We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just pure perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agora Life Hotel

Save Saved
You added Agora Life Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Agora Life Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cagaloglu Hamam Sokak No:6 | (Old City, Sultanahmet), Istanbul 34110, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer
Ranked #43 of 885 hotels in Istanbul
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Just pure perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed there for 4 nights on our honeymoon through Europe. It was the last place on our tour and we didn’t know what to expect and were just blown away, by the city and by the hotel. It was by far the best hotel we stayed at and one of the most beautiful cities we have seen.
All the staff were amazing. They all speak English and you can comfortably communicate with them. A special thanks to Kadir, he went out of his way to make our trip very comfortable and enjoyable. He greeted us everyday by our first names and really made us, fell welcomed. His recommendation of restaurants and sightseeing was amazing.

We stayed in one of the suits and had the most incredible views of the Bosphorus and Hagia Sophia. Our suit was very spacious and very comfortable compared to some of the other hotel suits in the Europe. The location of the hotel in the old town is perfect, all the main sights are walking distance no more than 5 to 15 min. It’s also on a quiet street and its away from all the noise.

We can’t wait to go back there on our next European trip.

A TIP:
4 days is not enough to see and experience the true beauty of Istanbul. We regret not staying 7 nights.
Senad and Jessica

Room Tip: Stay in one of the suits, suits and had the most incredible views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    497
    120
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
93
280
44
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

4 of us stayed here for 5 nights in late November (2 rooms) and overall we liked the hotel very much.
The best things are:
The excellent location, within walking distance of all the main sites, yet on a quiet road.
The extremely helpful and friendly staff who gave a great overview of the hotel and things to do in Istanbul + were generally very helpful and friendly.
Modern, attractively furnished, clean rooms with good bathrooms.
Great rooftop terrace with stunning views.
Good breakfast with helpful staff.
A really great, relaxed atmosphere - feels like staying with a family but with total privacy - the staff are there if you need them, the hotel feels cosy and friendly and we were always happy to return at the end of each day.
Criticisms (minor):
The rooms and bathrooms are quite small.
The soundproofing could be better.
Someone was smoking somewhere and we could smell this in our room at night (I did not take this up with the hotel so did not give them the opportunity to remedy the problem).
Despite the above criticisms I would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Istanbul and would definitely stay there again.
One small piece of advice: if you want a trip on the Bosphorus and are not bothered about having a guide you can just turn up at the sea front and take one of the many tourist boats for about 10-12L. The trip lasts about 1.5 hours.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We spent 5 days at this hotel and from the moment we checked in until the moment we left, we were blown over by the great service.

We arrived late and the man who checked us in was beyond helpful. So very gracious and personable. He gave us a lot of good tips about the city as well.

Our room was kind of small, but more than enough space for us and our luggage. Plus, we had an outstanding view of the Hagia Sophia and the Bosphorus.

By far the standout of this hotel, besides the incredible staff, is having breakfast on the rooftop terrace. Just beautiful. And the breakfast buffet had almost everything you could ask for, fruit, cereals, homemade cakes, fresh cheeses, a variety of toasts, etc.

I loved this hotel and this being our first trip to Istanbul, it made our trip 100% perfect. We would return in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: I think we were in room 303 or maybe 313? - the view was spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I spent 3 nights in Istanbul at this lovely boutique hotel. By "boutique" I mean things are special. The room is nicely and tastefully decorated (don't expect large and spacious) with all the amenities needed.

The staffs, every one of them and especially Mr.Kadir, the manager, offered us their Turkish hospitality that made our trip even more special. We arrived very early in the morning, like 6 am, they helped get us a room (even though normal hotel check-in time is 1 pm) so we can rest a bit before starting our day. Everyone helped us with any arrangements we needed for our trip both here in Istanbul and in Cappadocia. We had a few chats every mornings and felt like things are personalized here.

The location is superb, off onto a quite road, yet very close to all the historic attractions. We even came back to the hotel just to put away some stuffs and out again for the convenient reason.

The breakfast as the previous reviewer said is more than enough.

I'd definitely recommend friends and family to stay here at Agora Life.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puy de Dome
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I booked this hotel for a two day stop over. We arrived late at night using the transfer service which was very convienient and only slightly more expensive than the return taxi without the hassel of having to find a cab in a strange city.
Our welcome at the reception area was first class with the young man (Evan I think) going out of his way to set the tone for our vist to the city of which he was obviously so proud.
The location of this clean and well decorated hotel is its greatest strength. Only a few minutes walk from the major historic sites of the city and a range of restaurants it is nonetheless quite and peacful away from busy roads and noise.
The manager/owner of the hotel also welcomed us warmly the next morning and answered the few questions we had.
As has been said by previous reviewers, the view from the roof terrace is fantastic especially at night , don't miss it!!
This is a good place to stay for a short or long visit giving a great welcome and great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agoralife, Manager at Agora Life Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

First all of we thank you so much for kind feedback. We, as Agora Life Hotel team appreciate encouraging review which adapts us to improve given services even better.

Sincere regards,

Kadir Cikan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I book this hotel as last minute,
As I arrived I was a bit disapointed how small and the lobby is but as I entered my room I was surprised how nice and clean is and the best was the view over the roofs of Istanbul all the way to bosphorus and the bridge with all those nice colourful perfect, nicer couldn't be.
All people working in the hotel were very friendly, helpful and polite.
The breakfast is more than enough and you can have everything fresh. almost:-)
I will definitly stay next time hopefuly very soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agoralife, Manager at Agora Life Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Valude Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging comments. I am so glad to know that Agora Life met your expectations.

We sincerely look forward to seeing you again.

All the best,

Kadir Cikan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I travel to Istanbul frequently and I often stay at this hotel. It is located in the heart of the historical center and very conveniently situated for my business as well. I like the way the (quiet) rooms are decorated and some of them have an amazing view of the Bosphorus or/and Hagia Sophia. Staff is hands on and when you stay three nights or more you get a free ride back to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Agora Life Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Life Hotel

Address: Cagaloglu Hamam Sokak No:6 | (Old City, Sultanahmet), Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 885 hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Agora Life Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5-minute walk from Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace, this boutique hotel offers modern accommodation with free wireless internet access and breakfast included, and a lovely rooftop terrace. In the heart of Sultanahmet, Agora Life Hotel offers an ideal location for guests who want easy access to Istanbul's most historic sites. Each of the rooms is tastefully decorated and has contemporary wooden floors. They feature LCD TV and laptop-size safes. Thoughtful touches also include bathrobe and slippers and a work desk.Istanbul's Grand Bazaar is just 10 minutes' walk away. There are also excellent public transport links close to Agora Life, providing easy access to the rest of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Agora Life Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agora Life Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.