We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow service and mediocre food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Karadeniz aile Pide & Kabap

Karadeniz aile Pide & Kabap
Divan Yolu Cad. Haci Tahsin Bey Sok.No:1 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey
02125229191
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #709 of 10,932 restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Slow service and mediocre food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Went here because of the good reviews from tripadvisor and lonely planet - left dissapointeded and a bit hungry. The shepard salat was quite good, but their renowned pide was a let down; small in size and taste. Our waiter dissapeared and it was a hazzle to get the check. A one time visit fo' shure, keepin' it real some other place in Sultanahmet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    27
    52
    20
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gjovik, Norway
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good pide, good coffee, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just go here and eat their pide, you won't regret it. Cheap too.

Nice!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Best pide and dürüm I've had in Turkey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I've had pide and dürüm in various restaurants across the country, and this is the best I've had so far. The dürüm kebap was good and the wrap bread itself was perfection. Also, the prices are good (for the touristy area it's in) and the gentleman who took our order was charming. You can watch your food being made from the outside tables if you sit next to the windows. I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Unbeatable Pide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Being Italian I sometimes miss having pizza when I travel. I discovered that every country has its local version of it, and Turkey's take on pizza is called pide. While it might be difficult to compare the two, I think that a good pide can definitely hit the spot when you have the need for cooked bread, and Karadeniz is definitely the place for it. As with other places I wouldn't be surprised if there are better 'Pide Salonu' in some remote parts of the city. The great thing about Karadeniz is that it is in the heart of Sultanhamet, that they have a huge turnover which in turn means that all of their ingredients are fresh. The Cheese Pide is definitely my favourite, but try them all. If you like pizza you definitely won't be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells
2 reviews
“Good food, watch the price of the drinks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Fantastic location and lovely, good value food but make sure that you ask for the price of drinks before you order them. Even water and ayran were at least three times more than in other restaurants, and made a surprising amount of difference when we got the bill.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karadeniz aile Pide & Kabap also viewed

 

Been to Karadeniz aile Pide & Kabap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karadeniz aile Pide & Kabap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.