We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Agora Life Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Agora Life Hotel to your Saves list
Agora Life Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cagaloglu Hamam Sokak No:6, Istanbul 34110, Turkey (Sultanahmet)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #59 of 1,070 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Spent 7 nights at the Agora Life Hotel in Istanbul.

The location is excellent - just a few minutes walk from all the major sites such as Aya Sofya, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Basilica Cistern and the Grand Bazaar. Of course the price you pay for such a central location is very small room sizes but you probably won't spend that much time in your room.

The buffet breakfast is very good and cooked eggs are available on request at no extra charge. The roof terrace is lovely for breakfast or watching the sun go down over a glass of wine and some turkish tea.

The staff were all excellent - friendly, helpful and always willing to help.

One tip - we were told that the only difference between regular and deluxe rooms is the view. We had a deluxe room with a view of Aya Sofya but we were only on the second floor so I wouldn't describe the view as spectacular and, as we spent the vast majority of daylight hours out and about we probably would have been better advised to save some money and book a regular room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi666Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying three nights at Agora Life Hotel. This is a great little hotel on a small quiet street and very close to all the major tourist sites. The staff is welcoming, helpful and attentive. Breakfast was very good and the terrace views are outstanding. We stayed in the Bosphorous Suite, which had a wonderful view of all the boats and harbor activities. The room was large, although with the sloped roofs a bit dangerous for the taller person. Also be warned that the bathtub is very high and would not be suitable for more elderly persons. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a small contemporary hotel which really is just like the photographs! On arrival and throughout our stay we were made to feel very welcome. The staff were friendly and always more than happy to help. The rooms are a good size and the hotel is spotlessly clean. The terrace has the most outstanding views of the city which are breath taking in the day and really must be seen at night. We highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I was incredibly pleased with the hotel. The staff was helpful and efficient throughout. For a European hotel, the room was quite spacious, with good closet space, actually two spaces to sit and eat or read, a good sized bathroom, and VERY clean. The bed was quite comfortable, the water pressure and temperature in the shower was great, and the air conditioning excellent. It is in a great location in the Old Town, very close to various sites and within very short walking distance to the tram. The breakfast in the morning was diverse, fresh, and excellent.
DO NOT miss the rooftop terrace. It is amazing.
The only issue I had was getting to the hotel in the first place, as the taxi driver had trouble, even with the address given to him. If you tell him to go to the Basilica Cistern, however, it will get you within just a few blocks of the place, and you should be able to get help from there!
I think this hotel was an EXCELLENT value for the price, and I would go back there again easily.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDavidC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Wonderfully located, with stunning views from the rooftop (where we breakfasted, and took evening drinks). The staff could not have been more helpful or accommodating. We will be back very soon to Istanbul and Agora Life.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jannydunsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Sensational hotel, fabulous rooms, location walking distance to all main attractions, around the corner from 50+ restaurants/cafes. Superb views from the Agora Life rooftop bar/cafe. great breakfast with freshly cooked pastries everyday. Best of all the staff made our holiday perfect, Kadir is wonderful and kind host he and his staff are happy to help anytime of the day or night to make sure your stay is memorable. They certainly did that for my mum and 2 friends. I cannot thankyou enough Kadir and staff, we will be back and anyone thinking of travelling to Istanbul, dont miss the best place in Istanbul AGORA LIFE. Thanks again Kadir hope to see you again soon. Love the scarf and bottle of red
Bye janette from australia

Room Tip: Stay in the delux rooms have comfortable beds, great views and plenty of space Sorry there is no p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maddmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We would come back again in a heartbeat. This lovely boutique hotel has a very helpful and knowledgeable staff led by Kadir. We were upgraded to a suite upon arrival. While our room was being prepared (we arrived at 10:30 am) Kadir lined up a fantastic tour guide to give us a private eight hour tour of the main sites of Sultanahmet. The terrace, as others have mentioned, has amazing views of the Bosphorous river and bridge (lit at night in a series of colors) as well as of the Hagia Sophia. Be sure to check the Alta Kupa restaurant just down the street for great local dishes and entertaining service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Arden City Hotel
Arden City Hotel
#73 of 1,070 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Sultanahmet
Adamar Hotel
Adamar Hotel
#82 of 1,070 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 1,133 reviews
Sultanahmet
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
#61 of 1,070 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#19 of 1,070 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 751 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City
Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City
#81 of 1,070 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#28 of 1,070 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agora Life Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Life Hotel

Address: Cagaloglu Hamam Sokak No:6, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 1,070 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Agora Life Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5-minute walk from Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace, this boutique hotel offers modern accommodation with free wireless internet access, free breakfast and a lovely rooftop terrace. In the heart of Sultanahmet, Agora Life Hotel offers an ideal location for guests who want easy access to Istanbul's most historic sites. Each of the rooms is tastefully decorated and has contemporary wooden floors. They feature LCD TV and laptop-size safeboxes. Thoughtful touches also include bathrobe, slippers and a work desk. Istanbul's Grand Bazaar is just 10 minutes' walk away. There are also excellent public transport links close to Agora Life Hotel, providing easy access to the rest of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Agora Life Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing