We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay and lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bucoleon Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bucoleon Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Bucoleon Palace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Cayiroglu Sok. No:22 | Sultanahmet ( Old City ), Istanbul 34400, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
London, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay and lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Room was clean and cozy. It is a small hotel yet have everything that I needed. Staffs were friendly and very helpful. Location is superb, all the attractions and historical sites are in walking distances. Wifi works fine and I can say it was quite fast in room and all the places in the building. The view from terrace on the top floor of the building is just amazing and breathtaking. I can say I loved it. Except that there was no radiator but an ac with hot temperature in the room and the room was little bit small. But it worth staying and you won't regret it.

Room Tip: The higher the floor is, you will have better view if you are not going to stay in suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunay y, Guest Relations Manager at Bucoleon Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear valued customer,

In harmony with our core values and our belief that quality is a continuous search for excellence; It is our pleasure to have your review, we're glad for your staying, and we were very happy to hear that you loved the view from our terrace..

In the name of all our staffs we look forward to meeting you again..
we won't forget you!

Bucoleon Team
Jake Green
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    56
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
30
93
25
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Nice small hotel in the heart of the main attractions in the old town of Istanbul.
Clean rooms withe necessary amenities.
Very nice breakfast, home style.
We could have breakfast at the terrace with its spectacular view, but the weather did not allow.
This is my hotel each time i travel to Istanbul, and really recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunay y, Guest Relations Manager at Bucoleon Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for kind review and for your continuous loyalty to our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and thanks for your recommendation.

We look forward to welcome you again in your second home Bucoleon Palace,
As we wish you all the best.

Jake Green
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Bucoleon Palace Hotel is located in one of the most important historical sites of Istanbul, that is Sultanahmet. It is surrounded by cosy, small yet very nice restaurants. The hotel provides open buffet breakfast with complimentary tea, coffee, fresh fruit juice. To those of you who haven't tasted Turkish Coffee I recommend you do so after your breakfast watching the great view of Marmara sea and Princess Islands from the terrace located in the top floor of the building. The hotel is adjacent to many other sightseeing places you should visit before you leave the town. The staff was very hospitable and kind to their guests, the rooms were spick and span! Definitely worth staying!

Room Tip: Suite rooms have beatiful sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunay y, Guest Relations Manager at Bucoleon Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear valued guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback.
We are delighted to hear that you liked our location and the view from the suite and the terrace, as we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you Turkish coffee whenever you come again..

With all the best & warm regards.

Jake Green
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I enjoyed the location of the hotel, as well as the professional and hospitable staff. As a traveling tourist who comes to Istanbul every summer with family, the location of the hotel is conveniently close to many historical spots that I enjoy visiting. I particularly love the peaceful view of the sea of Marmara from the balcony of the hotel. The rooms are tastefully designed, as well as clean and well maintained by the very helpful and friendly staff. The food was just as tasteful! For someone on a reasonable budget, the price was great for the service provided. All in all, I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunay y, Guest Relations Manager at Bucoleon Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear valued guest,

We thank you for your kind review, and we're glad to hear that you enjoyed the staying especially the location, the design and the view, we were happy as well welcoming you and your family, we strive to provide the best we can do regarding the price, and the service.
As we wish you all the best to you and your kind family,
Looking to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in Bucoleon Palace,

Best Regards,

Jake Green
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salwa city, Kuwait
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed in Bucoleon Palace hotel 3 times, each time was motivation to make me stay again, it's a small boutique hotel in the old city, the location is very nice & quite, the staff are helpful & professional, every thing you need to know about the old city is within a walking distance or else you can use the tram, the terrace of the two rooms in the back is overlooking the seafront which is a beautiful view, the old style cafe next door is a great place to enjoy a real ottoman experience with an old ambiance, it's called marmara Cafe, there are many souvenir shops & restaurant near by, the fish restaurants on the sea side are within a walking distance, yes it is a small boutique hotel hidden in the corners of the old city but its what I recommend for a couple especially the suit or garden rooms.

Room Tip: The rooms with a terrace are the best especially in the summer days
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunay y, Guest Relations Manager at Bucoleon Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear valued guest,
At first allow me to thank you for your kind review and your continuous loyalty to Bucoloeon Palace, we're sure our guests will consider your detailed explanation regarding the location and the recommendation regarding the suite and the garden.

We look forward to welcome you for the forth time,
Wish you all the best,

Jake Green
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The expectations for somebody who reads "Palace" in the title of a hotel normally are big. Minimum expects a big and imposing building. In our case the whole title "Bucoleon Palace" refers to a Greek Palace built on the coast of Marmara sea in Constantinople by Theodosius the Second in the 5th century (construction completed three centuries later). Once the visitor arrives at the hotel remains a bit perplexed from the dimensions of the hotel itself and those of the modest reception. This first impression do not lasts. The rooms (a little small) are clean and aesthetically well furnished with decent bathroom. Those in the upper floors have nice view but the best (great!) view on the Marmara Sea you will get from the terrace where the well prepared and rich breakfast is served. The price is normal considering that Istanbul is getting more and more expensive the last years. The location is the best! You have all the historical city centre by foot!!! Alternativelly the tram station Sultanahmet distances 5 minutes walk. Maybe this report sounds a bit contradictory as contradictory and contrasted and profoundly interesting and exiting is Istanbul itself...

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the last floor (terrace).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunay y, Guest Relations Manager at Bucoleon Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Allow us to thank you in the name of Bucoleon Palace Team for your detailed information about the historical story of Bucoleon Palace, we're glad you

enjoyed the view from the terrace, the location, and the breakfast, we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Wish you a Merry Christmas

Kind Regards,
Jake Green
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

location of this hotel is very good. Great view of the sea and mosque both. Staff were very helpful. We were with small kids and got all the facilities any time we needed. Breakfast was superb!!! airport transfers as well as tourist guides were provided but prices for tours were on higher side. Suggest you to better contact local tour operators before booking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunay y, Guest Relations Manager at Bucoleon Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We kindly thank you for the time you spent to write your review on TripAdvisor, we're glad you were happy with our staff regarding the facilities. We already considered your suggestion and now we can provide several options which will make things easier to our guests, beside the new special prices we got, only to guests who stay at Bucoleon Palace Hotel.

Our first aim is doing the utmost we can to make our guests' stay enjoyable and unforgettable.

We wish you all the best!

Jake Green
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bucoleon Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bucoleon Palace Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Cayiroglu Sok. No:22 | Sultanahmet ( Old City ), Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bucoleon Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a charming and quiet corner street in the heart of what used to be called "Stamboul" in the 19th Century of the Ottoman Empire, we welcome you to the Bucoleon Palace Hotel. Situated in the heart of what used to be capitol of two greatest Empires in history: Byzantine and Ottoman, in Sultan Ahmet District of Istanbul. Enjoy a comfortable stay while you sleep where the greatest empires have reigned. Have delightful, both savory and sweet, with diverse variety made in the hotel kitchen every morning. Breakfast is served on the terrace with sweeping views of the breathtaking view of the blue Sea of Marmara and the Princess Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bucoleon Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bucoleon Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.