We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The service makes this hotel great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agora Life Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Agora Life Hotel to your Saves list
Agora Life Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cagaloglu Hamam Sokak No:6 | (Old City, Sultanahmet), Istanbul 34110, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #38 of 957 Hotels in Istanbul
Thessaloniki, Greece
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The service makes this hotel great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at this hotel. The hotel is situated in an excellent location to explore the city by walking and the view from the rooftop terrace is phenomenal. We loved breakfast every morning on the roof. The rooms are clean, but may need a bit of paint in places. But the absolute best part of this hotel is the staff. There was absolutely no request that we made that was too big or too small. When we first arrived, the check-in staff treated us to Turkish tea and gave us a detailed map of the city. We sat with the staff member (I wish I could remember his name - he was wonderful) and he explained the major sites in Istanbul and how to get there. It made exploring the city so easy. The staff arranged taxi transportation for us, made reservations for us at a few restaurants and for a hamam experience, delivered requested items to our room immediately, and gave us a parting gift as we left. Truthfully, the staff at the hotel allowed us to make the most of our three days in Istanbul and made us feel so welcome. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, but particularly to those who may not have been to Istanbul before. The staff will see to it that you have a wonderful experience in this amazing city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    148
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
118
331
56
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This first visit to Istanbul with a friend was magical; Agora Life did contribute to this with its friendly, always helpful staff. It was easy from its location to walk to most sites in the old city. Views from our room and the roof top were sweeping over the Bosporus. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, bathroon adequate, and breakfast menu ample - with a Turkish touch.
Would stay again at a future visit.
The cost of the room was fairly high, but comparable to other boutique in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for "view" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We loved our 3 days at Agora Life Hotel. The property is a quiet oasis in a perfect location. It was so easy to walk to many historical sites as well as excellent restaurants. We were happy that we could walk everywhere as taking a taxi in Istanbul has its challenges. The hotel staff was extraordinary! They did everything possible to make our stay memorable. We loved morning breakfasts and evening wine on the rooftop terrace with unsurpassed views of the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. We can't wait to return both to Istanbul and to Agora Life Hotel.

Room Tip: Santa Sophia is a lovely spacious room with a breathtaking view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This could be a bit of a case of "you pay for what you get" but we weren't impressed with our stay at Agora Life.
We paid for a standard room, were offered a free upgrade but had to change rooms mid-way through our stay. First room was OK. Good size, pretty clean, a bit tired but OK (it had a safe, chair, fridge, little table, flatscreen, toiletries, cupboard). The second room was pretty poor. It was fairly clean but much smaller, the heater leaked water onto the floor, mould/water stains on the roof, no shower door.
The hotel is in a great location. Right near the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Bazaar, the Basilica Cistern and lots of restuarants.
The terrace does have fantastic views - we were there in winter but apparently breakfast is served on it in summer. We still went up and enjoyed a coffee and baklava (byo) and took photos.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was pretty good
Keep in mind that you will hear the call to prayer very loudly (if you want to stay in the old town you wont be able to avoid it). It only woke me up on the first night (after that I got used to it) and I thought it was all part of the experience.
I couldn't really recommend staying here in a standard room (I'm not sure if the upgrade is worth it but I doubt it). You could definitely do alot worse (nice staff, great location and all our complaints were minor ones but there were alot of them). This might be "as good as it gets in Istanbul at this price point" but I would still look somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Just returned from Istanbul. I had very pleased holiday in this magic city. First of all, I have to tell that Istanbul is very safe and local people are very friendly. This macigal city was one of the most impressive city I been.

Agora life hotel met my expectations. It has great location, five minutes walk to must see sights. The terrace in the hotel has amazing views of bosphrus, hagya sophia and all other splendid monuments. I would recommend to have breakfast up there which was perfect start to the day.

Staff of hotel very helpful, generous always with smile on their faces. They are more than happy to help in any topic. Rooms are not to big but are clean and nicely decorated. I will go back once travel to istanbul

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Agora Life when we were in Instanbul recently. Kadir and his staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming, especially after a less impressive Hotel in Izmir! The location is superb and the place is lovely,especially with their stunning rooftop views. Here it is a joy - day or night to view the sights of Istanbul from the comfort of a glass of wine or morning breakfast. The rooms are comfortable and very clean as are the bathrooms. The beds are very comfortable. Just one complaint when we were there - and of no fault of the staff- other guests were pathetically noisy. Why do doors need slamming? People need to be mindful of others who may like to sleep at 1am or not go to breakfast at 7am. As this is a small boutique hotel, this is terribly relevant. Other than that, my thanks to all the staff - from front desk to kitchen, to cleaning, to arranging some tours for us. All friendly and so helpful. Nothing was a problem for them to attend to and it was done efficiently and with a smile. A must to see the beautiful old city of Istanbul.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Hotel Agora Life was recommended by friend of mine who has stayed. The hotel is 10 minitus walk to all sights. It is located right next to famous turkish bath called caglagoglu and very quite area.

Our room on 3rd floor which was a deluxe room had perfect view of Bosphorus. We enjoyed our stay at Agroa and will be back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Agora Life Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Life Hotel

Address: Cagaloglu Hamam Sokak No:6 | (Old City, Sultanahmet), Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 957 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Agora Life Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5-minute walk from Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace, this boutique hotel offers modern accommodation with free wireless internet access and breakfast included, and a lovely rooftop terrace. In the heart of Sultanahmet, Agora Life Hotel offers an ideal location for guests who want easy access to Istanbul's most historic sites. Each of the rooms is tastefully decorated and has contemporary wooden floors. They feature LCD TV and laptop-size safes. Thoughtful touches also include bathrobe and slippers and a work desk.Istanbul's Grand Bazaar is just 10 minutes' walk away. There are also excellent public transport links close to Agora Life, providing easy access to the rest of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Agora Life Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agora Life Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.