We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turned out all right...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agora Life Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Agora Life Hotel to your Saves list
Agora Life Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cagaloglu Hamam Sokak No:6 | (Old City, Sultanahmet), Istanbul 34110, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #36 of 931 Hotels in Istanbul
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Turned out all right...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We very recently stayed three nights at this hotel, which originally was supposed to be five nights. There had been a miscommunication with Expedia and when I contacted the hotel two days before our arrival to ask about airport transfer, I found out that there was no record of our booking. This was very worrying of course, especially since our daughter was flying in from Canada and we from Bangkok, both very long flights. Via email we corresponded and were told that we could stay the first night in their sister hotel, and the remainder at the Agora. As it turned out we stayed two nights at the sister hotel (The And Hotel) and three nights at the Agora. Kadir, the manager, who speaks excellent English, did everything in his power to correct the situation and succeeded very well. The And Hotel was fine, even somewhat closer to the sites than the Agora (just a few minutes walk). At the Agora we were upgraded to the Bosphorus suite for us and a superior double room for our daughter, complimentary bottle of wine and fresh fruit plate, plus we did not have to pay for the airport pick up and drop off.
I am not sure where the miscommunication originated, but from now on I will book directly with the hotels.
Previous reviewers have pointed out the excellent breakfast, helpful and friendly staff and really, really good location and we totally agree. It was too cold for the terrace, but that would be an added bonus. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    138
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
109
324
51
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston TX USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed there for 6 nights and was given great service. Breakfast that was included had a great selection and they would make you an omelet, tea or Turkish Coffee if you requested it . Note that the sea gulls are pretty noisy any where you go in Istanbul.

Room Tip: Hagia Sophia suite is the largest of all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A boutique hotel in that it's very small, with limited facilities and friendly service. There are some shortcomings: my room was very small (with the bonus of a semi-private terrace, albeit right up against a noisy steam laundry), and sound-proofing is poor. Decent spread at breakfast, but served in a characterless basement room. In better weather I understand you can take your tray up to the roof terrace - which looked very promising, with glimpses of key landmarks amidst the ugly clutter of this dense part of the old city. The central location is excellent, but the immediate surroundings rather shabby. All in all, probably good value for Sultanahmet, but don't expect miracles!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Agora Life turned out to be a great find on our trip to Istanbul in February. It is a small, very modern hotel within easy walking distance of everything in the old town. The staff is very personable and helpful with any special requests and even mapped out the sights for us without even asking.. We weren't sure what to expect as we booked a less-expensive, non-view room. On arrival, they upgraded us to a room with an INCREDIBLE view of the Hagia Sophia and the Bosphorus Strait. Our pictures out our windows look like we Photoshopped them. The room itself was certainly not huge but everything was new, modern and comfortable (and even included free wifi). The shower was great (although the fact that it was mostly open led to more than a little overspray outside the shower which probably only bothered me though). Overall, I would highly recommend the Agora Life. I don't think you will find a better deal in the old town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jelgava, Latvia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel is perfect for a nice couples and families stay. The terrace is with a wonderful view to the city. This hotel with all the staff, who were really kind to us, is inside the historic town. The personnel was very kind and helpful. It felt like we were their only guests. Always were around to offer a nice cup of coffee or tea. We had a high quality breakfast and rooms were of a very high quality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Big thanks to the personnel and especially to Isa for making our holidays even better! We enjoyed the days fully and the room was lovely, clean and comfortable. Even though it was quite small, was very homely, not even mentioning the amazing view out of the window. They offered a variety of food of all kinds for any taste. the teritory around the hotel was not very big but different transport links lead into the city. The Cathedral was only 3 minutes from the hotel as well as the castle. Definitely worth to go. The reception always very friendly and helpful, we felt appreciated. See you next year! xx

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nags Head, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Agora Life is on a quite side street where you can find the women's entrance to Cagaloglu Hamami for quick access to the 300 year old turkish bath. The roof top balcony offers excellent views of the Golden Horn, Bosphorus Strait, Topkapi Palace grounds and a stunning shot of Hagie Sophia. My wife and I stayed with our 3 year old daughter, hotel set up a pack and play with linens which was very nice. Breakfast filled us up each day. All staff are very friendly and eager to tell you about the city sights.

Pros:
5 to 10 minute walk, even with 3 year old to Grand Bazaar, Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque along with tons of eateries and shopping.
Great Exchange rate at hotel desk, I would recommend.
Super view from Top Balcony
Wonderful Hospitality
Clean and modern furnishings
Airport pick up service
Solid Value

Cons:
Bed a little firm
We stayed on the First floor, rooms get some lobby noise. Not bad as it is a small lobby but for a light sleeper may want to ask for a higher floor.

We had a great experience and would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in Istanbul.

Room Tip: First Floor rooms can hear the lobby noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agora Life Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Life Hotel

Address: Cagaloglu Hamam Sokak No:6 | (Old City, Sultanahmet), Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 931 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Agora Life Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5-minute walk from Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace, this boutique hotel offers modern accommodation with free wireless internet access and breakfast included, and a lovely rooftop terrace. In the heart of Sultanahmet, Agora Life Hotel offers an ideal location for guests who want easy access to Istanbul's most historic sites. Each of the rooms is tastefully decorated and has contemporary wooden floors. They feature LCD TV and laptop-size safes. Thoughtful touches also include bathrobe and slippers and a work desk.Istanbul's Grand Bazaar is just 10 minutes' walk away. There are also excellent public transport links close to Agora Life, providing easy access to the rest of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Agora Life Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agora Life Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.