We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolis Cafe And Restaurant

Metropolis Cafe And Restaurant
Akbiyik Caddesi, Terbiyik Sokak No:19 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34110 , Turkey
+902125176826
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,603 of 11,471 Restaurants in Istanbul
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

After reading all the reviews on here i thought i would give the restaurant a try this is a truly excellent place . i dinned in here alone and was made to feel so welcome and very well looked after by all the staff i took the advice off one of the waiters and ordered the lamb clay pot which is known as the testi kebab it was an amazing dish and i would reccomend to anyone who visits to try this. you dont have to wait to long for your order to arrive and the presentation is excellent. the house wine was very tasty and i managed to get through the whole bottle this wine was very good value for the money .. i was so impressed with the food drink and my whole evening i returned every night for my 10 days stay in sultan ahmet... give this restaurant a try and believe me you wont be disapointed .

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    145
    73
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Went here for dinner, but was actually thinking about skipping dinner all together because we were so tired from sight seeing all day. I'm so glad my bf and I came here. First of all, area is around a bunch of lounges, so there is a party atmosphere and energy in this area. If you want quiet, this area is not for you. The restaurant is opened late! We came at 10:30pm and were seated right away in the patio. Not knowing much about Turkish food, we ordered a few things that we thought would be good, and then asked the waiter to recommend some dishes, and a bottle of wine. Both did not disappoint. Wine was good, and went well with the food. If you are looking for a good place to eat, this is it, and it is open late. Thank you reviewers from tripadvisor, because I followed your recommendation to go this restaurant, and it did not disappoint. I will definitely be coming back here again, when I go to Istanbul again!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“the best night in sultanahmet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My friends and i were Metropolis restaurant 2nights ago. the food an atmosphere is great. waiters are very friendly. I enjoyed alot, and suggest you try food there.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abha, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excllent place with excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We had dinner at this restaurant in an Istanbul night. We ordered Turkish kebab in the pot which is broken specially for you, which was a different experience.
The food taste was amazing even the starters or the main coarse.
The only thing I didn't like is thet the service is very slow and you get your order after a hell long time.
But we loved the overall experience

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Metropolis Cafe was our favorite restaurant in Istanbul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We ate at the Metropolis three times during a two-week period in October. The service, food and atmosphere were all great. I would recommend the Ottoman dishes and the seafood, in particular. The lamb is great, especially the mutancana. It is near most of the major Istanbul tourist attractions and, of course, has mostly tourists eating there, but I think that it is an excellent experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metropolis Cafe And Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Metropolis Cafe And Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolis Cafe And Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.