istanbul - Turkey (Old City), Istanbul 34460, Turkey
+90 212 520 3410
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 107 Spas & Wellness in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Suleymaniye Hamam is a traditional Turkish bath that continues to operate today. The building, commissioned by Sultan Suleyman and designed by the Turkish architect Mimar Sinan, was built in 1557. It features dramatic archways and domes and is decorated with elaborate marble inlay. It is the only hamam in Istanbul where men and women bathe together. 40 Euro per person.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I looked hamams in Istanbul this was only for couples and families. And we been here in afternoon. They give us info when we are entering hammam. Then we take off our clothes and they give us bra short and towel. And then we went to inside of hammam and we waited in steam room 30 minutes and theycame us make massage and peeling massage was classical massage with soap it was little short about ten minutes total with peeling different experience. And staffs are very polite and friendly. And masseurs job is really hard they re working 40 Celsius every day

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    268
    48
    38
    50
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great experience for couples”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is the only couples haman in the area, I think it was a lovely experience to share.
The haman is located in a nice area next to the Suleymaniye mosque. We were given clothes to change into and a small room, with a lock, where we could change and then keep our belongings.
We were taken to the steam room, which was very clean and quiet. After about forty minuits, we were taken to a separate area in the steam room, we were scrubbed and then washed and massaged for about 20 minuits. Afterwards we were wrapped in traditional towels and were given the option of buying drinks in a different, quiet, cooler area.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
While I found the experience very relaxing and I came away feeling cleansed, I wouldn't recommend this for younger people or people of sensitive nature. The massage is quite vigorous and the masseurs will not be shy about massaging your stomachs, bottoms or inner thighs. However, I found them highly professional.
I would also recommend going early for a quieter experience, we went at 10 am and the experience was better for it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“WOMEN: STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

There are tourists only (possibly because it is mixed). This is a classical place where tourists pay a lot for little value. It is like mass processing. There are only male masseurs, and at least one of them crosses the limit of what's acceptable. My masseur touched me EVERYWHERE, and I strongly recommend WOMEN NOT TO VISIT THIS PLACE! This was a terrible experience!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“You could do better elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is one of the few mixed hamams in Istanbul. Choose this one only if you really really really want to share the experience with your partner - otherwise you can find a lot nicer experience in one of the other hamams. Suleymaniye hamam is quite small and for example lacks the hot water pools that some of the other hamams have. We also found the service rather rude.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I have never been so relaxed...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Be prepared for long lines, I opted for the package with a massage. Totally worth it. Be prepared to budget a whole evening on this place. Despite the fact it was over run with tourists, it was a really great experience.


check out my review

http://readysetgotravel.blogspot.com/2013/03/suleymaniye-hamam-istanbul.html

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suleymaniye Hamam also viewed

 

Been to Suleymaniye Hamam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suleymaniye Hamam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.