We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tunel Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tunel Residence to your Saves list
Tunel Residence
5.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Evliya Celebi Mah. Mesrutiyet Cad. No:96 Sishane, Beyoglu, Istanbul 1546362, Turkey (New City / Taksim)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #139 of 928 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is my fourth stay at this hotel. I tried several hotels between my stays, but each time I return back to this hotel. It has a strategic location in Taksim and walkable to Eminounu.. The metro is at the front of the hotel door.. The best thing is staff.. Helpful, understanding and willing to do anything you ask for. Early check-in, late check-out, luggage storage, free airport transfer, breakfast in resturant or in the room.. Excellent services.
The different in this visit is the room type, as I always stay in a suite, but this time they have a new superior rooms that suites my need and has an amazing view. This hotel rating is inaccurate because of its standard room size.. For the price paid I am more than satisfied and Tunel residence is my number 1 choice in Istanbul.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    35
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
27
44
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

This hotel is OK. Definitely NOT a 5 star! Breakfast excluded, room was absolutely tiny, mold stains in bath, headboard had seen better days. Spa was nice and staff friendly, but it lacked the little extra service which one should get in a 5* (like an umbrella when it rains, someone to help with the luggage, etc). Next time I will book a boutique hotel off Istiklal Caddesi, like the Public Hotel, which is expensive, but truly amazing.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

I was just at this hotel for the first time on a work related trip. I was in room 203 which was nice but had seen better days - big mold stain in shower along with peeling ceiling. You were provided with one shampoo and a shower gel and one large bottle of water that was never replaced. The location is good, near Taksim and a metro stop, but don't plan on getting any work done from your room. The Wifi only seems to work if standing in the hallway or the lobby - they did offer to move me to the same room on a different floor, but didn't seem to understand that if the wifi router was in the same spot on that floor, the internet still wouldn't work. They did nothing to resolve that, so you have to either stand in the lobby or park yourself at Big Chef's which also has WiFi - I doubt that I would choose this hotel again unless in a pinch. The gym is OK, but they don't open until 10am which is very inconvenient for anyone wanting a morning workout before the work day. It's also pretty noisy at night - so if I were there for just some fun, didn't need internet or sleep, this would be fine but I would definitely not recommend for business related trips.

Room Tip: If you need internet, try to stay in a room as close to the elevator as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

We chose this hotel because of the recommendation of our friends Murat and Fuat and honestly I have to thank both of them for such a great advise! The hotel is located in a excellent location, very near to the beautiful Galata Tower and the nice surrounding area of Galata. From there you are very close to the Golden Horn, where most of the historical monuments are located. The hotel is new and the facilities are great, very clean and the staff is extremely helpful and nice and a very good restaurant with a pleasant atmosphere . Many thanks to all the staff for their hospitality and kindness, also to Mr. Mustafa Bülent for his attentions :)
Ralph Geyer

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

I stayed for 4 nights end of February. I have been coming back to Tünel Residence for 4 yrs and consider myself as a very faithful customer. I love the location and Beyoglu, everything is close and near, metro, tram, bus, you can walk to tourist sites and even go shopping nearby.
Big Chefs restaurant is very good. My only remarks are as follows:

-WIFI not working for two days, big downside, never happened before, luckily Big Chefs restaurant has a separate WIFI so I could work!
-New management at the hotel : from my understanding it was sold or taken over by Continental Hotel. I was first in room 203 and this is not the best one, as it's on the 2nd floor, so noisy. I could only change 2 days later. Room 203 needs some work: big mold stain in the shower which needs to be fixed.

My advice to the new management is to invest in renovation in some of the rooms and to better monitor what the cleaning staff does (they come at different times, sometimes very late in the afternoon sometimes very early in the morning, forget some of the amenities, or forget to clean the bathrooms properly). Also ensure that there is a more stable team at the front desk, people keep leaving and the turnover is high. Compare witrh Big Chefs where some of the staff are the same since 4 years!

I would still stay at Tünel Residence in the future and recommend this location. But I feel that it's ok for people who are seasoned travellers and are used to 'do -it -yourself' and know Turkey.
Some of the staff doesn't speak English and their knowledge of how to get around and time needed to certain addresses within Istanbul is limited. I know Istanbul so it's ok, and can rely on many business contacts and friends, but for people needing more assistance, this is insufficient.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

This is my favorite hotel in Istanbul. The metro is across of the street. The best part is the staff - they are friendly and helpful. It's a great place to stay. Great restaurants all within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tunel Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunel Residence

Address: Evliya Celebi Mah. Mesrutiyet Cad. No:96 Sishane, Beyoglu, Istanbul 1546362, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 928 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Tunel Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Tunel Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunel Residence Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tunel Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.