We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, amazing atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalamar Restaurant

Kalamar Restaurant
Capariz Sok No.15, Istanbul 34130, Turkey (Sirkeci)
517 1849
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,030 of 11,047 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sirkeci
London
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Amazing food, amazing atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Niles which is near this street so took the opportunity to head down to the 'fish street' to try it out. Brilliant night - the street itself has about 40 fish restaurants - every single one packed! It's really lively and loud - there are Turkish musicians playing clarinets and drums and singing away - it's an terrific atmosphere.

We chose Kalamar as it was in the Rough Guide - we're glad we did - had some of the best fish ever! We were sat outside (much better as you can really soak up the atmosphere).

We had calamari to start - really nice. Then I had the fish casserole for main - delicious - one of the best meals I have ever had! My boyfriend had the seabass - cooked whole - it tasted really good - he only let me have a bit of it though! We also had a side order of spinach - it comes cold and spiced with chilli - really, really good - I want to make it at home now.

I would definitely recommend it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    48
    33
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My most favourite place for fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The prices are more expensive than normal restaurants. But all fish restaurants are are expensive as in the world. Fishes and tapas are really fresh and very very delicious. Highly recommended..

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

First they pick you up for free. Then they bring you to the restaurant and you eat amazing fish. The atmosphere is electric! (Not a quiet candle light dinner). Then they bring you back. It is an amazing experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Very good fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were suggested this restaurant by our tour guide who said they offered a pick up service from our hotel we were not dissapointed by choice fish was one of the best meals I have had prawns were excellent, service very good interesting place lots going on to interest you, not as cheap as some but worth the price for what we had.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ok but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Service slow - probably to get diners to drink more raki. Noisy music so don't go for a quiet evening. Food nothing special. They do a complementary pick-up and drop-off service at the hotels in Sultanahmet which was very nice.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalamar Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kalamar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalamar Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.