We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, ok price, average hotel, not 4 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Venera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Venera to your Saves list
Hotel Venera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mesihi Pasa Cad. No:72 Laleli, Fatih, Istanbul 34480, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #456 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Eumundi, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good location, ok price, average hotel, not 4 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is still a good walk to attractions but a short tram or taxi. Top floor bar is nice. Breakfast was excellent. Hotel rate was good even though we booked at short notice. BUT, the room was very small for two adults with big cases, we could hear through the walls (which was entertaining). Not really geared for English speaking even though the staff wanted to help.
In my view this is a 3 star hotel not 4.
Would only go back if we had to.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    34
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
14
26
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
andorra
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

the smallest TV I've seen in this hotel you will find,breakfast, if you get 15 minutes prior to the time of termination only find nothing on the table,the reception every time you ask for something they can not tell me k we need to talk to the manager!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andorra
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

beautiful room ,large bathroom ,TV too small ,rich breakfast !!
recomend this hotel! good price !
TV stations do not see well but have good internet!has a sauna big enough but is a bit expensive to go to it ..9th floor restaurant is very nice with a beautiful view across the harbor!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Two positive points about this hotel , location and food.
The location is perfect to visit most important attractions on foot...walking distance to Hajia Sofia , Blue Mosque , Grand Bazzar and Topkappi...all on a walking distance from hotel within amusing roads full of shops ( clothes and shoes ) , coffe shops and restaurants. Also it is not far from Takssim Square and the famous shopping street Isteklal by taxi ( TL 12 ) or by public transportation. The breakfast is very good , tasty with wide variety of selection..nearly all kind of food you may need on breakfast..hot and cold cut. There is also a nice terrace with very beautiful view to the city and Bosphore , where you can have a drink or even nice dinner..but take care because it is not cheape comparing with the surrounding restaurants.The indoor pool is very small and water is not heated , so it is not suitable at all for cold weather , even for October : )
The room size is ok , not wide but ok. The area of Laleli is famouse as a center of fashion whole sail...no wonder it is noisy and full of movement during day time , but at 22 h all shops are closed but the area is still safe.
I recommend this hotel for all my friends on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our tour company booked this hotel for us in the Laleli district of Istanbul. The rooms are very neat, the beds comfortable, the staff is friendly and helpful, breakfast for us was included and was delicious. There is a cafe located in the lobby called the White Cafe, it has a very distinct internet cafe feel to it.

By far, the biggest perk to this hotel is the Black Bar. Located on the top floor of the hotel, it boasts a panoramic view. This includes both parts of the city and a lot of the beautiful coastline of the Marmara Sea and the Bosphorus Straight. Ristorante Verona is located just a floor beneath the Black Bar, and also offers an extraordinary view.

A great hotel located within walking distance of the Grand Bazaar, surrounded by shopping. Terrific location!

This hotel also offers a Turkish bath, but we didn't use this amenity, so I can't say anything about it... Sorry!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Venera, in order to see the city, on our way back from Antalya. The taxi driver from the airport took a long time to find the hotel. I recommend that future guests take the map or hotel phone number along with them.
The hotel is situated in the center of the textile wholesalers, and a lot of shopping can be made within a city block. Public transport is available nearby, making it easy to travel anywhere. The Sultan Ahmet mosque is within walking distance.
The bar on the terrace of the 9th floor offers a superb view of the Bosporus, and we spent the three evenings there, enjoying drinks and the view!
The rooms are on the small side, but comfortable, and typical of a 4 star hotel in the center. Noise could be heard from the adjacent rooms, but muffled. The wireless internet worked very well everywhere in the hotel. The breakfast was ordinary, and the omelets were good.
I recommend this hotel for textile shoppers in Istanbul especially, although access to tourism sites is easy from there.
We did not use the pool or spa facilities, and had dinner only once at the terrace bar.

Room Tip: Higher rooms with a view on the Bosporus are recommended, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sverige
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The hotel is quite nice. We did appreciate that a room for 3 people actually had three proper beds in it although the mattresses was of very poor quality you could feel every spring, other than that clean and nicly decorated, loved the bathroom! Breakfast rather disappointing though the view was very nice. Omelette station was nice when open.

The surroundings is a huge shopping area and it was actually a bit tricky to find a restaurant close by. Don't expect any help from the front desk staff, they only want to sell you tickets for a boatride or a dinner with a shuttlebus, they were kind of rude everytime we asked for any help or directions and because of that I would not recommend this hotel to any of my friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Venera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Venera

Address: Mesihi Pasa Cad. No:72 Laleli, Fatih, Istanbul 34480, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #456 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Venera 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Venera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Venera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.