We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agora Life Hotel

Save Saved
You added Agora Life Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Agora Life Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cagaloglu Hamam Sokak No:6 | (Old City, Sultanahmet), Istanbul 34110, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #34 of 915 hotels in Istanbul
Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Most wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This first visit to Istanbul with a friend was magical; Agora Life did contribute to this with its friendly, always helpful staff. It was easy from its location to walk to most sites in the old city. Views from our room and the roof top were sweeping over the Bosporus. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, bathroon adequate, and breakfast menu ample - with a Turkish touch.
Would stay again at a future visit.
The cost of the room was fairly high, but comparable to other boutique in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for "view" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    552
    131
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
107
307
49
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We loved our 3 days at Agora Life Hotel. The property is a quiet oasis in a perfect location. It was so easy to walk to many historical sites as well as excellent restaurants. We were happy that we could walk everywhere as taking a taxi in Istanbul has its challenges. The hotel staff was extraordinary! They did everything possible to make our stay memorable. We loved morning breakfasts and evening wine on the rooftop terrace with unsurpassed views of the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. We can't wait to return both to Istanbul and to Agora Life Hotel.

Room Tip: Santa Sophia is a lovely spacious room with a breathtaking view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This could be a bit of a case of "you pay for what you get" but we weren't impressed with our stay at Agora Life.
We paid for a standard room, were offered a free upgrade but had to change rooms mid-way through our stay. First room was OK. Good size, pretty clean, a bit tired but OK (it had a safe, chair, fridge, little table, flatscreen, toiletries, cupboard). The second room was pretty poor. It was fairly clean but much smaller, the heater leaked water onto the floor, mould/water stains on the roof, no shower door.
The hotel is in a great location. Right near the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Bazaar, the Basilica Cistern and lots of restuarants.
The terrace does have fantastic views - we were there in winter but apparently breakfast is served on it in summer. We still went up and enjoyed a coffee and baklava (byo) and took photos.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was pretty good
Keep in mind that you will hear the call to prayer very loudly (if you want to stay in the old town you wont be able to avoid it). It only woke me up on the first night (after that I got used to it) and I thought it was all part of the experience.
I couldn't really recommend staying here in a standard room (I'm not sure if the upgrade is worth it but I doubt it). You could definitely do alot worse (nice staff, great location and all our complaints were minor ones but there were alot of them). This might be "as good as it gets in Istanbul at this price point" but I would still look somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Just returned from Istanbul. I had very pleased holiday in this magic city. First of all, I have to tell that Istanbul is very safe and local people are very friendly. This macigal city was one of the most impressive city I been.

Agora life hotel met my expectations. It has great location, five minutes walk to must see sights. The terrace in the hotel has amazing views of bosphrus, hagya sophia and all other splendid monuments. I would recommend to have breakfast up there which was perfect start to the day.

Staff of hotel very helpful, generous always with smile on their faces. They are more than happy to help in any topic. Rooms are not to big but are clean and nicely decorated. I will go back once travel to istanbul

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Agora Life when we were in Instanbul recently. Kadir and his staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming, especially after a less impressive Hotel in Izmir! The location is superb and the place is lovely,especially with their stunning rooftop views. Here it is a joy - day or night to view the sights of Istanbul from the comfort of a glass of wine or morning breakfast. The rooms are comfortable and very clean as are the bathrooms. The beds are very comfortable. Just one complaint when we were there - and of no fault of the staff- other guests were pathetically noisy. Why do doors need slamming? People need to be mindful of others who may like to sleep at 1am or not go to breakfast at 7am. As this is a small boutique hotel, this is terribly relevant. Other than that, my thanks to all the staff - from front desk to kitchen, to cleaning, to arranging some tours for us. All friendly and so helpful. Nothing was a problem for them to attend to and it was done efficiently and with a smile. A must to see the beautiful old city of Istanbul.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Hotel Agora Life was recommended by friend of mine who has stayed. The hotel is 10 minitus walk to all sights. It is located right next to famous turkish bath called caglagoglu and very quite area.

Our room on 3rd floor which was a deluxe room had perfect view of Bosphorus. We enjoyed our stay at Agroa and will be back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I like to travel cultural cities and staying at nice boutique hotels. Agora Life Hotel looked best for me for my trip to Istanbul. And I was right. Coz really this hotel is so nice and cute hotel good post modern decoration. Also staffs were so gently that always so kind and nice and helpful and they gave us a small info about the area and so on.

Room was always clean and tidy. Breakfast was nice and also you can make breakfast at terrace of hotel. But my choice jus drink something before going sleep at terrace while looking amazing view of Bosphorus and St. Sophia.

At last thanks to all staffs especially for Mr. Isa coz he was so helpful and kind. Also so thanks to owner of hotel coz he was so nice to and even he gave us a small gift while leaving.

We recommend this hotel to everyone who want to enjoy Istanbul and want to stay near the real old town. Best place for holiday...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agora Life Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Life Hotel

Address: Cagaloglu Hamam Sokak No:6 | (Old City, Sultanahmet), Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 915 hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Agora Life Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5-minute walk from Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace, this boutique hotel offers modern accommodation with free wireless internet access and breakfast included, and a lovely rooftop terrace. In the heart of Sultanahmet, Agora Life Hotel offers an ideal location for guests who want easy access to Istanbul's most historic sites. Each of the rooms is tastefully decorated and has contemporary wooden floors. They feature LCD TV and laptop-size safes. Thoughtful touches also include bathrobe and slippers and a work desk.Istanbul's Grand Bazaar is just 10 minutes' walk away. There are also excellent public transport links close to Agora Life, providing easy access to the rest of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Agora Life Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agora Life Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.