We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location! Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Han

Save Saved
You added Hotel Han to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Han
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   33 Yerebatan Caddesi Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 772 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Location! Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Centrally located in the heart of Sultanahmet. Few steps away from Blue mosque. Staff was warm and friendly and treated me like family. Area is busy with Tourists. I felt safe walking alone at night. Theres a great bbq restaurant on the ground floor. Overall comfortable stay, will def stay here again. You get woken up early morning by the morning call to prayer but its beautiful to hear the words.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    75
    9
    7
    3
See reviews for
27
42
47
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel twice now and I have to say that I adore it! It's funky, certainly nothing fancy, but the location and the general vibe of the place is perfect. The staff have to be my absolute favorite part and I have left Hotel Han both times with hugs and promises of keeping in touch. Doesn't hurt that the place is literally 50 steps away from the Hagia Sofia and on the same street as the Basilica Cistern. So go with the flow, yes there are some language issues and we had to get the manager to come change a lightbulb for us, but they charge honest rates, have incredible food, and there's nothing like coming back after a long day of sightseeing to be invited to watch the local soccer match over a few beers with the staff.

Room Tip: There are only 7 rooms and they are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

It is centrally located great hotel - few steps from Yerebatan Sarai. The staff were great,very helpful and friendly, Wi-Fi worked perfectly. Rooms were clean and very well maintained. The breakfast was plenty. Daily for breakfast we get plate with egg, tomatoes, cucumbers, pastry, cake, homemade jam, olives, cheese and drinks (coffee, tea or orange juice). Sometimes yogurt and honey. Lady who serves breakfast is very polite and helpful.
The food in the restaurant is superb.
I would recommend this place to anyone on a budget and I will stay in this hotel next year too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copenhagen
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have been going many places and in my journey in Istanbul earlier this year i was staying in Han hotel and i thought it was quite good. I allso could not understand that anybody had anything to say against this hotel because allthough it is cheap and little lousy the staff is warm and helpful persons and the location is good.
Today i found out why people sometimes are angry but anybody can judge by my experience.
We were 3 together me and two sons and the first night we couldnot stay at the hotel because it was overbooked so they arranged another hotel nearby (a bad one) we did no complain.
I had a weeeeery bad injuries in my foot so i allmost needed help of walking up the stairs and i came back to hotel after going around neigbourhood the second day i had a friend to help me up the stairs, he used the opporotunity to charge his mobile ( it was at daytime 15.00 a clock) somebody knocked on the door and said it is room service, i opened and a man came in, and another who told he is the owner and shouted ( on turkish ) NO GUESTS ALLOWED YOU GO OUT. After this we took the luggage and went away.
What a behavier and no explanation.
No newer hotel Han again this man must be a walking timebomb.
U

Room Tip: Be careful
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Baha was very honest about room size we and got exactly what we were told. We stayed five nights and location was perfect. I forgot to mention to Baha about my mum not able to walk up the stairs and he was happy to change a room to downstairs. The breakfast was filling and the rooms were made everyday with change of towels. excellently situated between Aya sophia, topkapi and blue mosque. The hotels own restaurant was very good. Barbecue house restaurant has a terrace dining area which was very nice in the evening and the staff were always friendly and helpful. The lady who made our breakfast was very friendly even though she did not speak much english. i would definately stay in this hotel again

Room Tip: if you have problem walking up the stairs mention it before booking so you can get room downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel was good. The room was small but always clean and the people at the reception were always helpful. Nothing really special about the place. The retaurant is delicious! Breakfast was very nice. I guess our only issue with this hotel was that it was quite expensive for what it was. We stayed at many places all over Turkey and this place was by far the most expensive. I guess it is to be expected for Sulthanamet but I would recommend staying in Beyoglu where rooms are much more affordable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Location is great but never go to this hotel as you will never be sure that your reservation will be respected. We stayed there twice (two nights when we arrived to Istambul and then 2 other nights when we returned to Istambul after visiting other places in Turkey). Both times they said there was a problem with our room and that they had done another reservation for us for one night in another hotel. Therefore, we had to check-in, check-out, pack and unpack several times. And then when we tried to speak with the owner of the hotel, he said we had to talk with the person at the lobby. We can say the owner is only "the owner" when he thinks it is useful to pick up girls.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Han? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Han

Address: 33 Yerebatan Caddesi Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 772 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Han 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our rooms have been decoreted with intense care by modeling Turkish traditional homes with susani , special design chandeliers, quality wooden furniture and also with air conditioner and mini-bar. High speed free wireless internet connection is available at all rooms. Major public transportation centers in order to reach allover Istanbul and Turkey such as tram station , bus stop, central train station and boat docks are all in walking distance from our Hotel.Hotel is located on one of the main streets of Sultanahmet named Yerebatan street, it is about 50 meters away to Basilica Cistern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Han reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Han, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.