We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful knowledgable guide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Context Travel - Day Tours

Context Travel - Day Tours
Kaya Aldagan Sok 7/1, Istanbul 80300, Turkey (Esentepe)
8006916036
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #65 of 380 activities in Istanbul
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: We organize small-group (6 people max) walking tours of Istanbul, led by scholars, professors, and experts in a given topic. A finalist in National Geographic's Geotourism Challenge, Context walks offer a sustainable alternative to large group tours.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“wonderful knowledgable guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We visited the Topkapi Palace with Claire and were the only people on the tour. She answered every question and showed fanatastic knowledge of the building and Turkish history. We learnt far more than if we had gone alone. Well worth the cost and we are recommending it to friends and will use Context elsewhere. If all the guides are as good as Claire it is well worth it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    1
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
“well worth the time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We took the Hagia Sophia tour late april with Claire. It was a super tour, well organized and about 3 hours in length. She took us through and told us all kinds of information we would have otherwise not known. And was happy to spend more time in areas where the group (4 of us) had more questions. Overall, it was a fantastic experience & I would recommend it to anyone looking for more information on the historical sites in Istanbul. I had originally signed up for a guide around the city, which to me felt like a guy who would guide me to buy things from his friends. I was very disappointed and told him so, at which point he recommended Context if I wanted 'historical' information rather than a sales pitch. He was right, you should go).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampton bays, ny
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Docents and Well Planned Walks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We took 5 different walks while in Istanbul in February. The walks we took were Byzantium on the Golden Horn, History and Continuity, Hagia Sofia Seminar, Topkapi Palace and Markets of Istanbul. Each was unique and very satisfying. The depth of knowledge of our docent, Ebru, speaks to the high-quality people Context employs. She was much, much more than a guide-a treasure trove of nuanced information presented effortlessly and with excitement. Context is designed for people who are thirsty for knowledge. If you want to immerse yourself in Istanbul than do yourself a favor and book a tour.

We've taken their walks in Rome and were very happy too.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Way to See Aga Sofya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The four of us did a private tour with Claire for the Aga Sofya and it was well worth it. The building is amazing, but if we had gone by ourselves, we agreed that we wouldn't have stayed as long or appreciated it as much. After we finished with the church, we saw walked through the Hippodrome and the Mosaic Museum. There was a lot of standing (as opposed to walking), so wear really comfy shoes.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Extremely memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Just came back from the "History and Continuity" tour and thoroughly enjoyed it. It had everything we wanted: information from an expert scholar, unique venues you wouldn't normally go to, atmosphere, and intellectual stimulation. Cannot recommend highly enough!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Context Travel - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Context Travel - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Context Travel - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Context Travel - Day Tours to your Saves list